We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. The kind of service that leaves a bad taste in your mouth. ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #45 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for years. In the beginning it was nice but every year it gets disappointing. The staff is extremely rude. I have booked for an ocean view room. You can see the ocean from the corner of my eye when I stick my head out the balcony. I went down stairs to ask the front desk that there must be a mistake (had to go down because no one would pick up the phone ) when I asked them. . They insisted that its an ocean view room. . What a scam. . They should not be calling this room an ocean view room. I will never come to this hotel again. Also when I went down to talk to them the lady looked like she was about to leave and rolled her eyes at me. I am paying almost 1000 dollars a night ..I would like some decent service. I will never come here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank realmaeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,416 - 8,422 of 13,402 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stunning hotel with beautiful lobby, magnificent pools (there are multiple pools) and gorgeous beach. The spa is amazing. Rooms are average inside but exceptionally clean (no coffee pot in room). Only real negative is the cost. The rooms are $500+ per night, and then there are add- on fees for many items: umbrellas at the beach, access to whirlpool or sauna at spa (spa services like a massage also have fees but this is normal business practice), food and drinks are also very expensive. So you will have a great time but will pay for the privilege if staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gohikingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I spent a night here with my wife on our way to Jamaica. I was interested in checking it out because I had stopped by the Fountainbleau a year earlier just to walk and around and check out and was impressed with its recent renovation.

Although pretty expensive (if the price is worth it is debatable, but Miami hotels are overpriced in general), I was very impressed with our stay.

It kind of reminded me of a las vegas hotel without a casino: you walk around and there are multiple bars, restaurants, shopping options and a big pool complex, all very trendy and with great design elements.

We had paid for an early checkin: there wasn't a room ready yet for us, so the hostess gracefully upgraded us to a suite that was ready in one of the new towers for no extra charge. The suite was great! Wonderfully interior design, a large living area and a great spacious balcony. The room also was equipped with a new imac. I had a couple minor gripes with some design decisions in the bathroom: mainly for tall people the shower handles protrude out directly under the showerhead, so when you stick you head under the shower you have to be mindful not to hit your head, but this is just extreme nick-picking.

The pool area was great to hang out in as well as the beach area. The beach area is very relaxing and is exclusive to Fountainbleau guests.

So I would say if you want more of a classy, relaxing time in Miami, the Fountainbleau is just right for you. It has great bars and restaurants and if you want to go a little crazy, they have one of the hottest night clubs in town.

If you are a frat boy type person who likes yelling and carrying around yard stick cups, you should probably stick to Ocean's Drive with the other spring breakers.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here three nights during a conference- very fortunate that someone else was paying the bill. Pools, the beach, restaurants, and all hotel staff were wonderful. Room was just a little on the small side, but not bad. Complementary Apple desktop with internet access was great!

On the flip side, the restaurants and shops charge prices that would make Jerry Jones, owner of the Dallas Cowboys blush. A salad, sandwich and two waters to go at the SOLO restaurant was $45. Three simple hair ties- $12. Now don't get me wrong, when small incidents like these are all you're really having to pay for, these prices are more comical than upsetting. Besides, the sandwich was really good.

Overall, I'd love to stay here again- if someone else is paying. Otherwise, I just see the value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pondguyOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

the hotel facilities and standard as well as location are great, and the room we had was spacious and nicely designed. However for 5 star prices you expect 5 star service, and you will not get it here! no porters helping you with luggage. Nobody aknowledge you at reception. Housekeeping messed up on several occasions. Lack of communication between guest and staff. I was dissapointed. Not to mention i had arranged a valentines gift for my boyfriend and paid for it in advance (or so i thought!). it ended up appearing on his bill at check out so he saw exactly how much i had spent on him and he ended up paying for it!. talk about embarrassing! i think next time i will try to find a South beach hotel that offers proper 5 star service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barcelona77barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

By far one of the best hotels I have had the chance to stay at. The location is incredible, the amenities are amazing. Room as top notch and the pool/beach areas are worth skipping any business meeting for a relaxing time. The staff was exceptional. Not only were our needs met, but the friendliness with which they treated us made our stay worth remembering. A special shout-out to Mr. David Arraya, the hotel manager for treating us like kings and making us feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is clearly one of the most complete and relaxing hotels I have ever been to. The amenities are fantastic and the staff is incredible. Special props to the hotel manager Mr. David Arraya for providing spectacular service and making sure my friends and I were enjoying the hotel at all times. Looking forward to another visit!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicatacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,640 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,872 reviews
The Confidante
#32 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,614 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $280 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing