We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best caipiroskas in town - arturo simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #41 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we have been there for a week in august 2013. great service, friendly services but yes the breakfast has nothing to do with the rest....a little on the poor side. positive things are the restaurants - best pizza sushi in the world, great pool and beach service. concierge was very helpful and friendly. the 2 tips that he gave us were very good, specially hakkasan - he was so kind that called the manager of hakkassan (wich was his friend) and recommend us...stylish.
to finish, the best caipiroskas in the world are made in the bar by ARTURO... we have been afterwards in Brazil and not even there they were as smooth and full of flavour.
downside - just a small issue regarding transfers...

Room Tip: higher floors should be a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,772 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is amazing. From the time you pull up to the old outside pretty white clean freshly painted exterior decor seeing the proper and perfectly trimmed greenery to the valet greeting inside of a "hamptons" style alleyway you get a "this place has both class and style" feeling. I travel around the US and world quite a bit and could tell the operation of the hotel team was dead on. Our room was amazing with rich marble baths a breathtaking view and love the everything white look. One of my favorite things was the smell in the lobby and pool scene. The poolside massage, bungalow opp and rose bar all make you feel extra specially treated. This hotel will always be on my recommendation list and most certainly knows what they're doing here to make the guests happy, want to come back and at the top in the hotel business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lori at the pool was amazing, very attentive and personable! The tuna tartar is the best and always get a frozen fruits plate! The Delano remains the best hotel on the beach, great people, awesome property and excellent food. We will always come back...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiburonMako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Room had stains everywhere. Trash from former guests was in the cabinet where tv is kept. White furniture had lipstick stains all over. There was sand in my bed. This hotel is definately a good location but isn't very clean.

Not worth the money. Would never stay here agin.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiGi_P01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and in general our stay was very good. Th hotel is in a perfect location for the beach and the shopping area. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are nice with a very small bathroom. My only issue is with the description of the rooms - we booked an ocean view room and we were given a room on the 7th floor from where you could just about see the ocean but the view was more if the scaffolding on the adjacent building . We moved to the 11th floor which gave you a much better view of the sea.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room on a the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

F D,

Thank you for the great review! I'm certainly glad to hear that all went very well and that our staff and service were above expectations. I apologize that you weren't happy with the 1st room that you were given. For the future, the Ocean View rooms on our website are rooms that face the North and East and are below the 8th floor. The room that you were ultimately moved to, on the 11th floor is also an Ocean View room, except that one is classified as "deluxe" meaning that it's above the 8th floor. In the future, please feel free to reach out to me personally. I'm happy to book you in a room that best suites your expectations. lee.greenspan@mhgc.com

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

All The Best,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

stayed here from a wed to sunday . Smells likea dungeon a soon as you get in the lobby .Had booked room for 2 adults ad 2 children 13 and 12, intially gave a room which had toddler looking beds with no space for luggage , a tiny bathroom with the smallest zink ever after spending 429 dollar per night . no coffe machine, no water to drink . you had to pay 5 dollar if had to buy a water bottle from the hotel. They have all these odd looking furniture in the lobby that no one can use as it is not comfortable sitting at all . The pool looks okay , but you have to be there early so get a seat at the side of the pool . the pool bar forget abou it , small tiny place . no towels at the beach as its is always used up . you will have to pay extra for the umbrella, they will give you only 2 beach chairs for 4 guest. Cost of virgin pinnacoolada 12 dollars , buffalo wings count of 8-10 24 dollars and so on . i would recommend going to Ritz carlton which is next door and get a better service and better room for cheaper rate , very next to the beach .

Room Tip: if you are smart , donot book in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MSA1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

MSA 1998,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It sounds as if Delano wasn't consistent with the type of hotel that you're used to. I can appreciate that... with the wide scope of guests that we cater to, occasionally, we're off the mark with what is expected. Delano is a boutique hotel, in addition to just being a boutique hotel, Delano sets the standard for all boutique hotels. Our rate is consistent with all hotels in our market and the product that we offer is of a quality that allows us to justify the cost.
As far as the smell in the lobby. I wish I could give you a good answer on that front. Usually when a guest mentions the smell in our lobby, they are asking where they can purchase it and what the fragrance actually is. We take great care to ensure that our lobby not only smells clean, but we also have a signature scent that has become wildly popular among our guests. I'm sorry you weren't able to experience that.
Our pool is our draw. The pool area is definitely the most popular venue at Delano and I have to agree with you, our guests do come down quite early to get the best seats. We work very hard to make everyone happy and we also understand that some guests just aren't able to make it down early. Between the pool and beach, we are always able to accommodate everyone.

I'm happy to take care of arranging your next stay should your travels bring you back to Miami. Delano is loyal to it's brand and we do have complete confidence in our product, however, if we miss the mark the first time around, we'll be the first to make amends and tailor a stay specific to any of our guests needs and expectations. I'm glad to do the same for you. You can always reach me at lee.greenspan@mhgc.com.

Many Thanks,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'm not sure where to start - I will just say that service is an absolute priority at this hotel, and they make everyone feel like they are a VIP.

First off, Lee was amazing helping set up our trip. Not only did he provide a great rate, but we were pleasantly surprised to find an upgrade as well. The most painless hotel reservation I have ever made, and everything was just as we expected when we arrived. Thanks Lee!

As for the property, the hotel stays true to the botique model in South Beach, but does it with a modern twist and attention to detail. We arrived just a tad early, but the team got us into our rooms without much of a wait at all. When we arrived, our bags were handled by a one attendant, while another opened the door for us, and yet another greeted us and welcomed us before we ever made it to the front desk. There are beautiful, kind people everywhere you look.

The room was exceptionally clean (think white, VERY white) - and the view from the front Ocean View was AMAZING. The hotel grounds are well kept, and there are plenty of places to relax, read, or visit with friends.

I agree with everyone that the pool is amazing, but be warned that a crowd hits the pool. they hit it early, and despite everyones best effort - once noon hits the attendants just can't keep up with the demand. It is beautiful, and filled with beautiful people - but it wasn't our "scene" (loud music, very crowded).

No worries though, we just walked out the back gate and onto the beach. If you want to go the relaxing peaceful route, walk past the pool and enjoy the beach. The guys helping are amazing and attentive. The lounge chairs are complimentary and they set them up for you. The umbrellas cost $25 to rent, but it's worth it if you plan on staying a while. You can also reserve lounge beds that are pretty cool. The Delano "area" on the beach is well maintained, kept clean, and chairs are spaced enough for a little privacy. Also, the crowd walking up and down the beach don't wander through this area. I know many will choose the pool, but we spent hours every day on the beach and had a wonderful time.

One more "shout out" to the hotel staff. Since we had a late flight, we weren't sure how we would be able to spend the day at the beach and still clean up. The hotel was VERY accomodating allowing us to check out late -- which made our last day much better than it would have been.

Yes, it's expensive. I debated long and hard over whether it would be worth it. In the end, we absolutely made the right choice. Next time we return, I won't spend 5 minutes planning -- just an email to the Delano.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

James,

Thank you very much for the excellent review! It was a pleasure to have you and I couldn't be happier that you had a great time. It sounds like you experienced the best that we have to offer here. I'm sorry that the pool scene didn't exactly fit your ideal environment but I'm glad to hear that the beach offered what you were looking for.
Of course moving forward, I'm happy to handle everything for you. Please always feel free to reach out to me personally. I'm happy to arrange everything for you.

We'll look forward to having you back as soon as possible!

All The Best,


Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
SLS South Beach
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,263 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#48 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,144 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,555 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,726 reviews
The Setai
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $337 - $1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing