We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun city and hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Ranked #55 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun city and hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was my first time staying at the shore club. The room had a breathtaking ocean view. The bathroom was quite large with a tub and separate shower. The pool area and the beach were the best part of the hotel. The pool has a dj and drink service at the pool - a must in my opinion. The beach had lounge chairs, which is very typical of Miami but rare for the west coast so I loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraM949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dearest "TamaraM949,"

What a fabulous 1st time you had with us! I am so happy you enjoyed the breathtaking ocean view from your room and the pool area. We do have a great pool bar called the Rumbar that has the most delightful mojitos, sangria, rum, etc.! Come see us again asap.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    817
    327
    207
    190
See reviews for
291
1,057
156
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having never been to Miami, we booked this hotel blind just based on the price and the site photos. It did not disappoint! The staff was so friendly and answered all our questions patiently (see: never been to Miami before). The folks manning the pool handled some very busy days with great attitudes. The pool area is large, well maintained, and the pool menu is great (if a little pricey; cocktails are pretty much $12+). We're from New York and we are picky about food, so this is a serious endorsement! The beach access is super easy too. The location on Collins Ave was very convenient and we walked to most of the local restauants we tried (Ola at the Sanctuary Hotel, Bella Cuba--best Cuban sandwich ever! Cabbed to Sardinia across town), plus had drinks at nearby swanky hotel bars (Delano, Setai) and wandered around the Lincoln Mall area. The daytime vibe at the pool was great for us, not too fancy but still upscale. The DJs on Saturday and Sunday were fun; it's "club hits" which is not my thing but didn't feel overwhelming in terms of volume. Sunday is an open-to-the-public pool party which I worried would be out of control but I'd say it was just the right amount of extra zest and good people watching. Some ladies were decidedly getting their groove on... Definitely need to get your chairs early on the weekends (like pre-9AM) and don't be the jerk who reserves a chair and then doesn't come down til 11:30! Luckily the pool staff seemed very good at playing musical chairs and keeping most everyone happy. The room itself was very modern, white box, minimal furnishings. VERY comfortable bed, good AC, and big tub. The only complaint I had, which I'm only writing here because I know they read these reviews and they might want to look into it, is the bathroom was a little run down compared to the rest of the hotel. The light gray grout had been replaced with dark gray that just looked bad, crumbling, etc. and the tub leaked during every shower so we had to leave big bath towels soaking on the floor every day. It didn't bother me but if they wanted to spruce up the bathrooms it would be nice. I will also note the EXCELLENT hair products. I am buying that Malin & Goetz cilantro conditioner for my apartment pronto. The first time I've ever been motivated to take home a hotel hair product! Let's see, what else...the hotel has a Nobu which we didn't try (we have it at home) and the other main restaurant Terrazza was very good. Then there's the pool bar and another outdoor sort of Moroccan vibe place which we liked, and the Red Room which seemed more of a "scene" and we didn't really try. Nothing really got going til late night (10PM) and although it was rockin' out by the pool our room was so quiet it was fabulous. We got great sleep, got up early, spent 7 hours a day by the pool, then got all dressed up to go out to dinner. Perfect vacation. We loved the Shore Club!

Room Tip: Our room #507 was super quiet and had like a slice of ocean view. Not sure what side it was on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dearest "Sarah K,"

Oh aren't you just the sweetest! Your review was amazing! Thank you for the lovely comments about our friendly staff and the great attitudes at the pool. Our pool scene is definitely perfect for people watching! I do apologize about your bathtub not being in perfect condition. We have spoken to the Engineering Department and they are looking into the issue. I am glad you loved our swanky Malin + Goetz products :)

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location, lots of dining options, pool, and beach. plenty of chaise lounges and comfy hideaway spots to chill. Terrazza was a wonderful spot for lunch. The boutique vibe is what the Shore Club is trying to achive --- the room decor was sparse and modern, lots of white and concrete. The white and concrete, spa tone was continued throughout the lobby as well. It was actually nice especially with the ocean view from the guestroom.

2 minor feedback items - 1) shower did not have a practical place to place my bath products while in the shower. 2) not a convenient place to plug my phone near the bed.

All in all I would recommend the Shore Club to others who want to enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dearest "Elizabeththequeen,"

Many thanks for this amazing review! We are a boutique hotel with lots of white color in the guest rooms and a chic Mexican sandstone on the floors. I am glad you enjoyed dining at our delicious Italian restaurant, Terrazza! The famous British architect David Chipperfield designed our hotel and he did not include a place to hold the bath products in our showers but that is something we are looking into! Thanks for the feedback! See you hopefully again soon.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If your looking for a good time in Miami this is the place to be. Good atmosphere, great staff and located in the middle of everything. Enjoy the pool or the beach - great scene. Simple decor but Shore Club gets to the point - having fun and that's what Miami is all about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dearest "Peter B,"

Oh you are so correct.... we do get right to the point: FUN!! Thank you. xoxo

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first trip to South Beach so it was mostly luck that took us to the Shore Club for our two day getaway. Its in the northern part of South Beach, closer to the ocean than hotels further south. Also close to Lincoln where most of the outdoor dining is located.
At the Shore Club the beach is just a few steps beyond the gate at the end of the pool. Part of the beach is firmly packed and great for walking, which we did late in the afternoon for exercise. Closer to the ocean the beach is perfect for sunning and sand castles.
Every member of the Shore Club staff was courteous and knowledgeable.
Valet service was prompt and included helpful directions for getting back to the airport.
Brunch was excellent -- good assortment of freshly baked pastries and fresh fruit, excellent sausage, perfect scrambled eggs.
We had a room that overlooked the pool and beach. Great anytime, but especially great for us because we were there near the full moon and got a dramatic view of the moon rising at sunset and reflecting off the water.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dearest "Ted356,"

Your review of Shore Club has got to be one of my favorites! Thank you for this lovely description and details of the courteous staff, knowledgeable valet, and delicious brunch. How romantic to be looking out into the full moon from your room! Hope you come back again soon... but for longer than just 2 days!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location, comfy bed, room a little small for two, but nice big bathroom and huge shower. Most of the staff are excellent, good beach service, good service by the pool, bellmen always when you need them, excellent conciege. Little pricey on the drinks, but not any different than any other SOBE hotel, fun scene at the pool, beautiful gardens, quiet spots for drinks. Diverse crowd, couples, youngsters, families (a few).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denimgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dearest "Denimgirl,"

You summed up so many of our fabulous things we offer at Shore Club! Thank you for the lovely compliments. Hurry back soon!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We staid at the Shore Club for a week. We rented a bangalo and it was great! We found wine and fruit in the room to welcome us and everything was very clean and tidy.
Plenty of towels, slippers and bathroom facilities.
The bed was very comfy, the room was cleaned every day and the pool towels provided with the room were changed every day.
Sunbeds around the pool and on the beach were comfy and the staff was always nice.
Would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girasoliverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dearest "Elisa S,"

WOW is all I can say... I can't think of anything better than to be sipping on some delicious wine and fruit while lounging in our poolside Bungalows!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#27 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,891 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#32 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#33 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Club South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Property: Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Address: 1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1911
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Club South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by famed British architect David Chipperfield, with landscaping inspired by the rich Matisse-like palette of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, Shore Club shimmers with intrigue and sensuality. Anchored by the original polished terrazzo floor, the elegant furnishings are an eclectic mix evocative of global marketplaces—including relaxed sofas, hand-woven tribal rugs and large patterned throw pillows from Kenya that invite mixing and mingling. The vibe is lively, the atmosphere intimate, the feeling electric. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Club South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Club Hotel Miami Beach
Shore Hotel Miami Beach
The Shore Hotel
Shore Club Miami
Shore Club In Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing