We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Energy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #46 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Lots of Energy!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Fontainebleau is the place to go if you want a "happening" scene with lots of life, youth and energy. The common spaces are very busy, loud and exciting all at the same time. The hotel is kept very clean and there is never a shortage of staff to help you with any questions.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite (le ciel, 15th floor) that was spacious but wasn't used as efficiently as possible. For instance, the room came with 1.5 bathrooms. Both bathrooms were huge and beautiful (lovely white marble) but they seemed to have an abundance of empty space. Why not put in a soaking tub (a la ritz carlton south beach) or a more roomy shower? Instead the shower was tiny and cramped. The bed was comfy, the sitting area was also adequately agreeable. Probably the best part of the suite was the wrap around balcony, stunning views to die for!

As for the pool area, as mentioned by previous reviewers, finding chairs was quite the challenge. Saturday we were lucky enough to find two chairs in Brittany's (server) section. She was very friendly and attentive. We ordered many drinks as well as lunch. I strongly encourage the mahi mahi tacos (loved that lime cilantro sauce!), but also strongly discourage the cuban steak sandwich (was gross and we only finished half of it). While our chairs weren't directly near the pool, the overcast weather on Saturday mitigated our desire to swim. On Sunday there wasn't a cloud in the sky so everyone was out sun bathing. We walked around for a good 25 minutes and eventually gave up. We ended the search by simply sitting with our feet in the pool and laying on the edge of the pool deck... it did the job, I guess. I will say the pool is huge and there is plenty of space to swim, splash and not feel cramped... we just wish there were chairs and places to sit.

The gym was very nice with plenty of machines and weights, I enjoyed running on the treadmill while overlooking the pool area.

The SPA was also nice but be prepared top dollar (more expensive than Wynn's las vegas spa or the Ritz Carlton Miami spa). Not sure I felt we got our moneys worth there.

All in all it was a nice stay and we were mostly comfortable. I think because of the chair game, I'd be more prone to head back to the RC South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LessWork M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your guest room, our gym facilities and attentive team members. Brittany will certainly be recognized for her amazing service. I am sorry you were unable to get a lounge chair Sunday. We remain at your service and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,918
    2,579
    1,218
    692
    705
See reviews for
3,078
3,161
359
2,228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

It is a great Hotel had an event so they used pool area no chairs not even at the beach. It is realy party all day at least three different music sounds at the pool. Looby bar great Breakfast get up early long line to get seated.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HDF46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am sorry to hear you were unable to get a lounge chair at the beach and pool. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Incredible overall experience @ fb this weekend. A huge thank you to the pool staff - especially Jorge, Adrienne, and Luigi that provided service above and beyond. Jorge - your energy and enthusiasm is incredible. Thanks -

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our pools. Jorge, Adrienne and Luigi will all be recognized for their amazing service. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a few bumps upon check in that hotel manager Samuel Sutter immediately went over and above to rectify.

The staff is first class, the location is legendary and amenities exceeded our expectations.

Special thanks to Laz Beccerra, Nick, Roberto, Victor, Isabella and Big Rey for excellent service and attitude.

We will no doubt return soon.
WR

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billr711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear our team members turned your experience around. Samuel, Laz, Nick, Roberto, Victor, Isabella and Ray for their amazing service. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Was there with my friends. Cool pool party all the day, very popular nightclub in a hotel and of course great bars and restaurants. Also in hotel room Mac with Internet and of course perfect sea shore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our nightlife. We remain at your service and look forward to your next Miami Beach trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as a family of 5. At the advice of the telephone bookings agent for the hotel we started in a junior suite, however, there was no wall between the living area, where the kids slept, and the parents' bed, and the suite was just too small. We managed to upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite, which was a comfortable size, for the remaining 2 nights, at an extra cost of $130 per night (extra cost 1). My 2 main complaints are that everything was very costly at this hotel and that its size meant that it lost a lot of character, and personal touch. To elaborate, check-in involved a fairly long line. The hotel rooms are slightly dated, although reasonably clean. Our extra rollaway bed cost $45 per night (extra cost 2). A "hotel fee" that includes gym and poolside/beachside towels cost an extra $20 or so per night (extra cost 3). This hotel fee does not include beach umbrellas, which cost an extra $25 each (extra cost 4). An 18% service charge is added to everything (extra cost 5)! Meals at hotel restaurants are very expensive (although I must say the quality and service were excellent) - on average $200 per meal for a family of 5. The breakfast restaurant, Vida, cannot cope with the number of hotel guests, so there is generally a 15-25 minute wait for breakfast there. The hotel amenities were otherwise good: the pool spaces ample and water warm; the gym adequate; the choice of restaurants good. I would note that the internet speed was exceptionally slow on one day (1-3 bytes/sec).

So in summary, this is a spectacular, old dame-type hotel that lives on reputation and party vibe. If you stay here, budget an extra 25-35% on top of the quoted hotel rates. For this amount of money, I will try another property next time in Miami, just to see if there is better value available (I definitely hope so).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences during your recent stay at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is great to hear you enjoyed our excellent service. We apologize for the check in line and slow wifi you experienced. We remain at your service and welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel was great - right on the beach and with a number of beautiful pools. Our room was beautiful, Alex Coppola our front desk agent went out of his way to help us find a king size room that would suit us, difficult when most of the rooms were booked up for a movie premier. He really went out of his way. The rooms were cleaned and they replaced our mini fridge when ours didn't work. We ate at Scarpetta which was tasty but a little overpriced. The one issue was that everything food and drink related seemed particularly extravagant but that could just be Miami Beach. We'd definitely come back for another relaxing beach vacation.

Room Tip: I would try and stay in the two towers and away from the night club since that area can get a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Alex will certainly be recognized for his amazing service. We remain at your service and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,014 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,554 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#36 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,065 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#62 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing