We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Delano” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Delano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Cool hotel with lively bar scene. Location along the beach is ideally located. Rooms are all white and very peaceful feeling. If you have trouble sleeping then the city view is not for you. Had a great massage in the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms with city view were a little noisy with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    567
    233
    149
    120
See reviews for
271
1,007
132
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have been guest of the Delano 6 or 7 times since 2001 and will continue to visit the Delano for years to come. Even though the hotel is showing it's age and the rooms need renovation we stay at the Delano because of the people who work there. We love it when people remember our faces and once reminded of our names they don't forget. I'd like to mention how wonderful the following people are: Pool: Soledad, Roberto, Mariano, Diego, and the beautiful and always smiling Julie & Laurie. Rose bar: Sanchez and Front Desk: Jose. We are always greeted with a smile from Jean-Claude (JC) too. Everyone we meet genuinely appears to want to be there to make our vacation the most enjoyable. They care. My number one thanks goes to Lee Greenspan for always responding to my e-mails quickly and listening to our requirements and booking our arrangements. Again a big thank you to Lee. We are looking forward to visiting again next year. Regards, Gerry & Jo

Room Tip: Rooms are cool but expect the bathrooms and closets to be small. This latest stay we did have a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperGMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Gerry and Jo,
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review and for all the positives you mentioned. The staff here is definitely our number one asset, and they are among some of the best in Miami Beach. I want to also thank you for your continued loyalty over the years. I know Lee is your go to guy, but please consider me your ally at Delano as well. Please feel free to reach out to me for whatever you may need, I’m always happy to help.
Warm regards,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

A few key points:

- Rooms are "European" sized - i.e., much tighter than your typical American hotel rooms. If you get a double, you're getting two twin beds
- Hanging out at the pool area feels like being at a nightclub in the daytime. Think models, bottles, and loud music. If you're into that, you will love it
- You can hear the club from the bedrooms, so if you're planning to get restful sleep, don't count on it
- While the service on premise was great, it has been nearly impossible to reach the hotel since my departure. I'm trying to get an itemized receipt of my room charges for expenses and the reps on the phone have been both rude and dismissive. I'm not expecting to get this receipt.

Room Tip: If you face away from the ocean (and club), you might have a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Jasmine88888,
I am glad you enjoyed your overall experience. I am sorry you have not been able to get a copy of your receipt. I would be more than happy to assist you with this and invite you contact me directly at Dwight.Palacious@mhgc.com. I would also be happy to assist you in any future accommodations with us. Thank you for your positive review!
Kind regards,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

One of the most famous hotel of the world, is still a very good choice in Miami. There is not so many things to say on Delano, service, rooms and food are perfect. Actually is not my first choice in Miami, for the hight rate, but if you have a change to get some special package or deal, don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverstroveronesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello Steve V,
Thank you for your review. It is very uplifting to read positive guest experiences and I am happy yours was nothing short of perfect. Please feel free to reach out to me directly whenever you interested in returning. It would be my pleasure to personally handle your reservation.
All the best,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I have many reasons to call the Delano our Miami home...Its not only about the Hotel , its such an outstanding experience… We love to call it 'The Delano Experience"... !
From the day you walk in ,,until the day you walk out, they make you feel like home . (we live in Brazil)
It has been two years since we stayed there for the first time , it was our 10th anniversary. So cool we don't even consider staying anywhere else anymore. it was love at first sight .
The Delano just gets better every time…I make sure to drop some lines here on Trip Advisor.
It turned out to be that any special occasion is an excuse for us to stay there now..This October was our sixth time ( please, consider I have a sister who lives in Miami )
You cannot compare The Delano to any other hotel in Miami. ( trust me on this one…i've already stayed at the W , SLS, Mandarin Oriental, Setai , National….etc,.. The DELANO beats them all..)
The service is impeccable. Everybody is so kind and friendly.
Special thanks to the wonderful reception crew and the managers : Lee & Dwight , Stacey - ,Sheerley and Natalie .
The rooms are just perfect.!!! Wonderful nights of sleep , bed and shower are great. Everything is so clean and smells so good (WOW,the whole hotel smells amazingly good) special thanks to the cleaning ladies who took care of my sister when she had kidneys pain, God bless you. Not enough words to express how grateful I am to the team.
The Delano has the best Pool in South Beach by far…the whole pool staff is definitely A- plus: Soledade ( tks sweetie), Julie ( my girl), Bennito (brazilian) , Solomon, David , Mariano, Haley Diego,. Jeremy and the other tattoo guy from the bar became my husband's buddies.
Breakfast at Bianca is a must-have. Brunch on Sunday is a blast.FDR is my sister's favorite club.
I am already planning our next trip… see you soon guys
Alexandra & Rodolfo

Room Tip: Ocean fronts and Ocean views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandra horn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Alexandra,
Thank you for your glowing and motivating review. I will be sure to forward your kind comments to all the staff mentioned. It was great having you and Rodolfo with us. Both of you are part of our family and I can’t wait until to welcome you back in the near future. Please be sure to reach out to me when you have your dates set!
Warmest regards,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've lived in South Beach for 11 years. Over the last 2 years it has been great to see the Delano revived to it's early glory. The place has by far the best vide on the beach. The staff running the pool and the beach get it. If possible definitely make this part of your visit to South Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichSBfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've stayed at the Delano a few times before. And there was nothing about my latest visit that makes me want to consider anywhere else in South Beach! The Delano wins me over with its combination of style, service and of course, location.

Checking in and checking out was smooth. My room had a nice ocean view and was clean and comfortable. The beach area is very nice, but I prefer the pool area - it's a wonderful place to relax. Thanks to Marco, Diego, P.J. and Nick (to name a few) for the outstanding service - they are just a few of the reasons why I keep coming back.

The food was excellent. Besides the tasty pool menu options, I had an delicious salmon entree at Bianca for dinner. Looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your moving review and for returning JonB27. I will pass along your comments to everyone you mentioned. It is very pleasing to read this. It greatly helps in keeping our staff motivated to continue delivering the experience you have come appreciate. Thank you for making Delano your “favorite” and I invite you to contact me directly at Dwight.Palacious@mhgc.com the next time you wish to come back. I look forward to hearing from you.
All the best,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#38 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
SLS South Beach
#36 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#19 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,220 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#30 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing