We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Hotel staff is rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #40 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hotel staff is rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I've stayed at this property several times when attending a conference. The hotel is very large, and very loud, the rooms are adequate, but nothing special. The only thing that stood out was how extremely rude the staff was from check-in and throughout the entire stay. I would never book this hotel for myself, my friends of my family. I would never recommend anyone else book this for themselves, and certainly never for a vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sassafrasss393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,826
    2,238
    1,081
    616
    612
See reviews for
2,616
2,767
303
1,942
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Staying in a nearby hotel but had dinner at borh Scarpettas and Gotham. Scarpettas was good but Gothams was amazing. We enjoyed a hamachi tartar appetizers as well as an heirloom tomatoe salad and a chopped salad... all incredible.The filet mignon melted in our mouths and the salmon over escarole was fresh, moist and delicious. The wait staff was very attentive without being overbearing. Our waiter Seth was witty and fun in addition to being very knowledgable about the menu items and able to make great recommendations: he is an excellent waiter. And the peanut butter chocolate lava cake with salted caramel was the best lava cake we have ever had-great recommendation from Seth!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently went to the Miami Boat show. We valet at the Fontainebleau Hotel every year. Although it is a bit pricey, the location is perfect and we find well worth it for the convenience. This year was a nightmare. After spending the day at the show. We waited over an hour for our rental car, only to be told they couldn't find our car. They sent us back to Fort Lauderdale in a taxi. Shortening the story, the Miami police called us as we were driving. Apparently the valet gave someone else our car. They found it at a shopping plaza. Obviously mistakes happen, but this was a biggie.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank raezyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went here yrs. ago on business, this time on a birthday/valentines trip for my better half. For the price, there isn't the "bang for the buck". Sure you're with the "beautiful people", but thats what you pay for. Scarpetta's was a true dining experience of Italian quisine. Scott Conant of the tv show "Chopped" has won his rep. here & NYC. Got use to wine prices here as well as all of Miami Beach($60 to $250+). Didn't mind fixed 18% grat. for the good service. Did feel captive at times, but sharing taxi fares with my brother in law helped us get about. Also a on/off bus tour that we started later in the day and carried over to the next day (till 2pm) was worthwhile. All in All very exspensive for what you get & what the little things you would expect and don't get.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We are planning our third trip in three years to this hotel. It NEVER disappoints us. You get what you pay for. Last year our favorite housekeeper Beatriz was on vacation but Luis Molina, our server at Scarpetta, and the front desk staff (shout out to Marissa) were wonderful. We ventured out to several good restaurants in South Beach that were NOT pricey (Yardbird) and spent many relaxing hours in the Tresor pool on the seventh floor, away from the crowds and noise.

Room Tip: Hi floor in Versailles building overlooking the ocean. No noise, kids or dogs and away from crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lori_and_maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of may, around the time of memorial weekend. Hotel was very lively around this time. Pool was packed but very nice. All in all the hotel is nice but is quite far up collins avenue. Im not impressed by the service at all either. The staff treat everyone like criminals. We were given a wristband and told we had to wear it for the whole duration of our stay. I took it off to go shower and then forgot it, the cleaner must have disposed of it. Reception refused to give me another one unless i coughed up $35 and repeatedly asked me if i was sure i didnt give it to someone. Completely unacceptable. It wasnt just one member of staff either, there was 3 who all had the same attitude.
Nice hotel but staff just looked like they didnt want to be there the whole time, everywhere u went it was the same inside the hotel.
Think id rather stay somewhere else next time. Disappointing trip


On the plus side the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blaise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The facility is great without a doubt, but just dare to use the guest services line, and you will see.... The best effort to dismiss your request in the fastest possible time without even checking your name or the type of room you have paid for. Secondly, dare to ask for your car at the valet parking... Not less than 20 minutes and that at 7 AM. For $700 a night you honestly expect much better efforts by their staff as these details make a big difference. At that rate, you can be sure you can get much better value elsewhere...

Room Tip: Go for oceanfront, and bring tons of patience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#19 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,737 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#98 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,517 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#58 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,460 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing