We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #44 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is big, loud, bold...but still we enjoyed our stay with a 3-year old daughter. The room was excellent - as we got an upgrade to a junior suite. The pool area is generous, however I recommend to come timely in the morning, before the "hangover crowd" appears. What stroke me most was the quality of the food in restaurants. We had our best dinners during our entire Florida trip, whereas the Gotham steakhouse is most recommendable. The only downside was that everything tends to be a bit pricy, but if you are ready to spend money and you like lively hotels, got there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmopolitan165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your gracious recommendations of the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am excited to learn that we were able to provide you with the best food on your travels throughout Florida. We look forward to your next trip to Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,643
    2,177
    1,060
    603
    597
See reviews for
2,497
2,704
296
1,926
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

No denying FontaineBleau as a "scene", but the hotel staff was nothing short of amazing. Every person from the check-in desk, the the maid service, to the poolside, beach-side staff, the waitstaff in the restaurants was excellent. They were trained well; they wanted to help make our stay wonderful, in such a kind, professional and genuine way. Darrell, our server at Vida restaurant, was the best! The food was great too, but he brightened our entire day (even more). Thank you all.

Room Tip: balcony upgrades are worthwhile - so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommiBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the awesome team members at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am happy to learn that Darrel from Vida was able to brighten your day. He will certainly receive high praise for his great service. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, amazing room service... The pools, gym.. The club. Restaurants... Wonderful lobby I would always stay at to grab a drink at night.. If you are looking for a high class place, definitely go for this hotel....

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninkaaaa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our facilities. We appreciate your high praise and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First trip to Miami and it was mindblowingly blingy. This hotel was no exception. I am used to staying at first class resorts and hotels and this place blew everywhere I've ever been out of the water. The first thing that you will discover about the FB is that there is this beautiful smell being pumped out of the ventilation system throughout the main lobby. I belive i was told it was bamboo. You can't buy the scent but it smells devine. The shops contain designer shoes and clothes and are terribly overpriced. The small coffee shop charges an arm and a leg for coffee or gelato but what the hell you are in Miami. Land of the yachts, supercars and superrich. Wow. Restaurants are all delicous especially Blade. Service is terrific through all of the hotel and especially on the beach.
Oh the Beach. It is beautiful. We spent a few afternoons snuggled together watching the sunset and listening to the sounds of the surf and the birds wishing we could stay forever.
The room was wonderfully spacious and the whirlpool tub was devine.
The bed was very comfortable.
The mini bar prices were outrageous! But expected. Lol. When in Miami... we are not cheap people and do quite well at home but found this hotel to be very overpriced. As nice as it was it did feel a bit too overdone. Maybe we are just getting too old and not into the things the younger crowd would appreciate.
Overall our stay was wonderful and there was nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaSignora335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is a great pleasure to receive such wonderful comments from a senior contributor like yourself. I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We welcome you back for another unforgettable trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stay at the Fontainebleau every year. The hotel is updated, and the rooms are very good. There is a MAC with supposed internet access in every room. However, my MAC would not connect. Guest services said to reboot the machine, but didn't work. No problem, since I had a laptop with 24 hr of free wifi access via hotel. Food is very good, and lobby bar is great. After 10pm, the bar just gets louder and louder, and more and more crowded. Great for people watching.

If you don't have a car, the shopping districts can be reached by taxi or bus. No good shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caddisfly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest and sharing your experience during your recent stay at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I apologize for your troubles with the in room Mac. We look forward to your annual visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here for free in the sense that I was there for a work convention. Even still I wasn't super impressed. I agree with the reviewer who gave it 2 stars on May 7th (forget his/her name). Anyway, if you like a large, very expensive, impersonal hotel with a million people, you'll be ok. It is far from South Beach which I didn't like. The boardwalk along the ocean was nice. The pools were ok. Restaurants very expensive. The hotel was oversold every night so I think employees were stressed a bit and, to repeat, it was packed especially the lobby area on Fri/Sat nights. Just not my type of hotel.

Room Tip: One tower is full of suites - go there. The regular rooms in the part of the hotel near the lobby we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanilaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your convention at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

renting the bed at the pool was the best part of my trip.
dan bondy and rich torres who ran the pool are just professional and nice and make sure all goes smooth.
Jefferson - who helps set up the bed and take care of us was amazing.
this guy helped from every angle. this was our 2nd trip trip this year so far.
a great place to be

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simeon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest and taking the time to recognize Fontainebleau Miami Beach team members. Dan Bondy, Rich Torres and Jefferson will certainly be recognized for their excellent service. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,640 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#102 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,356 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing