We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Was Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #43 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Delano for 3 days. The reason that we weren't expressed was that we were expecting so much probably. Well, the location is fantastic but bathroom was really small and gritty and staff wasn't so helpful as well but overall was OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello Oscar,

I'm sorry to see that Delano didn't quite meet your expectations. We do have several different room categories and many of them hve a much larger bathroom than the standard rooms.
Our staff is our livlihood here and I'm surprised to see that you found them rude or unhelpful. It is a rare occasion that we see something like this so we take it very seriously. I would like to know more about this. If you don't mind, please reach out to me personally so we can discuss and I can address appropriately. You can reach me at lee.greenspan@mhgc.com.

I'm looking forward to speaking with you.

Many Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    548
    223
    144
    117
See reviews for
248
970
129
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the pool bungalows for 4 days...

Pros - Nice bungalow, very spacious, fun...
- great fun spotting the posers and plastic surgery disasters at the pool (which we found novel in a good way - the pool, I mean...)
- loved (loved!) the sushi bar - super attentive and very sweet waitresses. I regret not remembering the name of the lady who served us the 3 nights we went there as I would have praised her by name in this review.
- Generally friendly staff.

Cons
- room cleanliness - average but if you are going to have all white decor, must be absolutely pristine in a way that simply isn't possible in a hotel room, I'm afraid... Was good enough though.
- the Shop Box is a bit "ick". But useful for putting one's laptop on to watch DVDs in bed I suppose...
- noise - whilst the double-glazing is pretty good (as it needs to be given that there is a DJ playing outside not far from the bungalows) you could still hear/feel! the base until the bar shut at 1am each night...

We didn't mind the cons too much as we kind of knew that that was what we would be getting when we booked here (our first choice hotel was being refurbished, so decided to come here instead).

Don't come here with young children or light sleepers though, whatever you do!!!

We're not great party people but decided to go with it and "bought in" for the few days we were there... you kind of have to!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped by with some friends early evening for drinks by the pool. The property is absolutely beautiful and worth a look! Michele at the poolside bar was very accommodating. We were going to have a glass of wine but ended up getting a bottle. Rather pricey for what it was, but "when on vacation"...He set is up on a sofa by the pool and told us we could get in the water. (They also have tables and chairs in the shallow end (about 6 inches deep) - very cool! After over an hour of lounging poolside and sitting in the water, a hotel manager came and told us to "get out" that there was no swimming after dark. If we had been told that beforehand, we would certainly have obliged. He was very rude. Thank goodness we were staying at the Surfcomber Resort & Spa next door (a Kimpton Hotel) that has a pool open twenty-four hours a day and friendly, welcoming staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello JJ,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to see that, for the most part, you had a very enjoyable experience at Delano. I will certainly pass this along to Michele at the pool.
Regarding the manager that asked you to get out of the pool; I apologize that this was a bad experience for you. Managers should always be gracious with guests and visitors alike. Often times we have to enforce hotel policy and rules, but there always a way to avoid being confrontational. I will address this and ensure that my team here is aware of the importance of politeness and patience in any situation.

All The Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Delano Hotel in South Beach at least two times a year for the past six years in fact it is an amazing hotel that offers first-class service to everybody in addition to that celebrities are abound they have a great brunch in a room that transforms at night to a great romanic atmosphere Complete with a pool table and bar the rooms are nice there painted a pastel green and white and if you get rooms in the 07 they have a bench by the window which is very neat to snuggle up

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smwracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

So what else can I say other then when I need to get away and find some sanity and sense in life...the only place I even think about is The Delano in South Beach. I have been going for several years and it never gets old...in fact it gets better! From the same friendly faces at he door when you arrive, to the team at the desk, Lee, Dwight and Sheerley, if you aren't a star they will make you feel like one! The rooms, the feel even the scent of the hotel is Unique! Steven and the entire staff go above and beyond to make the Hotel the best in all of SoBe! The staff at the pool...Soledad, Solomon and the ladies of the pool especially Julie and Anna are friendly familiar faces who go above and beyond to make your experience THE BEST. The food is so good a rarely leave the hotel except for dinner. Don't forget to venture upstairs to the Penthouse to Club Essentia and see Dr. Ivan for an IV along with a massage! The coolest spa you will ever find I promise you! I travel for business and 5 star hotels are my realm....but no place else compares to The Delano!

Room Tip: Either Ocean or city view is spectacular....best bet is a bungalow at the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petefromjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights over a weekend. Sunday there's a pool party that starts around 3 pm. The pool lounges are reserved for hotel guests. Get there early, by 1 pm to get your spot. It gets very crowded after that. The hotel hired a mermaid to swim in the pool. Many beautiful locals arrive after 3 pm and hangout in the pool. Bottles of Champagne being consumed and great music by DJ. The party goes on til 8 pm. Highly recommend to stay here for Sunday. The rest of the week was ok. Trendy and diverse clientele of all ages. We had the ocean view room but a bit small. Location cannot be beat. Right next to SLS, where my 2 most favorite restaurants are. The Bazaar by Jose Andre and Katsuya. 5 minutes walk to Lincoln Road. Would stay here again in November.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went down to the Delano for a Labor Day getaway, traveling alone. There was no reason for any concern. From the moment I arrived (actually, before as I spoke with a concierge before arrival), everything was perfect and I felt very taken care of. Check in was easy, my room was beautiful. The staff around the pool couldn't have been more attentive. I had breakfast a number of times in the restaurant and lunch around the pool. Prices are perhaps a little high (not inconsistent with a hotel of this caliber, however), but everything was fresh and delicious (and portions generous). And service delivery was always smiling, alway by name, all preferences were remembered. Staff keeps the pool area very clean, even though it's busy with a lot of turnover (even during the very well-attended Sunday party). I had a little problem in my room and it was addressed immediately - no waiting. I can't say enough about my Delano experience. I came down tense and exhausted and left with a smile and very relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Risa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
SLS South Beach
#33 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#44 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing