We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pool area at Miami Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #44 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best pool area at Miami Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The last time I stayed at the Fontainebleau was in 1986. I have to say that the hotel (fortunately) has changed since then,,,! We (family with 3 children) stayed here for 4 nights in December 2012, in a family suite in the Tresor Tower. A very large suite (with an Imac at disposal) with a similarly large separate bedroom, a fully functional kitchen, large bathroom and a nice balcony with a southbound view of the beach and Collins Avenue.

This giant hotel (1600 rooms) just has everything. From the largest (and best) pool area at Miami Beach (with several poolside bars) to great (but pricy) restaurants. Service is good everywhere from check in to the staff at the pools and the beach and to checkout.

The location is OK, if you want to get just a bit away from the buzz of South Beach, whic can be reached by cab in 10 minutes.

All in all - A pricy but close to perfect hotel for familys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,672
    2,502
    1,185
    668
    669
See reviews for
2,966
3,051
344
2,177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have been staying at quite some of the sobe hotels over the past yrs, we love sobe. So this was our first time in a 'resort', we usually prefer Delano etc. we were looking for fun over a weekend- and we got it all. This is more a Vegas style resort on the lovely beach. The suite was great, ocean and ocean drive view, therapeutic! Hotel service met highest standards which as amazing given the size lf this place (note to management: great job!). From valet to room service, this was awesome. We tried the lobby bar, night club (a must!), steak restaurant (v good food), sushi.... Nothing to regret. Great entertainment! If you don't like pretentious style and wannabe cannot handle silicone and wannabe gangb@ngers, you better go elsewhere. (Forget about the price tag- good value for money!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were in Miami for the BCS National Championship game and stayed at the Fontainebleau, in the Chateau tower, for a little over a week. The hotel and grounds are wonderful. The staff, from the front desk to the pool, where extremely kind and accommodating. The rooms are well appointed. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from. The pool area is nice, although you want to make sure you get down there early in the morning to reserve your chairs, as the place does tend to get crowded later. At night, the lobby bar is a nice place to have a drink and meet others or just chill. My only complaint about this hotel would be the in room dining. We were tired and decided to order in one night during our stay. The food was terrible and the server had to go back downstairs twice to get items that she forgot. Other than that, we will definitely be returning to the Fontainebleau next time we go to Miami. In the end, our team won the BCS National Championship and we left there with memories that we will never forget. ROLL TIDE!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandi0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had made our reservation as part of the Orange Bowl package for our university. This hotel is beautiful but on the expensive side. When we first arrived we encountered a problem with the valet who kept asking us if we could afford the valet - very rude to do that. Being that I made the reservation, we gave my last name for check in and I proceeded on the long walk to the lobby - I am handicapped and don't do a lot of walking anymore. When I got to check-in the lady was very friendly and I wish I could remember her name and Rob caught up to me and gave his ID and they found the reservation no big deal. He told me that the valet staff unloaded the car and really hoped we were staying there - their 2nd mistake and the lady apologized for that. We checked in on Sunday, December 30th and when she was getting our room keys I asked if it was a handicapped room as requested, it was not but she upgraded us to a beautiful ocean view room with a handicap bathroom. The room was so nice and I enjoyed being able to sit on the balcony to look at the ocean or all the pools - I counted 7 from our room. The hotel we very busy and probably could have had more staff, but the other staff we encountered during our stay were always friendly and helpful especially the concierge desk and housekeeping. If you eat at the restaurant for dinner, I recommend the Gotham Steak House - it was excellent and has a huge wine selection. Also, at check in they give you a wrist band for the pool area and you must wear it to enter - if you don't they charge you $30 at the pool area - if you forget it go to the front desk and they will give it to you free. We stayed in the hotel for New Years Eve and attended the party in Arkadia - nice waitress but had to walk up and down a lot of stairs to get to - no handicap access. When we checked out on January 2nd, I dealt with Katrina and we discussed the problems we had incurred and she gave me the name of the front desk manager so I could voice my thoughts to her and also let her know the pros of the hotel - one of which is the spa very relaxing, the variety of restaurants, access to beach, the Bleau Bar and the spacious room we had with the ocean view. I know that she had been out of the office until this week and they also were hosting the BCS Bowl game teams and guests so hopefully I will hear back next week. I would visit the hotel again if in the area because the pros did outweigh the cons. If you are on a budget, this hotel is on the expensive side so either look for deals or see what else is around the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kitty14221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

First I have to say... We had a TIME.. Because it's all about having a time.... Times were had lounging around the pool & Hottub. Your service was amazing. Fast, beers were always in our hands and did I mention we had a time with ya? Thanks again for everything. We'll be back soon. Already planning another shaker.

Alex, Todd, Andrea & Happy Beaupy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poneshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was so looking forward to staying at this legendary hotel; only to be disappointed by the reality. First problem - you are nickle-and-dimed from beginning to end, and you definitely feel like their hands are in your pockets. When we pulled up in our rental car, the parking valet informed us that it would cost almost $40/day to park, and that there were no other parking options. That was a fine welcome to the hotel! Then, at check in, we were informed of additional daily charges for things like internet service that should really be included given the prices we were paying. All restaurants at the hotel automatically charge 18% gratuity regardless of party size (and despite the fact that the food prices were already higher than average). The pools themselves were lovely in design, but hard to enjoy given the hordes, the multiple rows of tightly adjoining chairs and constant booming club music. The hotel is absolutely massive - we had to walk through the conference center to get to our elevator banks. It felt like we were on the Vegas strip. The spa was a bright spot, but even there the service was spotty - I sat in my robe waiting, but my aethestician failed to show so they had to reschedule (although this situation was definitely made better when the manager appeared personally to apologize and comp'd the facial). In short, I won't go back. The Eden Roc next door seemed much closer to what I had hoped for - a beautifully located, refined and relaxing space.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kresge86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were there Christmas week for the second year in a row. We had a great time last year as well but we felt that service had been kicked up another notch. Taking into account how full and crazy the resort was, we beleive the service was amazing. If you go Christmas week, you have to understand that it willl be crowded but we never had trouble getting a spot on the beach or at the pool when we arrived between 9 and 9:15. You also have to understand that prices for everything are expensive and they add an 18% service charge to almost everything. The only thing I would change is the music at the pool. Not only are you forced to listen to loud music that you may or may not like but at times there would be one song at the pool and a different one at the outdoor restaruant and you would hear both at the same time and it just became a blurred cacophany. Otherwise, we loved every aspect of the hotel. Stayed in Tresor and love that building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsfcbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#65 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,175 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#58 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,936 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing