We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER PARADISE
Ranked #30 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Glendale Heights, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Girls Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was beautiful with the exception of the elevators going out and we had to hike up 11 floors to get to our room. Liv Nightclub is very "exclusive" and they do not accomodate the actual guests who are staying in the hotel so good luck trying to get in, and be ready to pay a lot of money at the door alone. A big DJ was there one night and it was $125 just to get in. The music is awful and the staff are very rude, even though the club is convienent if you are staying in the hotel I would say don't waste your time. Solo Patissere is delicious but again the people working in there are very rude and have terrible customer service. The only good service we did have was at the pool with Caesar and the manager Jay. They took care of us and made sure we were able to get into certain clubs at night. Hakkasan Restaurant is beautiful and the food is outstanding. Scarpetta is delicious as well but you do get smaller portions and Fresh and Vida are great for breakfast and lunch! All in all I had a good time at this hotel, the pools were beautiful, some of the staff just needs to work on their customer service skills. Be prepared to spend some money here, everything is very pricey but service and gratuity is added into everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I sincerely apologize for the trouble you endured while our elevators were out of service. Caesar and Jay will certainly be recognized for their excellent service. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived from Miami Airport from Orlando. Taxi dropped us off at the valet. Gentlemen was very helpful took all our cases and backpacks onto the trolley and gave us a ticket to give to the front desk so that the luggage could be brought to our room. He gave us directions to the front desk and took the luggage away. Front desk staff very polite and attentive. Wait in line was very short. The lady told us about the hotels policies and gave us a welcome pack which included hotel vouchers, a map of the resort and general information. The hotel does require a credit card and hold $150 per day and $20 per day resprt charge is added to your room bill which includes free Internet throughout the resort, a daily newspaper, gym access, beach chairs, pool chairs etc.

You will need a keycard for every guest. It is required in the elevators to get to guest room floors, access the pool area, the beach area and to use room charge.

If you have a room close to the elevator as we did (1484 in the Versailles tower) you don't hear anything and we had the ice room next door which you hear a bit if a lot of ice has been taken and it is refilling. The room minibar is weight sensored so if you lift anything of for 20 seconds or more it will be charged to your room as is the chilled bar in the cupboard.

An iMac is in every guest room but some features are disabled (webcam, USB ports, Finder application, CD drive etc.).

Refrigerators are $30 per day so fill your bathroom sink with ice from the machine and cover the drinks in it, you do have to keep adding more ice but it saves a lot of money. TV in the living area and the bathroom. Telephone on the bedside table, on the work desk and in the bathroom with free local calls and toll free numbers and two lines. If you don't have a credit card on the room then you can't have an outside line available (9).

The pool area gets very busy by about 11am. The deepest that the main pool is is 4' 6". It is very warm though, you can walk straight in. The restaurants can be expensive as well as the pool bar: Hot Dog, Fries and a Pepsi at 'Glow' the Pool bar was $22 including tax and 18% gratuity which is at every other bar/restaurant in the hotel.

ATM's around the hotel charge you $5. Boarding Pass kiosks are good to use and the printer is set up (one next to the concierge desk, one near the front desk and another somewhere else).

Vida was one of the casual restaurant and very nice and not overly priced.

We never used the beach but it wasn't South Beach. A keycard is needed to get to the pool area and through the security guard at the beach doors and to get back in.

The location is a little out of the way but there are taxis outside the hotel, buses to malls and cafe's / restaurants nearby.

Overall, a wonderful 4 day stay a little overpriced inside but worth the money. Hopefully we will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Bring some clear credit cards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am delighted to here of your vacation with us. We remain at your service and can not wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A big beautiful hotel but there are others around with more character for what you pay. My girlfriends and I went for a long weekend. First of all I reserved a deluxe room which was only about 20 square feet larger than the basic room. The room was small and there was only a shower so there was no choice of taking a bath or not. The room was in the chateau facing the street so all night long we had to listen to taxi cabs honk their horn every time they were beckoned. There is a huge club in the hotel and the first night when we arrived all we did was hang out in the lobby which was surprisingly fun. The bars and the pool areas were fabulous and there is easy access to the beach. The oddest thing though is on Friday there was a fire truck that came zooming down the street only to stop at this hotel. Not sure what happened but there lights were on so I am assuming it was an emergency. The next day ALL elevators broke down! That lasted from Saturday evening and were still broke after a night of clubbing, coming in about 3am in the morning! Luckily we were only on the 8th floor (yes we had to walk 8 flights of stairs)!
Oh, you may see a star or two if you stay...We saw Hulk Hogan relaxing in a cabana poolside.

Room Tip: Get a suite or a room ocean side! And choose one higher up as this hotel is definitely a party place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is great to hear that you had a fabulous time at our pool and bars. I sincerely apologize for the troubles you endured due to the broken elevators. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

if your gonna stay in Miami this is the hotel where its all going on !!!! only place to stay, Amazing hotel, stay were friendly, atmosphere is great, we went during the i heart radio event which the people around the hotel were between 21-29 but still families around, i could do fault this hotel, even got a free room upgraded and could see the ocean and city view, will becoming back to this hotel next. Lucky enough to get shown around the penthouse aswell, thank you.

Room Tip: stay high up and ask for the DELUXE BALCONY GUESTROOM with balcony you get to see the ocean and beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livvy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I hope you were able to enjoy the iHeart Radio BleauLive event. We can not wait to serve you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Came back within two months for a girls weekend getaway with friends & once again LOVED this hotel! Steakhouse was fabulous, Hakkassan once again was great and pools are fantastic. Gym is huge with gorgeous views as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki15711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest of Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am happy to hear that your girls weekend was a success. We remain at your service and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Even though we were here on business we decided to kill two birds with one stay. While I worked my wife enjoyed Lapis and the pool. Gotham was my favorite choice, and SOLO was my wife. Its not easy to impress my wife but you all did. Our trip came to a quick end, and we had to leave we called the bellman to get our luggage they never came but I seen the supervisor Gwenn and told her we were waiting for 45 minutes and had a flight to catch in 1 hour , she did NOT hesitate she apologize and said they are back up and said we will get you downstairs quickly she grab the nice young man Marc and they both took our luggage down stairs for us. Now that impress my wife. We are really looking forward to returning when we don't have to rush. Kudos

Room Tip: A good place for business and pleasure. Dont really have to leave the hotel everything is there unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcellus p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to here that you and your wife were able to enjoy both our leisure and meetings facilities. We remain at your service and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Fontainebleau is definitely worth visiting once for the history of the place, the impressive refurbishment and the extensive amenities. We stayed in a one-bedroom condo in the Sorrento tower, which was very convenient traveling with young kids: Cooked breakfasts in the room and did a few laundry runs when needed. Of particular note for us were Gotham Steak and Scarpetta. Outstanding restaurants. Need to beware of anything? Well, we went during March break and we thought the place was overrun a bit too much by the party crowd, mostly felt in the afternoons poolside but also in our room. Our next door neighbors seemed to be on a sleep all day play all night regimen. While they did not actually party in the room, the in and outs at all hours of the night were bothersome and not what you'd want when forking up $1000 a night. So, happy we tried Fontainebleau and thoroughly enjoyed. Would we go back? Likely not. We'll try other places more likely to guarantee an environment that matches the price paid.

Room Tip: Carefully ponder tower and location on the floor to minimize chances of rowdy neighbors in a place t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steilkurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our history, refurbishments and amenities. We appreciate your recommendations and hope to see you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,453 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing