We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach, affordable price”
Review of Collins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Collins Hotel
Ranked #101 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel has its own parking lot which is very affordable compared to the other parking in the area. The rooms are clean. The hotel is affordable and close to the beach. The negatives are: noisy corridors (tiles) and curtains do not hold the light out completely (as well as the door).

Good breakfast opportunities in the area.

Room Tip: swimming pool side has balconies, the other ones not.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foort D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Collins Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 968 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Despite the several bad reviews written about this hotel, this hotel was quite comfortable. On the exterior, the hotel could use some polishing. Your initial viewing of the outside of the hotel may lead you to think the hotel is a dump, but once you enter the lobby area and see the rooms, you'll see that the hotel is quite nice. Me and my fiance found the hotel to be very clean and it was very close to restaurants, bars, the beach, Walgreens, etc.. There is wi-fi but you have to ask for the password from the front desk. The maid cleaned our room everyday and supplied fresh towels. There is a small pool, but we didn't swim in it. The front desk personnel are very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area if you have any questions. The room we had was a premium king room and it was kind of small but the cleanliness made up for it. The room had a refrigerator that turned out to be very sufficient. The AC was great. The supply of hot water varied - during the evening and early morning, there was hot water but during the afternoon, the water was cold. The only noise we heard was the occasional door slamming from other people rooms, but if you have the AC on, that noise will be drowned out. Finally, the king size bed was absolutely amazing! Felt like one of those pillow-top mattresses.. I had some outstanding sleep. Oh and the rooms does not come with microwaves and irons. There is one iron that floats around from room to room - you'll have to check with the front desk. One downside is that in the room we had, the door didn't have a peep-hole. If someone knocked on our door, there was no way to see who it was knocking! Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again because it was clean, had a knowledgeable staff that spoke more than one language, and it was close to a lot of bars, shops, and restaurants, and the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This cute hotel has clean new remodeled room. Recommend taking a bus to South Beach only $2; Cab cost around $20. This hotel is located across the street from the beach and has coffee/bars/grocery store near by. Friendly staff (:

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ahuva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Horrible hotel. We left the room on time and neatly as possible. upon checkout, they informed us that everything is fine..however, weeks later, I received a charge for dirty towels. Great. towels are used to clean and be cleaned. The rooms were small and the service is unsatisfactory. They staff is very rude. Ive called several times to take care of this manner. The manager is there when she wants, yells, hangs up, and lies. First it was a late fee, now dirty towels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Bry' J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Upon entering the room, they had a view of the back alley. Nice! The flooring looked fine but it is not carpeted any where so whenever anyone moves a chair or goes down the corridor with a case it makes a lot of noise.

The shower wouldn't drain. When the guy came to the room, he barely spoke english. He eventually got out that there was no maintenance on duty and they would be unable to fix. Then the toilet wouldn't flush. We were informed the same thing. We were moved to another room and in that one the sink wouldn't drain very well so there is trouble with their pipes.

My girlfriend wasn't happy that there was only one mirror in the whole room which was in the bathroom. While the rooms are decent size, it takes longer to get ready with no second mirror.

The customer service was poor. One of the night staff was pretty good but other than that it was poor. We weren't asked on check out how our stay was. I wonder why?

In comparison, we stayed in Orlando for half the price. The place had a restraunt, gym, and jacuzzi. This place had none of that and the customer service was far superior. Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We where there for 6 nights, early in the morning there was always multiple noise coming either from a big construction in the front, either from the maids cleaning the corridor...simple the windows aren't noise tight!
The rest was simple but functional. Personal not caring

Room Tip: No way, pr you are an early bird, or let it be...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marinak6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Collins Hotel 8 days while on vacation. 10/16-10/24 Hotel was very clean, modern and the staff was very nice and helpfull. We ask for two extra bath towles and the housekeeping had no problem giving us extra towles.

I Would recomemnd this hotel to anyone who wants a nice and clean hotel.

My final coment is to the staff at the Collins Hotel is "Keep up the good work"

Ralph

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. It's worth it. Also avoid getting the rooms that are in the ba...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#109 of 210 in Miami Beach
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#94 of 210 in Miami Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#95 of 210 in Miami Beach
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#148 of 210 in Miami Beach
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Hotel

Address: 6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4697 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $90 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Collins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Collins Hotel was officially opened to the public in August of 2011 after undergoing a 12 month renovation. Collins Hotel offers visitors to Miami Beach a modern hotel room with contemporary decoration, where everything is brand new. Enjoy plush beds, flat screen plasma TVs and high speed wireless internet, all at an affordable price. Located on Collins Avenue between 66th and 67th streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing