We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #43 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived at midnight having taken 3 flights lasting 24 hours. With 2 staff on reception and a group of 4 to check in, we were stood waiting for almost 25min. However, we advised them it was our honeymoon and were upgraded to a suite within the Tresor tower - absolutely beautiful. With 2 balconies facing out over the ocean we very quickly forgot about the check-in delay. The suite comes with a fully functional kitchen so after a quick visit to Walgreens we were making our own breakfasts each morning. You get a free Mac in your room and free wifi in the resort. They also give you a booklet of vouchers on arrival. Pls check this before you use any of the facilities as there are some good deals. I can recommend the Italian restaurant Scarpetto which has 20% off on a Sunday. Everyone appeared to prefer the main hotel pool versus those which are linked to each residential tower. Dress to impress for LIV and I really do mean that. There is a bus that runs 24 hours to South beach directly outside the hotel if the cabs fares are becoming too much. Concierge is very helpful if you would like them to arrange acces to other clubs.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Serenity06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your very special honeymoon stay at Fontainebleau! It was our pleasure to offer a room upgrade for you to enjoy. We are happy to hear you were impressed with the various amenities included in your room. We also appreciate all of your wonderful recommendations based on your experience with us, and hope to recreate these memories for you on another visit sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,891 - 8,897 of 13,409 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently visited Miami south beach thinking we would have a wonderful holiday at this hotel. I left very disappointed, mistreated and robbed.

I went on holiday looking forward to it but left the hotel glad to go home. Not only was the service terrible but the weather wasn't too good so this topped our holiday off.

I now understand why this hotel is under administration as I'm sure other holiday makers will not be returning like my group of friends.

On previous trips to the USA, the Americans have always been very welcoming but at this hotel everything seems too hard work. I think the staff should all go on a hospitality course. The most useful and friendly staff were the bell boys.

We had brunch one morning at one of the restaurants but the food came out cold and they had got our order wrong, so we complained and they took the food away but brought us the same food which was't much better then the management came over sarcastically saying here is your really hot food which should have been served that way in the first place but tasted even worse because they had just reheated our meals. They pretended to take 20% off the bill but really a couple of dollars had been taken off, so we had to refuse to pay the 20% service charge. This shouldn't happen when one has to pay 50 dollars for 2 mains and 2 drinks. Again mistreating their guests that are staying at the hotel.

I went to the club one evening in fontaine blue called liv and had to pay full admission which should at least be discounted for gyests staying at the hotel but when we got into the club it had been mis sold to us so we wanted our 120 dollars for two females and 80 dollars for a male but they refused even though we had just walked in and decided we didn't want to stay. The security/management were unreasonable and again mistreated the guests that were staying at the hotel. We did eventually get our money back.

The rooms were average but we upgraded to a balcony sea View room so at least we had a good view. The maids barely cleaned, never dusted, vacuumed or changed toiletries etc. There were dirty glasses and empty tissue boxes left all week. They should leave a complimentary bottle of water for people in each room but no such thing, it was 10 dollars for a bottle of water at the mini bar.

A surcharge for wifi and other facilities were charged at 16 dollars per a room per a day but I had no wifi access all week so again I was ripped off for a facility I could not use. There were other individuals in my party that had the same difficulty with the wifi.

We had a late flight home so struggled to organise a late check out and somewhere to change before we left. We paid an extra 120 dollars per a room for late check out so we had facilities to use.

The location is terrible so it costs a lot to get everywhere in a taxi hence the reason why holiday makers are forced to eat at the hotel's restaurants. All in all I do not recommend this hotel for the amount it costs to stay. There must be better hotels in the area that cost less and treat their guests better.



  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wsyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We are saddened to hear of your dissatisfaction during this stay. Fontainebleau takes all guest feedback very seriously, as it important for us to achieve memorable experiences for all of our guests. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you had encountered with prices and the cleanliness of your room. It is unfortunate that we were unable to approach your concerns while you were still at the resort. We hope you will give us an opportunity to change your impression around by staying with us again. We assure you that we will do our absolute best to find alternative options to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've been to this hotel several times with my boyfriend but this time I was celebrating a birthday with girlfriends. The hotel was fully committed for a convention so we had to wait for our room. We took advantage of Miami Spice and had a fantastic dim sum brunch at Hakkasan. Our waiter Daniel was terrific! He was so knowledgeable about all aspects of the menu. THe food was delicious and the cocktails were even better!
Melissa H. was our front desk agent. She was professional, proficient, and a pleasure to deal with! Since the hotel was fully booked we were not able to be upgraded to the ocean view balcony room for the first night of our stay, however, we did receive an upgrade the next morning. Having a balcony and being able to enjoy the gorgeous view of the resort and beach truly enhanced our stay.
I love coming back to this iconic Miami resort. It is clean, beautiful and has something for everyone. There are several pools and plenty of lounge chairs; so many great restaurants for dining; and the staff is always friendly and accommodating. The Lapis Spa is also outstanding and an amazing value during Miami Spa month. I am definitely looking forward to my next trip here in December.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences at Fontainebleau! We truly enjoyed having you as our guest. It makes us proud knowing Daniel and Melissa took exceptional care of you and ensured you were most comfortable. We will definitely pass on their well-deserved recognition. Your visits to Hakkasan and Lapis Spa sound so fantastic! We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived for a long anniversary weekend - Friday check-in to Monday check-out. Melissa at the front desk was excellent as were all staff we encountered. Paid for an oceanfront room (no balcony) but was upgraded for free to a suite in the Tresor building which was unbeliebably beautiful, spotless and huge! Pool area is amazing and food was superb but pricey. Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

It was such an honor for Fontainebleau to be your anniversary destination! We are thrilled to hear you had a very special weekend stay with us in the Tresor tower. Thank you for offering recognition to Melissa at the Front Desk. We will be sure to acknowledge her for the outstanding service she had delivered to you. We are looking forward to having you back soon to create even more memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On the surface this is a spectacular large property with good service and professional staff. I was at a conference, and the meeting facilities are fine. My room (regular queen, Versailles Tower) was very well-appointed, with a huge bathroom, closet, big iMac beckoning from the desk and an honor bar rigged with tempting items in plain view that are charged to you if you even lift them from their perches and hold them for more than five seconds! However, the room suffered from road noise (even though it was on 14th floor) and the sink drained very poorly. Add to this the many costly "gotchas" that are not announced: a big daily $18 "resort fee" that can be declined....if you know about it; a $30-plus daily parking fee; and in my case a "damage deposit" of over $100 per day,PLUS my entire room bill taken off my credit card when I checked in! Overall, the costs and "gotchas" cancel out the many positive things to make this a just above average experience.

Room Tip: Try to not have room facing Collins Avenue and be sure to ask about all the extra charges so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We truly appreciate your time in sharing your impression of Fontainebleau. It is rewarding to have the opportunity to learn all about your experience with us. Thank you for your admiration of our property and the service provided by our team. We apologize for any inconveniences you had encountered with prices and noises heard from your room. We hope to provide more suitable accommodations when you return for an even better experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Probably the best hotel is every stayed at - it has everything; 3-4 of the best restaurants in Miami, so many pools, good gym, nice spa and the best party at Miami beach - this is also the place to be for WMC march - there is no place in the world better then this hotel en of march - combo great party, food, pools, star spotting and WMC :)

WMC = Winter Music Conference (Music event)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLifeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your loyalty to Fontainebleau! We are proud to have achieved a perfect stay for you and that the resort’s offerings catered to your every need! Your feedback is so rewarding to us, and we look forward to sharing your compliments with our entire team. We hope to see you in the very near future for another unforgettable time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Said here for a big company conference, huge place, enormous premises, you have to walk a lot to go from one place to the other, the hotel has several very good restaurants and it's lobby and night club are a spectacle every weekend as it gets full of party going girls. Not the best place for a family vacation I would say. The rooms could be tidier and on the weekends it seems they are great odds your next door room will hold very "noisy" couples.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for being our guest at Fontainebleau! We are so glad you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our restaurant offerings while attending a conference on property. We hope you were most comfortable amongst our exquisite meeting facilities and ballrooms. The resort includes four separate towers, which cater to different needs for our guests. Our condo towers Tresor and Sorrento may provide more privacy and family-oriented atmospheres, each having its own exclusive pool. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to show you more of what Fontainebleau is all about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,641 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,877 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,617 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $279 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing