We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, bad service, not worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Ranked #55 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2009

First of all the hotel is ridiculously overpriced for what they offer..... At $450 for a standard room and $600 for a suite, it is definitely not worth it. The design of the hotel is very nice, but the maintenance of it leaves a lot to be desired.....Its starting to look used and dirty. There are always lines at the reception, you have to wait for everything and the pool staff were not friendly.
I must say that the pool scene is good for people in their early 20's.......more like a spring break hotel, but if you are looking for something more stylish (or relaxing) then I dont recommend it. The night scene is good, but for that you dont have to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,741 - 2,747 of 3,655 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2009

Let me first say that I am not a complainer, and will go with the flow if things are not exactly as I expected, however, there is no covering up or justification for the way the Shore Club actually is compared to the how they advertise it to be. I have never stayed in a more dirty and discusting place. We paid $500 a nite for dirty windows, dusty amenities, greasy headboard, filthy lampshades and hair on the sheets. We did request another room and received it, but it was the same. The mildew smell in the room was unbearable. The halls made you feel like you were in an asylum. The property itself was dirty and not kept up. NOTHING AT ALL LIKE THE PICTURES! SUCH A DISAPPOINTMENT! I have never paid a nice amount of money for a hotel stay only to feel that I was totally ripped off. I will pay if a place is worth it, but THIS PLACE IS NOT! STAY ELSEWHERE IN SOBE!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NativeNewYorker711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2009

Dear NewYorker711,

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I'm sorry that your experience was not a positive one. As you might've noticed in other reviews on this page, this is not the type of experience we strive to offer to our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to turn your experience around next time.

With kind regards,

Darwin Jose
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

We stayed 4 nights (fri thru Mon) and despite the mixed reviews here had a great time.
The Shore Club is THE party hotel on South Beach, so don't go expecting a tranquil environment - if that is your choice I would suggest the Delano, which seems to have an older crowd.
The rooms are very 'industrial' in style and can appear harsh or sparse, but they grew on us and actually work with the hotel very well.
The pool is very happening on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday, but quietened down completely on the monday. Plus the excellent breakfast buffet is only served on a weekend....
I found the staff very helpful and friendly, plus great service especially on the beach.
Overall, don't look for a quiet romantic stay here, but this is a great hotel for a buzzing break. Don't be put off by the reviews, I am a huge hotel snob.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amosuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2009

Dear Amosuk,

Thanks for being our guest and thank you also for taking the time to post this review. As you already know, we pride ourselves in offering luxurious service for the young at heart, and our unique and lively ambience sets us apart from other properties in South Beach. We hope to have you stay with us soon and to show you a great time all over again.

Best,

Darwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Visited the Shore Club with 5 girlfriends for a bachelorette weekend. From the minute we set foot on the property, we were treated so well. Frasier helped us with our bags and informed us of all the amenities in the hotel which was so helpful. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with great views of beach and downtown. We ate at Ago several times and loved it. The bar at night was also very fun. Most importantly, the pool scene was fabulous. Max, Henry and Kevin were so hospitable to us and kept the party going. Whatever we needed they were quick to help out and we felt like the only party there. Dakota and Blaine were great waiters and we loved the drinks and the food by the pool, as well. Aside from the waitstaff, we also found the other guests to be so friendly and it made the pool scene one to remember. Girls and guys having a great time and they played the best music ever! Only thing is be sure to wake up early to get prime seating, even if you've been out late the night before it is worth the waking up! We seriously cannot say enough about our stay at the Shore Club and can't wait to go back. Definitely spend your next girls' weekend there!

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
Thank ALR34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2009

Dear ALR34,

Thanks so much for choosing our property for your special festivities. I'm glad to hear that your experience was a positive one, and that you felt everyone's friendliness. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Darwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We stayed in a suite that cost $700!! The bed was uncomfortable, the floor was the same floor that is in the shower!! cold and hard! small bathroom counters, Only one bed in the suite! The valet wouldn't even help us with our bags, (4 girls, we had like ten bags)!! $50 for parking and they couldn't help us!! The white chair at the desk had mold on the legs, the entertainment center was chipped all over, no decor, it felt like a jail cell!!!! Should've stayed at the Ritz!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomjen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2009

Dear Tomjen1,

Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to post this review. I'm sorry that your overall experience was not a postive one. We hope to turn around your experience during your next stay with us; I would personally look after your stay to ensure this.

All my best,

Darwin Jose
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We loved our experience at The Shore Club. Although very expensive, you get what you pay for. The room was pristine, the service on point and best of all was the scene. This place rocks in the evenings. From Wednesday through Sunday there were events in the hotel.

We did not have to leave the hotel at all. All the entertainment was right there in our little oasis.

I would recommend a room that has ocean views. Ours was fabulous.

The only drawback is all the busboys and service people give you a bad look if you tip them less than 5 dollars. Aside from that, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank VijadoraMundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2009

Dear Viajadoramundial,

Thank you so much for being our guest and thank you also for taking the time to post this review. I'm glad to hear that your experience was a positive one. Please feel free to contact me if you need any assitance with reservations at Shore Club, or any other Morgans Hotel Group property.

Thank you again and all my best,

Darwin Jose
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I was coming from abeutiful holiday in Negril in avery nice hotel on the cliffs, nice place nice people, good food and drink, decent bills.
I found in Miami the opposite.
Very small room, almost a garage, all to be paid, including cosmetics in the bathroom.
Dirty and bad smell ambients, not polite waiters and waitresses.
One example 15 dollars for a half glass of white wine including the plastic glass for the wine, orrible.

never again. Andrea

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Anben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2009

Thanks so much for choosing Shore Club during your last visit to Miami and thank you also for taking the time to post this review. Your authentic feedback is greatly appreciated. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the challenges you experienced. Please be sure that your challenges and feedback have been shared with the rest of our management team for proper handling. Feel free to contact me directly on the Shore Club main number if you would like to discuss your stay further. We’d love to have the opportunity to wow you during your next visit to Miami.

Darwin Jose
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#49 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,585 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,542 reviews
Dream South Beach
#44 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,764 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Club South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Address: 1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $178 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Club South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by famed British architect David Chipperfield, with landscaping inspired by the rich Matisse-like palette of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, Shore Club shimmers with intrigue and sensuality. Anchored by the original polished terrazzo floor, the elegant furnishings are an eclectic mix evocative of global marketplaces—including relaxed sofas, hand-woven tribal rugs and large patterned throw pillows from Kenya that invite mixing and mingling. The vibe is lively, the atmosphere intimate, the feeling electric. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Club South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Club Hotel Miami Beach
Shore Hotel Miami Beach
The Shore Hotel
Shore Club Miami
Shore Club In Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing