We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #43 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
“Elegant brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have dined at this hotel three or four times over the last several years and I have been very pleased each time. My last visit was Sunday, March 30. We enjoyed brunch on the outdoor patio of the hotel restaurant, Bianco. Our Server, Juan, was excellent. Also one of the managers stopped by our table to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. I will definitely return again during my next trip to South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    572
    232
    150
    121
See reviews for
273
1,014
133
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My friend and I were staying in Ft. Lauderdale and took a drive down to South Beach because my friend had been to the Delano on a previous trip. Having a martini at the fancy little table in the pool, checking out all the quirky/eclectic pieces of furniture, and wandering around seeing the "Living Room" lamp shades and chess game in the gardens made for an interesting and fun evening. Would definitely go back - hopefully for more than just a drink next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Delano while on business, and it is a gorgeous, scenic hotel. However, the rooms are small for the price and when I requested a small makeup mirror (hard to put on eye makeup with glasses off if you can't see the bathroom mirror), it never showed up. I had called ahead of time and asked again at check in, was assured it was on the way right then but again, it never arrived. The rooms are very very white so any speck of dirt is immediately apparent. Food is just OK, but room toiletries are top notch and the pool area is stunning. I'd like to experience the hotel as a vacationer as opposed to a business traveler, as I think my opinion would be more favorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francie413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear francie413,
Thank you for your review. Please allow me to apologize about the make-up mirror snafu, it is completely unacceptable and should not have transpired the way it did. This is not a frequent request so I am confident I can find out the reasoning for you not receiving the mirror. I am sorry that you felt the food was just OK. I would like to know why you felt this way about the food, so that I may bring to the attention of my Food and Beverage director. I would also like to extend my services to you; whenever you would like to return please do not hesitate to reach out to me. You may contact me at Dwight.Palacious@mhgc.com
Kindest regards,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed at the Delano for a few days in Miami.
Good location if you need to stay in South Beach.
Most hotels in Sobe are older and rooms are on the small side. One thing that was annoying is the noise from the street below...very difficult to sleep with all the horns honking. The windows don't do anything to dampen sound and it's very loud.
Next time I'll stay in mid-beach and drive into South Beach if necessary.
Having said that, this hotel has Excellent service from all of it's staff.
The pool area was paradise and they made the best Mojito I've ever had anywhere!
The staff works hard to maintain the cleanliness of the hotel and everyone is friendly and there to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
If I had to stay in Sobe again I would consider the Delano, but would choose a room facing the ocean instead, only to get a better night's sleep (although the bed was definitely comfortable).

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank figs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear figs7777,
Thank you for submitting your review. I am happy to read that you did enjoy your overall Delano experience. I know you mentioned noise coming from the street and that it was a disruption for you. I invite you to contact me directly at Dwight.Palacious@mhgc.com when you are interested in returning. I am happy to go over rooming options with you to ensure you get the most accommodating room during your next stay. I look forward to hearing from you.
All the best,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I just spent four nights (4/2-4/6) at the Delano in a loft suite and never wanted to leave. The entire stay was perfect. Dwight Palacious handled our reservation and truly made us feel welcomed and appreciated. He's great at his job as the "Guest Experience manager." The other three people that stood out to us were JC (front door), Marco (pool) and Oscar (beach.) All of these people remembered us by name and went out of their way to make sure we were having a great time.
We've stayed at other hotels in Sobe such as the W and Ritz. They're all very nice. The difference with the Delano is that the staff is much more personable. It's not a small hotel, but it has a small hotel feel.
Everything about this place is cool. The lobby, the rooms (albeit, some have small footprints,) the outdoor areas, etc. all look like they're out of a movie set. We're wound pretty tightly and by the second day, we couldn't tell what time it was at any particular time of day because we were so relaxed.
If you want to impress the person you're with, this is the place I would recommend above all other hotels in Sobe. And as a final suggestion, remember, the people that work here aren't robots nor is the Delano a 'not for profit.' While they all seem to like their jobs, they are there to make a living. Therefore, be polite and respectful to the staff and tip well, and I assure you that they will be appreciative and reciprocate tenfold. At least that was our experience.

Room Tip: Loft suites are very nice, that's what we've had our last two visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joandsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear joandsh,
Thank you for submitting your review and for mentioning all the staff members that helped create your memorable experience. You completely hit the nail on the head; what really separates us from other hotels in South Beach is our staff. We have some of the most talented, considerate, and passionate people around. I will be sure to forward your kind words to those you mentioned. It was truly a pleasure to have you and please do not hesitate to reach out to me for anything. I look forward to welcoming you back!
Warmest regards,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We booked two rooms at the Epic Hotel in Downtown Miami, mistakenly assuming that we'd be close to the Miami Boat Show. The Epic was nice and new, but in a very noisy and cramped location (it's a nightmare trying to drive in and out of that hotel), and glitzy rather than classy. We didn't care for it. Once we discovered that the Boat Show took place mostly in Miami Beach, we decided to move there for our last night in town, and chose the Delano. It's an older hotel, the rooms are small, utterly charmless, and overpriced...but we liked it. Great location near both the beach and the shops, the crowd was lively and colorful, Sunday Brunch at the hotel's Bianca Restaurant was superb (many thanks to Claudia, our attentive and charming waitress...), and the pool scene was...interesting. I don't pretend to know South Beach well, and there may well be better hotels in the area, but we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I have been wanting to visit South Beach and being the trip planner he is, he decided on the Delano. The biggest problem was that they did not inform us that it was the week of the Winter DJ Festival. Obviously, we could have gone another time if we had known. Continuous hi tech beat that reverberated your very chair, and so loud you had to yell to hear each other. It never stopped. I'm sure that had a lot to do with our experience. The room was very nice with a balcony, a suite. So from there it went down hill. Out to the pool which required us to check in and show our room card so we could be given our security wrist band. That was a good thing to keep other non paying guests from coming in. However, we had just ordered our drinks and some dip and chips from a delightful waitress, Julie, who was great, BUT was then asked at 4pm to get up from our chaise, by a pool boy, so he could make up our chairs into a bed for a private party that wouldn't start until 7pm. We asked if they could wait until a little later because we weren't going to be there too much longer. It turned into a fiasco!! Another pool boy came over and started asking us for our name and room number. Our wrist band wasn't enough! That was it. We asked for a manager but she was no help. So we left there to find a place to eat because the hotel told us at check in the restaurant closed at 4pm and opened again at 7pm. After walking up the beach walk we went back to our hotel to have a burger at a stand they had set up for the guests. We then noticed people were eating in the restaurant!! Misinformed all the way. So we ate and had a very nice meal and the service was great. The waiter informed us this week the restaurant would be open everyday. After dinner we changed our plane reservations and flew home early the next morning. What a waste. BTW, we checked other hotels and they had the festival on their website.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi048Houston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear mimi048Houston_Texas,
Thank you for your review. Please allow to apologize that your stay did not go over as well as it should have and that you were not informed of the music event that occurred during your stay. I can surely sympathize with you that had you been informed beforehand you could have changed your travel plans to a more suitable date. While it is apparent you experience d several inconsistencies during your, this is not typical of Delano or it’s service. We pride ourselves on creating lasting impressions and forging everlasting bonds with our guests. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity of having you stay with us again; I will it my personal goal to completely change your impression of Delano for the best. I invite you to contact me directly at Dwight.Palacious@mhgc.com when you are planning to return and I will set up your accommodations.
Kind regards,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#35 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#65 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing