We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - not quite excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #46 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lake George, New York
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - not quite excellent”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is very very nice. The staff is also very nice especially for a hotel this nice - I tend to find staff at a hotel this nice to be as snooty as the guests. Not so here. So why not a 5 rating - simply put - noise. On the eighth floor I can hear the horns beeping at the front door, I could hear what I could only assume was a motorcycle race down the street at 2AM. Not the hotels fault - possibly true - but still 8 floors up and that noise penetrates into my room I find unacceptable for a place this expensive. Also the bars in the hotel are very expensive - a vodka and soda at the poolside bar was $19. Too much. Also I felt I had to take a cab to anywhere I wanted to go; I like to be able to walk to places.

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is unfortunate to hear that your overall experience was not to your satisfaction. We truly apologize for any inconveniences that had occurred. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,926
    2,581
    1,220
    692
    705
See reviews for
3,084
3,163
359
2,228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is really nice looking, fancy towers, nice views, great pool BUT when you are paying more the $300 a night you expect to have your bathroom not flood and maybe get moved to another room or get refunded some of the room charges if not all.

The bathroom in my room flooded every time I showered and the staff did not do anything to help me. I know the hotel has a lot of history and rooms are pricey but they need to add some friendly customer service to the list of things they need to work on. The valet staff was really helpful. Another surprising part was the extra fees to get into the gym. My first time to encounter such fees. Overall a disappointment and will not stay here or recommend anyone else to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishaq S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is unfortunate to hear that your overall experience was not to your satisfaction. We truly apologize for any inconveniences that had occurred and will share your review with our team. We hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at the Fontainebleau Miami for Halloween weekend. 3 rooms, 9 girls. First and foremost, the hotel itself is gorgeously built from the buildings, to the lobby, to the pool area. It's beautiful and huge. We checked in smoothly and our rooms were nice and clean. They even let us check in early because we got there in the morning - so accommodating!

My favorite part of this hotel is the pool. We had the pleasure of meeting an amazing pool cabana agent, Yanet Hernandez, who seriously took care of us our entire stay! She was there the days we stayed and personally made sure we were having a great time - which we did thanks to her! She is truly an asset to the staff, knows her customer service, and is one of the most helpful people I've met while staying at a hotel. Keep her!

Jefferson is also a very accommodating staff member who assisted us out at the pool. Very nice guy and quick to help!

The breakfast was great at Solo and we had a delicious (although quite slow) dinner at Gotham Steakhouse. LIV is a torture to get in, but once in, it was worth it. Trust me. Overall, my stay was great and our bachelorette party had a wonderful time!

Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Love the balcony views. Gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabbyBarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am delighted to hear that your bachelorette celebrations were a success. Yanet and Jefferson will certainly be recognized for their amazing service. We remain at your service and await your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The spa at Fountainebleau Miami Beach was second to none. The service, the accomadations, the world class facility. I had 40 of the fittest people in the world there for a summit and all had nothing but great things to say about the place. WELL DONE TEAM FOUNTAINBLEAU!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdnatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review Lapis Spa at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear that you and all your guests thoroughly enjoyed our facilities. We appreciate your recommendations and look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Spent six hours on the beautiful, busy beach today. Living like Royals. Lying in a beach bed, Drinks, Sun, sand, lunch, drinks, more drinks. Our host for the day was Pablo Castro who made us feel like the classic Rat Pack and tended to our every desire as if there was no one else around! What a day! Last night we blew it out at Scarpetto (?) with white truffle agnolotti, pork shank, and wine that cost more than my first car. Delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPapiArturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. Pablo Castro will definitely be praised for his amazing service. Glad to hear you were able to enjoy Scarpetta. We appreciate your recommendations and welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Fontainbleau has exceeded our expectations! The staff have been welcoming, helpful and plus one in attitude. The property is beautiful. The rooms are first rate. The restaurants are excellent. But what really makes a hotel property a success is it's staff. Every member has gone out of their way to make us welcome and cared for.
Matthew from Timeless was especially accommodating. He is an incredibly knowledgeable staff member with an eye for not only meeting a guest's needs, but exceeding their them.
We absolutely recommend this property!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and our team members made a lasting impression. We remain at your service and look to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 days 3 nights mid-November and had a great time. Great service, room, food, pools, beach, and friendly staff. We ate twice at the La Cote restaurant. Seafood was as fresh and deliciously cooked. Our waiter Kostia (Koko) was friendly and attentive. Poolside and beach service was excellent. We highly recommend the Fontainblue for couples and families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade when you check in. Versailles Tower rooms above Convention Center very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. Kostia (Koko) will certainly be recognized for her amazing service. We appreciate your recommendations and welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,016 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,560 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,523 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,069 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#62 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing