We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and surprises at check out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #45 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and surprises at check out”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at fontainebleu for five nights in july. Hotel is beautiful with excellent facilities and great pools. However is very overpriced! We paid $25 for a glass of malibu and coke! We had hired a car during our stay and upon arrival at hotel were offered "vip valet parking" which we were told was parking 24/7 right at front of hotel entrance for $60 a night. We took the offer as we excited to be in miami with a great vehicle. Valet staff were always prompt and extremely friendly. Upon check out though we were told we owed $140 for valet! We had already paid $240 for the parking for four nights! They explained it was also another $35 on top of the $60 a night- although nobody had told us this on check in! The lady at front counter was extremely unhelpful almost ignoring us and just picked up phone to call valet manager. He arrived and argued with us stating we need to pay. After a long debate they "waived" the $140 fee however the trip was overshadowed by this experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tstoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am sorry to hear that your troubles with valet and the front desk overshadowed your lovely vacation with us! Your comments will be shared with our team. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,996
    2,607
    1,234
    702
    710
See reviews for
3,127
3,190
363
2,238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My company recently had its annual strategic meeting at this resort. I have to say that my immediate thought was that the men in the company chose it because everywhere you turn were young women with high heels and skimpy dresses. So walk with your LBDs and high heels. Hotel is very trendy and ideal for young people. The vibe in the night was very energetic . The service was not ideal we waited over 30 mins to check in but the hotel is lovely and modern. The food is its greatest plus. You do not need to leave the hotel. The in house hotels were fabulous. The room we got was standard and small so I would suggest maybe trying a better grade room.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room. It's ok if you are on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinitraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. Its great to hear that you most enjoyed our delicious dining options. We hope to see you back in Miami very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nobleton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overall, this hotel felt very much like a mini-Vegas style accommodation with the main difference being that there was no casino. It was very well renovated, especially our rooms in the Tresor Tower. The housekeeping did a great job and the service was all around really friendly. The one thing that I will say is that it is VERY expensive. For instance, at LIV, the club inside the hotel, I asked for a water and the ignorant bartender wouldn't give me just regular tap water - not even ice!!! They could only SELL water - for $10+ per bottle!!! HOW STUPID IS THAT?! What if someone is feeling sick, you are really going to charge them?! Other things like food and drinks were also very expensive, but not too much more than you would expect for being in south beach.

The hotel is located right on the beach - although it is not on South Beach, so do not make that mistake. However, after spending most of my time in Florida on the West coast, I must say that this beach was very "blah". The water was nice and warm (85 Fahrenheit) but the sand and rocks didn't make it too enjoyable. We ended up spending most of our time by the pool, even though I thoroughly love the beach.

The pool area was absolutely gorgeous with lots of space for lounging and many different areas to relax or party; depending on what you are looking for. The hotel is definitely one of the nicest on Collins - but it is not somewhere I am dying to go back. It certainly was not the hotel's fault, but the area and the people we encountered made us feel like we were in a third world country, paying prime dollars.

Overall, the hotel is gorgeous, and it is cool to see the history of the place, but I do not think I will be back; at least not for a long time. If you are going to Miami because you like Miami and you have money to burn, then stay here. Otherwise, you can probably find a better deal. I will say that the rooms that we stayed in were immaculate and very modern - although I can't say if the hotel has been renovated like this. I'm still not over not being able to give someone a glass of water in a club that you pay $100 just to get in though. Shame on them for such classlessness. But like I said, if you have money, stay here because it's clean, beautiful, and has a gorgeous pool area; but there are most definitely better deals to be had.

Room Tip: bribe the front desk clerk to try and get a beach - facing room in the Tresor Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is great to hear your impression of the resort. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This is my 3rd time staying at FB. This time we stayed at the Tresor tower (stayed at Versailles tower previously).
Tis is what I liked --
1. The room was gorgeous! Flat screen tv, micro, apple computer, refrigerator, sink, spacious living room.
2. The view was amazing! (See picture)
3. Unlike the Versailles tower, you don't have to walk, what feels like a mile, to get to the pool area. Heck to get anywhere.
4. The pool area -- very nice. It even has a kids pool, an adult only pool.
5. The beach area -- this is why I come here. No where in the USA, except south Florida can you blue water like this. Well except Puerto Rico, USVI and Hawaii.
6. The spa -- Lapis is pretty good. Their interior pool is very nice.

Didn't like:
1. Price -- too expensive. Banana for $2, really?!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank oh2bonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal customer of Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am delighted to here of your amazing couples getaway. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel, July 2013, I found it to be overpriced for the facilities. You do not even get a fridge or coffee making facilities in your room. For a 5 star resort I found this appalling. Having recently stayed at the waldorf in Orando I had high expectations and was quite disappointed. Check-in and out was very busy and in hindsight I should have checked-out on site as now I have some discrepency with charges. I would not stay there again as I believe other hotels offer a better service and more bang for your buck

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABBEY123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I apologize for your check out troubles. Your comments will be reviewed by our team. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

As of now this is "the place to be" in Miami... but it could def use some improvement. I stay in Miami at least twice a year, the pools, beach, club, hotel bar is def one of the best. But it depends on what your looking for. Just because your staying at the hotel dose not mean you have access to all of the parties as other hotels like Gansevoort or Mondrian.

PROS
The best parties take place at this hotel..if you can get in
Large pools
Good food service/bar
spacious common areas
clientele

CONS
Far off need to take a cab to get anywhere
bathroom was TINY!
Room was TINY
Got a bogus charge on my cc after check out for mini bar use, and other random fees called hotel and they disputed and refunded me money right away... I went in a big group this happened to two other people.
Sunday Pool party SUCKED!!!!!!!!!! Better off going to Mondrian for the pool party or Nikki Beach

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at the Fontainebleu Miami Beach with 4 teenage girls and another mom. We stayed in a private condo in Tresor Tower and absolutely loved it. We were impressed with the property overall, especially the pool and beach area. The highlight of our stay at Fontainebleu was meeting Jay Hiciano on our first visit to the pool. Jay was so welcoming and treated us like family. He went above and beyond to answer all our questions and made sure he took great care of us every day. I can't say enough about the attention and service we received, especially from Jay. Also had a chance to spend a few hours at Lapis Spa, which was truly amazing.

We are already planning our trip back next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize Fontainebleau Miami Beach team member, Jay Hiciano. He will certainly be praised for his fantastic service. We remain at your service and can not wait for your return next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,125 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,709 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,133 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,552 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing