We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrible service in lower season” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #41 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ottawa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Terrible service in lower season”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I am used to nice resorts / hotels. I was looking forward to staying here instead of Delano or the Ritz in Miami.
When I arrived, I was excited by the action and choices I had re restaurants, pools etc..
Went to beach and ordered lunch, took the server 45 min to bring us some bottled water! Did she forget it was 85 degrees outside?! Our basic salads took an hour ...
That night, we were woken up by rowdy people in the halls, slamming doors from 3- 5am ... Therefore no sleep. That morning went to the Solo cafe for coffee/snacks and it took them 10 min to give me the juice and coffee I ordered and it was not that busy; the line up was out the door and people were cursing under their breaths. They were in slow motion and didn't care.
Sad to say that I will never stay there again.
The property is gorgeous but service stinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarakiOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service you received. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,171
    2,361
    1,114
    631
    629
See reviews for
2,734
2,888
325
2,056
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

First 4 days were my first vacation in more than 6 years. Last 3 days were a conference. Great place! A resort to kill all resorts.
The beach and the service on the beach were awesome. The service around the pool was fantastic as well. the friendly faces and helpfulness of the staff was fantastic. $5 cup of coffee in the morning...not so good.
This is a great place to stay. I will tell you that food and beverage are a bit overpriced!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C21NorthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear that you were able to experience both our leisure and convention space. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My room porter's name is ANICIA. She was meticulous in cleaning my room and taking exceptional care of me during my recent stay at the Chateau Tower. She was just lovely and made me smile everyday! She truly cared about me and my stay. Please give her my message with a big raise. She is Worthy!! I'll be back soon for another trip for sure!!
THANKS - ANICIA!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to recognize Anicia of Fontainebleau Miami Beach. She will certainly be recognized for her amazing service. We remain at your service and welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Disappointing to say the very least. We flew in and were only there for one night, we came in for an event held at LIV nightclub in the hotel. It took RIDICULOUSLY long to check in making part of our group miss the beginning portion of the event. It took them THREE hours to get us our luggage after we checked in, and that was only after we called numerous times and were even told it had been delivered!!! How do you loose 6 large suitcases??? Pool was closed so we were unable to use the pool that evening and the restaurants were closed by the time the event was over so we had NO WHERE to eat/drink/relax except in the main bar in the lobby where a drink will cost you 22.00. We had to take a taxi to find some food. Felt the customer service was less than average. We expected WAY more from this famous hotel. We would NEVER EVER recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank htibs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

First of all, Staffs are really friendly, which is directly related to the first impression of the hotel.
Second, don't stay here hoping to have "the best hotel room" ; hotel rooms are just a little bit above the normal. (FYI, I stayed 3 times here - 2 times in oceanfront room and 1 time in bayfront room)
Third, Swimming pool is really nice, and the beach is cool as well as any other miami's beach.
What i liked the most is the party atmosphere in the Lobby lounge, you can just enjoy music and dance having some drinks or you can also hang out with other people. (Actually you know that making friend, dancing, partying, clubbing...you can enjoy all these things in E.V.E.R.Y place in Miami, even staying in $20 hostel) But the cool atmosphere makes me go back..!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ficedulaparva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest of Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am happy to hear that our cool atmosphere keeps you coming back. We appreciate your kind words and recommendations and can not wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Love the property, it's gorgeous. They have 5 restaurants and none of them affordable. Nothing within walking distance either. So unless you want to spend $25-35 per person for breakfast (no included with room) or lunch and $50-75+ per person for dinner, you had better look elsewhere. Also the restaurant staff makes you feel that they are doing YOU a favor by letting them serve you. Not great at customer service. The valets and bell staff were very nice though. For the money you pay, the service should be awesome. The hotel is great and the pools and beach are beautiful. But the pools close at dusk!! Didn't know that either. We like to swim at night, couldn't do that here. :(

Room Tip: They "upgraded" us to a Junior Suite and told us it came with a Queen size pull out sofa f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflakepeoples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the property but it saddens me to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our dining. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing does not come close to describing this hotel.

Upon checking in with the excellent lady at the front desk can't remember her name but she was the tall black girl with long black hair. She was very knowledgeable and helpful .

Room junior suite was mind blowing 2 bathrooms fridge washing machine fridge ice machine etc etc.
The room was worth every penny an kept spotless by maids.

Pools amazing security very friendly pool boy attentive.

Views out of this world.

I would also like to clear a few things up that people are complaining about . They winge about prices , I would ask did they leave the hotel ? The prices were on a par with everything in miami.
The 18% tip added to everything was the same every where we went in miami so it's not just the hotel.this is an upmarket hotel charging 200 dollars plus a night do people expect them to do one dolla hotdogs ? Really

The drinks and food might be a little pricy but it's no more than any other similar prices resort in fact we went to Caesars after here and it was cheaper here and they could teach Caesars staff a little about customer service too.

Coming from the uk I prob won't be back to miami for a few years but will 100% return to this hotel what a well run professional hotel I wish I worked there.

Also during the week it's a very chilled out experience weekends do get a bit younger crowd but we went over labour day weekend one of the busiest of the year had no problem with sunbeds. And got to listen to a free Farrell Williams robin theake concert while sunbathing
.

If your considering booking here do it you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissymidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is a great pleasure to receive such lovely comments from a senior contributor like yourself. We remain at your service and can not wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#63 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,772 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#52 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing