We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service! Beautiful views - close to SoBe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #45 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed February 6, 2008

This hotel is under construction, however, they completely made up for the barley audible noise level by their superb customer service! The staff at the pool are incredible - Sean, Karla, Rey C - just to mention a few - go way above and beyond to make you comfortable! We barley made it to the beach because they were so great - they mist you when you're warm, check in just enough to keep the DELICIOUS drinks flowing (highly recommend the Banana Peel), poolside food is also really good. They will even move your chair into the sun if you barely mention you aren't totally happy!

We had 3 girls in a junior suite and there was plenty of room for us. Big large bathroom - lots of mirrors to get ready etc.

Also - very close to SoBe - quick cheap cab ride away. Will definitely
want to check this hotel out after the renovations are complete in July 08. It is going to have a Pure nightclub, a huge pool by the beach, among many other amenities. I'm sure the price will go up as well, but for now it was a bargain for the service & location!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frv100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,339)
There are newer reviews for Fontainebleau Miami Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,897 - 10,903 of 13,339 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2008

We stayed at the Fontainebleau Suites for two weekends, both before and after a cruise out of Miami. We were aware of the construction in the area, and chose this hotel because of its proximity to friends, and houses of worship in Miami Beach. The people at the Reception Desk were friendly and efficient, but we were taken aback by the daily charge to park, $30, and a $40 per day charge for a rollaway bed, which we needed to accomodate our kids. The suite was large and well decorated, with a beautiful view of the bay, Miami skyline and ocean. This was the less expensive bayview suite. The view was beautiful, and I certainly would not pay the extra $50 per night for an oceanview. The bed was quite comfortable and the kitchen was spotless, having a practically brand new fridge, oven and microwave. There are also two flat panel TVs in the suite. The pool is small though, but the attendents were quite helpful in helping us find pool chairs. By the way, the pina coladas at the pool were the best we have tasted in a while!

Our major problem was with the service. We waited over 3 hours for the rollaway to arrive, and each time we called,we were told "it is on the way". Finally, someone honest at the desk admitted to us that the service elevator was broken, and they were having a hard time getting it up. They did agree to omit the $40 per day charge for the rollaway. I expect more out of a five star resort. Overall though, our experience with the Fontainebleau Suites was positive, and I would give it 3 and a half stars out of 5.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank PinaColadaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Stayed at the world famous Fountainbleu for one night, and thank goodness it was only one night. For the unbelievable price of $450.00 per night, there were no services available as they are in the midst of major reconstruction; there is no restaurant, bars, the swimming pool is backyard size; there is dist flying thru the air, wherever you go, and the sound of jackhammers banging all day; the supposed shuttle to Lincoln Road is a joke and didn't happen. On a dust filled walk to the beach, past the construction, you are accompanied by chalk dust and soot; when you get to the beach, if you want a chaise lounge, it costs $5.00. A chicken and turkey sandwich that they kept in a regular cooler costs $43.00. The buffet breakfast, costing $25.00 was a very poor spread; when I asked if I could get an omelet, I was told that I could at an extra charge. I would say the room, a jr. suite was very nice and well appointed but that was it. When I brought my complaints to mangement I was told that since I made my reservation thru Orbitz, they could not help me; they did offer to reimbuse me $5.00 for the chaise lounge. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else where you can enjoy and not get ripped off like this.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank antoniaofpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

My family have stayed here for many years since they grew up in this area. We love the fountainebleau and today it is even better than ever! The rooms are huge and luxurious and very well appointed. The service is excellent nothing above that though. The pools are the highlight way more than enough service there and lounge chairs. It is pet friendly which draws us there and has a great gym. The kids area is also very nice a big with slides and stuff for them to do. The lobby of the hotel is very historic and the restaurant is great too, food was good, no complaints. The beach is also great since there is a boardwalk along the strip. This place is definintely a great place to stay if you are looking in this area! Feel free to contact me with any questions!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TheMiamiUrbEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

We were very excited about having asuite in this world-famous hotel, but once we got there... we had a junior suite, right, the room was beautiful and clean, but the balcony seemed to be completely "neglected": there was sand everywhere, even what we guessed to be pigeon's excerements and no wonder there was non electic light to read a book on the balcony in the evening. Moreover we had been informed that the pool was closed due to general restoration, but what we were not informed of it was the fact that there was no restaurant available at the hotel, only room service, really expensive as you can imagine. lastly we were supposed to have a courtesy shuttle to lincoln road, but the service had been changed months earlier so we had to get a taxi every time. The suites are marvellous, but the service...just don't bother it's not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CSIJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

The hotel was clearly sold out when I checked in on New Years Eve--and at 5pm I was still waiting for my suite to be ready. At least the front desk kept me advised on what was going on --and the suite was worth the wait. I was impressed with the good quality furnishings and amenities and the view was lovely. I had a few issues with the room key not working--but overall the stay was a good one. The location of the hotel is excellent and the value is solid--the staff is friendly-- perhaps not as polished as one might expect at the price point. Room Service exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clefsdorsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

This hotel has been beautifully remodeled (most of it, anyway). the room was the peak of luxury, a bed that I could die in and a view of some of the classic old hotels of North Beach, some currently being remodeled. Seriously, the bed was fitted with the most luxurious comforter and pillows, immaculately clean. You know a hotel is seriously plush when even the bathroom is luxurious. I hear that an old James Bond movie was filmed onsite at the Fontainebleau. This was seriously nice luxury, a $15 cab ride from the nightlife of South Beach, and uncompromised comfort in the rooms. I would recommend this place to any person, any time.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edgetheow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#36 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,179 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 210 in Miami Beach
6,803 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,185 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,588 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $284 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing