We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“FontaineBleau Miami.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #44 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“FontaineBleau Miami.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Fontainebleau is very good but overrated...For the price you pay, spend a few more hundreds and stay at the Setai which offers everything.

I stayed in the Tower...it has a nice view but for the price we paid, we found that the quality and the service was not there. This hotel is huge and you never see any staffs. There is no doorman, 2/5 there would be NO ONE at the front desk. The hotel has NO indications of whatsoever. You can get lost, it is like a maze, you could be turning around in circles for hours and still be at point A. Check-in took me 35minutes which is ridiculous. My boyfriend and I were very mad since when we came, the lady was on the phone and she wouldn't hang up (how polite is that).

Room has no cups, coffee machine & bathrobe. Really? for the price we pay, they can't even offer us that.

I was very disappointed and will never come back here..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Insanexvi3tgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,643
    2,177
    1,061
    603
    597
See reviews for
2,498
2,704
296
1,926
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Saying this is a pricey hotel is the understatement of the year. It's a five star property on South Beach so brace yourself. Having gotten that out of the way here is the review:

If you are looking for a " happening" pool scene this is the place. There are over 10 pools scattered all over the property. The trick for getting a chair ( yes there can be a wait) is to come down early leave some clothing behind and then come down every hr. if you are gone for more than a hr you will lose your spot.
Pool service is terrific.
There were some pools we didn't get to see , so explore.
The beach is gorgeous. Beach chairs are included BUT the umbrellas are not. 25.00 for umbrella.
There is a night club in hotel Liv and its considered to be one of best night clubs in the country. If you are interested in going you should book online in advance. It was sold out for men and women had to pay 60.00. Needless to say we did not go given my husband's inability to get in.
The lobby also has a huge bar and on a Sat night it was packed.

The resort is about a 10 min cab ride from South beach. ($10.00). Cabs are at the hotel. Not a hassle but disappointing if you expected to be in the middle of it all.

If you are willing to drop some serious coin you will have a blast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktoriatedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'd like to provide some feedback about my recent stay at the Fontainebleau . My trip started well, as I was pleasantly and efficiently received by the valet in the busy driveway of the main entrance. The valet was helpful and welcoming. I then proceeded to the conveneint temporary registration desk set up by the drive. I was warmly greeted by Athina, who proceeded to check me in. Unbeknownst to me, my credit card was past its' expiration date, causing me to embarrassingly fumble for my other card, before recalling that I had left it in the car. As I worked through the situation, Athina was incredibly gracious and friendly, and then quickly engaged the valet and bellman to assist while my car was retrieved and my credit card obtained.

After checking in, I encountered the only negative point of my experience, the campus is extremely large, with 4 hotel buildings. It was difficult to find the Versailles tower where I was staying, and signage was poor or non-existent. However, when I took the elevator up to the 14th floor of the incorrect tower, the housekeeping staff was very helpful and gave me clear directions to the proper building.

I was at the hotel to speak at an event being held by my employer. We had reserved a conference room, serving dinner and staffing open bars in the reception area as well as the dining room. Every staff member involved in the process was exceptionally competent, courteous and professional. From setting up A/V, to the wait staff and bartenders, they were exceptional. In addition, the meal which was served simultaneously for 200 people was delicious (a rare feat)! We hold many of these events, and this was the best overall experience we have ever had while hosting an event.

The huge property is immaculately clean and well maintained, and there is something for everyone. I'm sure we didn't even take advantage of most of the amenities. Every staff member, including; the hostess at the poolside grill, wait staff throughout, the bartender at the Lobby bar, the front desk staff, the valets and bellmen, were incredibly warm, competent, and helpful. It was really impressive to see such a large property managed so exceptionally well.

Of course you get the great energy and hip vibe you expect in SOBE, but without the hassles of noisy rooms or indifferent service. I would highly recommend the Fontainebleau for both leisure and business.

Tip: Ask ahead of time which tower your room is in, and which driveway would be most convenient for your arrival.

Room Tip: Views vary significantly, and a room with ocean view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had the best massage by Roman! I loved my 80 minute Masters massage! Roman is great and he made me feel so relaxed. It was literally the best massage I have ever had. Also Abigail was great at the front desk, very professional and helpful. Gabi at the Locker was also very sweet. This was a great experience and I will be definitely coming back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncphottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is my third time in this hotel. I stayed there last july, alone, and this time I came back with my kids. If you want a room with more space, choose a Deluxe room with beach view and balcony. The Gotham restaurant is delicious, but, with kids, share a dish. The portions are huge. I would like to mention Meir, a guy from THE Valet that helped us arranging our luggage at our car.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnacVentilari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had time for a quick getaway & picked this hotel because of all the hoopla surrounding it, and since we didn't bring our kids, it seemed perfect for an adult weekend. The room was nice enough (junior suite), but I wasn't overly impressed, and there is no privacy on the balconies. Each floor has 1 long connected outdoor space separated by a divider on either side; so you can be having breakfast & the people next to you are right there looking at you. The view was amazing though. Also, the room service attendants did not pick up our breakfast remnants until the evening (we even called when we were done...and they had come to clean the room during the day). I like the amenities (Mac, wifi and dock for iPhone).
The pool was great, and servers attentive. Seemed to be a hot spot on Saturdays (almost a Spring Break feel to it). Be warned...when the music is playing during the day, it is LOUD.
We did not go to the club, but the lobby bar was quite a scene in itself...lots of people watching, good drinks & a DJ.
The spa was excellent & the shops were all high end. Restaurants were pretty great too. All in all, I would recommend it, especially if you get a deal like we did ($100 spa credit, $100 dining credit, $ off if you pay for stay up front.) Be sure to check the website for monthly specials. Oh, and be on the lookout for celebrities...apparently this is a popular hangout for them.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorismini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in a large suite for 8 days with my familiy.

Room was nice, view was nice, kids loved the pool area and lots of good restaurants at the location (overpriced but we were expecting that).

The service on the other is terrible, maybe the worst I've seen at a 5 star (and I travel 200 days a year...). The valet guys broke my trunk by using to much force, and we spent hours on reporting it to the security. At last we had spoken to everyone, security mangers, valet managers, reception(s) and so on. Everybody promised to help us out, fix the damages or reimburse us. However, it never happened. We talked with the reception and the security manager several times after the incident, but they never did anything. We have written to the hotel, but have still not received any answer.

My next stay in Miami will not be at Fountainebleu...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelPerOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,640 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#102 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,356 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing