We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #46 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We only stayed for three nights but that was enough to see where all the renovation money went. The hotel looks really nice and both the room and common areas were up to our expectations (given the steep price). The only thing that some might dislike is the feeling of vastness that the four towers produce now that the new building complex is connected. But that’s just up to each one. We prefer smaller boutique-type hotels where you feel more part to the experience and not lost in so many meeting rooms and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,926
    2,581
    1,220
    692
    705
See reviews for
3,084
3,163
359
2,228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Yeah, good ol' James Bond, who spent some time on these premises at the time of Goldfinger probably would not come back here even in his more recent, less glamorous incarnations.
The hotel is huge, the restoration has been recently completed but the charme is gone. This must be the most cramped pool I've been at in a long time. All chairs are taken at sunrise. The most appealing spots (next to the water) are reserved or you have to pay extra to use them. It is so far from everything you either need a car or you better budget quite a lot of money in taxis.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami,fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I rented a Junior suite for my birthday weekend. The room was a good size but awkwardly laid out. The carpet in my room was sticky from what I dont know. The room had nice amenities, a large flat screen tv, an iMac, beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi tub, and even an tv in the bathroom. The view i had from my room was amazing. Over all the room would be 3 1/2 out of 5. The hotel itself is very nice. They are a lot of things inside of it, ie restaurants, clubs, bars, etc. The best way to describe it would be a Las Vegas Style hotel. The pools are nice although its hard to find a chair. The pool staff is pretty attentive, although when i asked one for a towel he said yea and then never brought it to me. Over all the hotel is nice I would stay there again, but should not be held to the quality of a five star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIAAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Having read many negative reviews regarding service and pricing and pool scene, we
were pleasantly surprised how wonderful our stay was at The Fontainebleau. There for a conference, so reduced corporate room rate. Honestly, everyone we dealt with - from the welcome at the entry, reception, beach guys who got our chaises/umbrellas/towels, pool service people, gym reception, bar tenders, waiters, baggage helpers - everyone was friendly and welcoming. And, a handful pointed out to us that the 18% gratuity was already added to the bill so that we knew up front. Hotel is sleek, contemporary, clean, white...yes, food/drinks are pricey...but don't come to this hotel expecting a bargain...know that going into the experience. We dined at Scarpetta (amazing - great decor, fabulous tasting menu, fabulous service by waiter John), another night at Gotham Steak...very good...and had a drink at the bar at Hakkasan...dramatic/cool atmosphere.
Would have eaten there, but had a company dinner party that night on the hotel grounds
(again - great food and drinks) Chose the beach over the pool, although easy-going music seemed relaxing, chaises, etc all clean
and sleek...vats of ice water with orange slices available at the beach and the pool. Yes, the chaises and umbrellas cost money on the beach, but we knew ahead of time...beach was clean...I was expecting garbage everywhere based on the reviews. It was peaceful, breezy and the water was incredibly clean, clear and warm. We were there Sun thru Weds...so, we didn't get the full weekend scene (just as well!)...and didn't get crowds. Gym was fabulous. Conference covered the gym fee - otherwise $10 entry fee. State of the art equipment, serence, large, airy atmosphere, 2 walls of 2story glass walls overlooking the pool and ocean - wonderful. Room was big enough,
very comfortable bed/pillows, flat screen tv, marble bathroom with large marble shower..Would definitely return to this hotel...a real treat. It's a large complex, so may not be right for those looking for a more personal experience, but all in all - a fabulous stay. The gorgeous weather was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKA111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I recently attended a conference at the Fontainebleau. I had great expectations for the hotel considering everyone I mentioned the hotel to seemed to gasp, "Oooh, Ahhh". There was nothing amazing about the hotel if you can see beyond neon and marble. Let me start by saying, if you are not independently wealthy...or if you make what I do teaching, choose another hotel. Parking is $32 per day, the least expensive breakfast menu item is $17, the gym is $10 per day, and a glass of wine cost $10. Not bad if you are spending a special day out...but for a 3 day conference - yikes! The hotel room was extremely small and not especially clean. I found a candy stuck to the edge of my sheet the first night; it was still there the second night. There is no telephone book in the room, so you have to call the concierge if you want the number for a pizza delivery place...the concierge recommended room service and was not terribly forthcoming with other options. Finally, the hotel has a popular nightclub, which apparently has gang related violence frequently (according to workers we met from Mt Sinai emergency). My co-worker woke at 4 am to a fight in the parking area, which was under his window. To say something nice, they have iced water with fruit everywhere - and my husband got to see at least two celophane bikinis by the pool.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thatsmyrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I stayed with my wife at the Fountainebleu for our anniversary weekend and we had a great deal with a ocean side junior suite in the Sorrento tower...Our room was fabulous, spacious with excellant amenities...part of our package included breakfast and very valet parkign so we didnt face any delays in getting our car just normal 10-15 mins..We ate at Hakkasan which my wife loved...The pool and the beach are excellant and easily accessible, things like umbrellas etc are expensive but what do you expect in a 5 star hotel...The only problem i had was with them putting 18% gratuaity on anything you ordered...Overall the crowd was classy and you did get the occasional snobbish people but generally everyone just enjoying time there...we went on a relatively offpeak season so it wasnt overly crowded and you definitely got what you paid for..overall good fun and wife enjoyed which is more impportant..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulkitdabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Based on the reviews here under the "family" posts I have decided NOT to use this hotel for our yr end vaca.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WarrenZapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,019 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,562 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,523 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,069 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#62 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing