We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #45 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It was a once in a lifetime visit to this fantastic hotel. It is geared towards young people. Pool parties and techno music.
Take lots of cash. Cocktails are around 17 bucks a pop. Great people watching comes with a hefty price tag.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billn39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,333)
There are newer reviews for Fontainebleau Miami Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,244 - 8,250 of 13,333 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just returned from a great week at The Fontainebleau. Pool area steals the show, even more than the celebrity sightings throughout the week. Great staff from bell to housekeeping, but hats off for security. Never felt more safe in a resort. Beach service was incredible from the towel/chair service to the drinks/food. Will say food at pool was not the best and a bit pricey. Better off ordering at La Cote. Spa is incredible! Rain room was highlight of that visit. Overall, really relaxing and fun filled way to enjoy Miami Beach.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Fontainebleau after a long flight from the UK. We decided to have a couple of relaxing days and then drive up to Orlando for 2 weeks.

Arrival: Drove from Miami International Airport,the drive was exciting coming over the waterways to Miami Beach itself. Plenty of space in front of hotel and concierge/valet staff were welcoming and efficient, valet parking very useful ($10/time). Location is a mile or so North of the main South Beach area but we thought it was perfect for families.

Reception: Welcoming and efficient. explained everything clearly. Reception area is spectacular and creates a very good impression on arrival.

Room: Super, large, modern and the view to the beach from the balcony was amazing. TV and iMac with free net access in the room kept the kids very happy. Everyone agreed the beds were one of the comfiest beds we have ever slept on, we all got a great sleep.

Pool Area: Spotless and staff very helpful. Lots of private cabanas/loungers and space if required but we decided to go straight to the beach.

Private Beach Area: Spotless and staff immediately secured us 4 loungers and enough towels for myself and my wife and the 2 kids. (only downside was the beach cleaning/building works going on very close by but that is a minor point).

Overall: great stay, and was the perfect antidote to a long haul flight and preparation to a busy fortnight in Orlando. The view of the sunrise from the balcony was amazing.

Would definitely stay here again, loved the relaxing feel and the whole Miami Beach vibe.

Hotel Tip: Phone the valet 15mins early to have your car ready by the time you get down to reception, this will save a 10/15 minute wait for your car.
Miami Beach Tip: Try the Duck tours - good way to see a bit of Miami Beach and the homes rich and famous, Rick had lots of good tips...including where to eat! "The locals do not eat on South Beach" hahaha...we did and knew it was expensive ($120 for breakfast for 4) but we wanted the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view with balcony. It is more expensive but the view in the morning is worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The positives: Absolutely beautiful hotel common areas and rooms! The designers of the hotel thought of everything! Particularly impressed with iMac's in every room - convenient! I had a big room in the Sorrento Tower that was perfect - views of the ocean, outside deck, fridge, microwave, real silverware, soaking tub, sofa, comfortable bed & ipod/iphone hookup. Drinks and food throughout the hotel were excellent as well. Pools were warm and clean. Front desk / check-in / bell service was very good. Everything was impeccably clean and maintained.

The negatives: The hotel overall was very busy, from the Bleau Bar in the evenings to the pool & beaches during the day - crowded might not be the word, but busy with allot of people. Poolside & beach-side service for food and drinks was very slow - seemed like they needed more help. Service at the Bleau Bar was also somewhat slow, but the quality of the drinks compensated! Beach itself was not exceptionally clean, but overall not bad either. One other negative, that I guess is to be expected, is that everything is expensive - from food to drinks, to day beds, cabanas, etc.

In short, I had a great time and would not hesitate to stay here again if I find myself in South Beach. The Fontainebleau lived up to its reputation as "the" place to stay in Miami!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the Sorrento Tower! To get away from the crowds at the main pools, ther...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very nice accomodations. Pool services are the best. Jefferson from pool services was very attentive. He made sure that we were comfortable at all times. The food and drinks at the pool are a bit pricey, but well worth it. Valet services was efficent, but be sure to call ahead approx 15 minutes for your car.

Room Tip: We rented from a condo owner. All of the ammenites included valet parking and pool chairs are includ...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's been years since I've stayed here, and I'm impressed with the way they have maintained the property and updated it over the years. I like the location on the southern part of North Beach which is a little removed from the party scene at S Beach yet still accessible. The staff is very responsive to all of our requests, and they offer turn down service which is appreciated. We had an ocean view room with good space and a good size bathroom with both a walk-in Shower and Jacuzzi tub. The room was a little dated, although it is well furnished with comfortable bedding. The lobby and Glow bar were always happening, and apparently LIV nightclub draws a pretty large crowd although we never checked it out for ourselves. The crowd made for pretty good people watching from the Glow bar. There were hundreds of people in the lobby until very late in the night/morning. The food options are very good so you don't have to venture out, but we like the food experience Miami offers. The Lapis Spa is outstanding as my wife and I each enjoyed a massage. The pool cabanas were comfortable, and the hotel has excellent beach access. It is a good beach for families and adults who came for R&R. I was going to give it 4* because the room is not what I would call 5* luxury, but I decided the staff deserves 5* and the overall attitude and ambiance is top notch. I'm sure we will return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marknbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed from March 16-20, 2013 attending a hospitality industry conference. The service in the lobby bar, specifically the early evening of March 18th was horrible. The two cocktail servers were unattentive and spent more time chatting and laughing with each other than serving customers. After going up to the bar twice within a twenty minute time frame to ask for a server to come over to where we were sitting, I still did not get service. Not at all a good impression.....the servers may be attractive but clearly not service oriented, at least not in the restaurant service industry!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank barb w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,176 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#53 of 210 in Miami Beach
6,800 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,185 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,583 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $279 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing