We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #38 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the years. It has been consistently good. This is my first visit since the most recent renovation a couple of years ago. The hotel is beautiful and EXPANSIVE. This time I stayed in new tower. Room was large with nice balcony , microwave, refrigerator, flat screen Tv with good size bathroom.
The workout center has plenty of equipment with view of pool and ocean. Multiple pools with main pool as large as inland sea. Only knock is location which in mid 40s is somewhat out of the way for south beach action. Oh yes, valet service for car VERY slow.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,818
    2,235
    1,080
    614
    609
See reviews for
2,608
2,765
302
1,942
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for the last couple years. I am usually here every 3-4 months. Its normal for a hotel to have staff turnover and your personal experience can change from time to time.
I was again delighted with the top notch service by the staff @ this hotel. They live up to their 5star rating.

1St thank you to Stefanie Silverman for arranging my trip and making sure everything went smoothly. I truly appreciate all your help. Thank you to Alfredo Morles for greeting us when we arrived and making sure we have had everything we needed. This was a short 3 night 4 day trip. Most of out time was spent @ the pool. HUGE thank you to David & the rest of the pool staff. He always goes above & beyond & takes care of us makes sure we have everything we need. Thank you Christina one our favorite past pool staff waitress whom we were lucky enough to have again. She is so personable & charming. 50% of the reason I love this hotel so much is the pool area & the pool staff! Thank you again Fontainebleau staff for a fabulous long weekend. See you again in 4 months!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ and get a ocean front balcony. It is so worth the extra $. If you are traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Fierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My Group went to Miami to do a 70.3 Triathlon. We stayed at the Fontainebleau because the other hotel we originally booked was going through major renovations (jack hammers on the balcony at 8am-6pm, The Perrry Hotel) ...So we decided to move 10 people to The Fontainebleau. This Hotel was amazing! Gotham Steak House was superb, the Lobby was breathtaking and the service was impeccable. We all had Junior Suites facing the ocean in the Sorrento Tower. I loved that we had a small fridge with an ice maker, microwave, dishes, etc. The beds were very comfortable. It is pricey at $750 per nite!

Room Tip: Junior Suite in the Serrento Tower 3-1212 was perfect because it was oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had a conference at the Fountainbleau and my wife joined me, so we could extend the trip and enjoy a little vacation. The property was fantastic. Whoever is in charge of hiring and training does a fantastic job. Everyone was friendly, nice and engaging. A very special thanks goes to our waiter at La Cote - Fermin - he is terrific and his description of the dishes will make you want to order each one.

For those on a budget, the food and drink prices can add us in a hurry, but it does not have to be that way. For instance, La Cote is the outdoor restaurant near the pool bar, open for dinner Thursday through Saturday, and the prices are average, while the food is far above average (it was excellent - go for the lobster thermadore, their signature dish). At the resort, you can get everything from a pizza or sandwich to a truffle-laced appetizer. The wine list is extensive and, although it has many bottles in exess of $1,000, there also are excellent wines for less than $100. With 8 restaurants on the property, it is easy to find several that meet your taste (as well as your budget).

The people watching is "off the hook." If you are offended by the idea of high heels and short skirts, then you do not want to go there, as that seems to be the standard issue for guests and visitors. Of course, that is also the standard issue for all of Miami Beach, so you may want to hit Orlando instead.

We will be back. We travel alot and have been to many places, and Fountainbleau is now on our list for a return trip (but, next time, just a vacation so we have more time to enjoy it, without a pesky conference getting in the way).

See you by the one of the many pools! Cheers.

Room Tip: We were in the Serento Tower, with an ocean view and a king bed. I think I would like to try a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

You'll have a fantastic time for several days at the Fontainebleau and you won't even have to leave the property. Try all the restaurants. Scarpella was our favorite. My only complaint was that the lovely quiet bars at the three main dinner restaurants did not open earlier. At 5pm the only bar option was the beautiful but noisy Bleau Bar.

Room Tip: get a view of the ocean with a balcony...that is why you are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am hot and cold with regard to this hotel. First of all, let me praise the staff. Very friendly, nice looking, immaculate appearance, and ready to please. This includes the concierge and the bellmen. The lobby is a bit on the tacky side with pink neon lights but the marble floors are magnificent. Also, I found the environment to be spotlessly clean. My room was perfectly cheery with a comfortable bed and a wonderful view of the ocean. It was the most fabulous way to wake up in the mornings-overlooking the blue ocean with crisp white cotton sheets. The bathroom was shower only and was tiny. I like soaking in a tub after the beach but oh well.
I think the best part of the hotel is the pool and beach area. Magnificent. Elegantly maintained tropical foliage surrounds the pool and there is always someone to take a drink order or set up your chair. I thought to myself, there BETTER be someone here as it costs 30 dollars extra per day to use the pool and have a chair.
The negative part for me was the price. Even our corporate conference rate was pricy but 20 dollar cups of sangria? C'mon! 8 dollar bottles of water? The worst part was that the hotel is too far from all the sidewalk places in Southbeach. It took about 10 to 15 minutes to walk to the nearest place to get some diet coke or bottles of water. I started refusing to get drinks at the hotel. One day, I had to do some work from the room and reluctantly ordered a club sandwich by room service. Thank you 30 dollar check. I wish I were rich enough to stay here!
So, all in all, I would stay here only if I were back there for a conference. I think people loved the place more than I did because they did not want to leave. It is very self-contained and if you have the money, you don't have to leave the property. Food was pretty good and VERY HIGH marks to go the restaurant Hakasan. Fabulous food and really wonderful views. The lobby bar at 2:00 am was hopping. If you like that sort of thing, it's great for partying. But, despite the party atmosphere, the rooms were fabulously quiet and the beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Fontainebleau Resort has a longstanding reputation as one of the best in the country. This was not my experience during a recent stay at the resort. The facilities are gorgeous, but there are several issues with service throughout the organization. In particular, I found that while some of the food was exceptional, other restaurants were overpriced and bland. The valet service was atrocious and failed to deliver my car on several occasions despite calls.

I have stayed at numerous high end facilities over the years, and I recognize and commend quality when I see it. In my opinion, with my recent stay in mind, the Fontainebleau did not meet my expectations at all...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Ron, Thank you very much for your review. I apologize on behalf of my entire team if your experience did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. Our entire Team of 2,300 works diligently to produce an exceptional guest experience and I am sorry we were unable to do that for you. We have reviewed your comments with the team in order to improve our products and services. I hope to have the opportunity to host you at Fontainebleau again in the future to change that perception around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,729 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#99 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,450 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing