We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Delano visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
maimi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Delano visit”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Booked my trip into Miami last moment, stayed at the Delano hotel, Room Rate was pretty high but with everything that was going on in the city that weekend i figured i could swing it. Checked in to a smaller room, the room was very clean. on arrival i found a nice amenity and a card from the General Manager welcoming back to the property along with a can of Red Bull, i guess his way have saying that i was going to need lots of energy for this long super bowl weekend! Went to lunch at the poolside restaurant and quckly noticed that every other table it seemed was filled with a very noticeable face. A ROD of the Yanks was sitting at one table, Stwarded Scott from ESPN was at another table Keson Johnson was at another, on and on it went. with the who's who of fashion and sport all gathered at the Delano, later that night in the Florida Room, the hotels club i was to see Robin Thick, Queen Latifah, WyClif preform, the next day Snoop Dog took the stage at 3am and preformed for close to an hour. The next day the Red bull really came in handy.
Oh I guess that i should tell you that the drinks are very expense $17 for one drink, a bit much even by south beach standards. But the staff is friendly and the service was good.

Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lscott5191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2010
Thanks for your visit and your feedback. I hope you will come back soon (we have plenty of Red Bull!). Let me know if I can help with anything.

All the best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    596
    249
    155
    126
See reviews for
289
1,065
139
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2010

After hearing about this place we decided to book it with a few friends not knowing what to expect. As we arrived from snowy NY we started to feel the Miami heat on us and when we arrived at the Delano's, well we were surprised at first. We got in at about 9pm and the party was on. In the reception area, at the lobby bar, going down to the pool bar ... it was a trend spotter. This is by far a great place for friends, young couples or people looking for some entertainment on the holidays. Price is normal for this kind of service and we already miss the hand massages by the pool.

Hope to go there soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2010
Thanks for this review! We are waiting for you to come back.

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed there for a weekend early January. I know Delano is a pioneer on "minimal design style" but I think it is time to renovate the rooms. Also it makes you feel that you are on a showroom, because everything is priced.
Plus my room had no Bose iPod dockstation and no bathrobes (thought room service will noticed that, but no).
But the real disappointment is the bathroom: REALLY tiny for a hotel of such class.
On the other hand staff is very friendly and helpful.
Oh, and charging the for the internet access is ridiculous!
My advise: choose the Gansevoort few block away for a huge room and bathroom, at the same price as Delano.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2010
I’m glad you had a great experience with our staff—they really are the differentiating factor which sets us apart from the rest of the hotels on the beach. Yes, there are larger bathrooms available, but you will not find a friendlier and more fun staff in Miami.

I’m sorry about the missing Bose iPod station and bathrobes—obvious oversites. I hope that you made us aware so that we could immediately resolve that issue.

Kind regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

If you would like to party with the cast of The Hills this is probably the place for you. Front desk staff were very nice but bar and beach staff were not so good. Nice touch in the room of a AN APPLE A DAY...however this turned into AN APPLE A STAY.

The whole experience of the hotel is like staying in a posh fridge..cold and very very white(white shows up the dirty so be ready)

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Thank you for your review. We're sorry that it seems like we're not the Miami hotel for you.

All the best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

My experience was AWFUL. We had a dirty room, barely a view of the beach in a “dlx ocean view” room, a hot mini bar fridge, terrible housekeepers, and managers who do not care. A Holiday Inn would have given better service, no kidding. We paid nearly $1200 a night and had to beg for clean towels, lotion and a clean room. The manager, Jose Noriega, said he would take care of it, but we had worse service after he talked to the housekeepers. I am certain any other hotel in Miami would be better. Maybe they were having a bad week, but I wouldn’t risk $1200 a night on those odds.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2010
We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience and want you to know we have addressed the matter.

Kind regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Beautiful hotel. Very nice rooms. Great service by the concierge. Excellent food and really fun bar. Pool staff was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2travel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2010
Now this is what we're talking about! I'm glad you "get it" and hope to see you again very soon.

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I was really looking forward to this hotel as it was recommended to me and the reviews were fairly good. We booked through American Express and got a room upgrade on arrival. The room was an ocean front room and the views were good (not great - as there is a large wall to one side from the adjacent hotel and a large concrete open space to the other side. I was grateful to American Express that Wi-fi was included as I had read on other reviews that it was an un-necessary $15 per day cost that people felt should be included (especially with the high cost of the room). One ting that I wasn't told about at check-in was that they charge $37 plus Tax PER DAY for Valet Parking. (There is a car-park a few hundred feet away in the same road where they chage $15 per day).

The bedroom was small but the bathroom was TINY! - only room for a shower cubicle. It was fairly modern but nothing special - certainly not what is expected for the price.

Continental breakfast (normally $26 per person) was included with our room. I have never been so insulted by their offer of food available - it was extremely basic and certainly not worth paying extra for.

The weather was disappointingly cold for the time of year (60 degrees daytime max on most days). This was obviously not the hotel's fault but there were things that could have been done by the management. For example the air conditioning was full on and it doesnt' take a genius to work out that this should have been changed to heating. I felt sorry for the staff as many were complaining to me. Everyone was wearing jumpers and coats. The main breakfast area was outside!!!! Gas heaters were used and made this area a fraction warmer than the air-conditioned inside seating area. Due to the cold weather we could not sit around the pool but it was noticeable that some seats were reserved despite the cold. This isnot a hotel to stay at if the weather is cold.

The large open plan lobby area is uninviting during the day but comes alive at night for the clubbers.

This may be an exclusive chic hotel but I feel that they cater and care more for the nightclubbers than the paying guests. This is in my opinion to keep up appearances to the outside world.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2010
Thank you for your recent visit and this review. I regret that your expectations were not met. Over the past 14 years our clientele, largely repeat, have come to appreciate the discreet escape provided by the minimalist design and exclusive setting. Perhaps you will give us another try in warmer weather? Let me know if I can assist in any way.

All the best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,059 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,519 reviews
SLS South Beach
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,534 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,533 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing