We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away at all Costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #43 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed November 26, 2008

I don't know where to begin. I should have realized there would be a problem when i was on hold for 40 minutes trying to book the reservation with the hotel directly. They can't even use their phone system. The staff is surly and look miserable to be there. The rooms smell of incipient mold, And the food....they must be joking. Go anywhere but here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank austinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,099 - 11,105 of 13,610 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2008

My husband booked a room at the new Fontainebleau for a romantic getaway. He thought that it would be a treat to stay at the newly renovated hotel. Sadly, we were disappointed on many levels despite having booked a $350 room.
First, the front desk staff was inept. Two of the staffers were on the phone taking reservations and it was not until we complained to the bellman who was holding our luggage did someone check us in. The staffer checked us into a room with double beds although my husband had requested a king size bed. If my husband had not asked, we would have had to come back downstairs to change the room.
Once upstairs, we called to book a dining reservation. We were transferred three times before someone took our reservation. The restaurant we wanted to eat at is not open until March 2009!
We called for room service and we waited for an hour!! We left for dinner and they still had not showed up.
I called someone to fix the room safe, no one showed up.
When we arrived at the restaurant, Vida, we were told that there was no reservation for us. A slightly overwhelmed attendant fumbled through twenty slips of paper before she found our name. While we were there, two couples were turned away! I felt bad for them, apparently their slip got thrown in the garbage or something.
Dinner was okay but certainly nothing to write home about. The menu was all over the place. I am still not sure what they are trying to accomplish.
As another reviewer mentioned, most of the hotel is off limits. There is a lot of construction! Beware if you suffer from allergies, my eyes were watering most of the evening from the construction dust. It felt like they just put up the drywall yesterday. How they let this hotel open under these conditions is unimaginable. I believe the Soffer family must have pretty good connections with the City.
One plus is the room. It is new and very comfortable. Other than that, spend your money somewhere else for now.
For all of our troubles, we were offered free valet parking. What a joke!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Contrary to the assertions of the management, this hotel is not yet ready for prime time. There is still construction going on, meaning that large areas were not open to access including the pool (not to mention the noise). The restaurants and bars were not opened yet prompting a response to eat at the Sheraton Four Seasons next door. We were treated to a fire alarm, perhaps an attempt at test drill mode. As for the staff, although enthusiastic, they seemed to have little training and less experience and there certainly was no provision for troubleshooting or concierge services. The room and beach, however, were beautiful. In short, I would suggest this hotel in about February or March.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank RS1485767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

I was scammed by Fontainebleau. Booked to stay in a "full-service" resort!? Fontainebleau is nothing more than a massive construction site. It is noisy and dirty. Fontainebleau does not have a restraunt, bar, gift shop, or decent pool. Not to mention the front desk managers are unapologetic and nasty!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fran445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I am a Hotelista..........the room is it for me. So let me give you the pros and con about the Fontainebleau Resort. I stayed there with 3 friends from 10/16-10/19

PROS:
Location: on collins avenue, approx 20 min from airport
Across from Star Island on the Bay.

Room: Excellent!!! We were upgraded to 1bedroom ocean view
w/LR Dining Room,Full Kitchen Apple Computer (13.00 per dayusage)1 1/2 bthrms 2 terraces w/killer views.

Housekeeping- Was fabulous new towels,linens and amenities everyday with a smile and a hello.

Valet- Always 6 or 7 people at the Hotel door to help you in and out of your car. $30 day parking..........was waived at checkout...saved us 90.00

Pool Attendent- I must give a shout out to "SHEN" no request was denied, he was execellent and attentive

CON- They are in the middle of construction (3 more towers), due to be completed in November 2008. Any guest who complained was offered another suite.

This Hotel when completed is going to be "the place" to stay, with a restaurant and Casino...I will be back and I highly recommend it.

The Birthday GirlRosedale Queens

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 30andover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

We had junior oceanfront Sorrento suite. Beautiful room. Nice toiletries, jet tub, separate shower. Microwave, toaster, small fridge, sink and counter area. Balcony overlooking the sea. And construction. A lot of construction. Had we known it was this unfinished and noisy outside, we would have chosen to stay elsewhere. They are redoing the entire grounds. There are no pools outside on the ground level at any building, though you can see where the pools will be. It is dirt and machinery. They also work Saturday and part of Sunday so the weekend brought no quiet. I feel they should have been more honest about this when making the reservations.
Valet service was quick. $30 per day parking fee.
No coffee maker in the rooms; $4/cup from a stand in the lobby. Cell phone coverage spotty in the rooms. Large gaps under room doors so you hear outside your door clearly. Need soap dishes and towel racks in bathrooms. First hotel I've been to that did not have a Bible in the room. No guides to the area or hotel facilities either. We didn't use room service.
When the outside property is finished, this resort will be absolutely beautiful inside and out. They are behind schedule and I wouldn't stay here before January. There is a lot yet to be done outside.
Also building a new hotel next door (south) to Sorrento bldg so the construction was loud if you were on the Sorrento's 5th floor pool deck.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mizlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We had junior oceanfront Sorrento suite. Beautiful room. Nice toiletries, jet tub, separate shower. Microwave, toaster, small fridge, sink and counter area. Balcony overlooking the sea. And construction. A lot of construction. Had we known it was this unfinished and noisy outside, we would have chosen to stay elsewhere. They are redoing the entire grounds. There are no pools outside on the ground level at any building, though you can see where the pools will be. It is dirt and machinery. They also work Saturday and part of Sunday so the weekend brought no quiet. I feel they should have been more honest about this when making the reservations.
Valet service was quick. $30 per day parking fee.
No coffee maker in the rooms; $4/cup from a stand in the lobby. Cell phone coverage spotty in the rooms. Large gaps under room doors so you hear outside your door clearly. Need soap dishes and towel racks in bathrooms. First hotel I've been to that did not have a Bible in the room. No guides to the area or hotel facilities either. We didn't use room service.
When the outside property is finished, this resort will be absolutely beautiful inside and out. They are behind schedule and I wouldn't stay here before January. There is a lot yet to be done outside.
Also building a new hotel next door (south) to Sorrento bldg so the construction was loud if you were on the Sorrento's 5th floor pool deck.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,696 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,043 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#65 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,403 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 212 in Miami Beach
306 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $304 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing