We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #41 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant getaway”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Delano from a Sunday to Tuesday. The Delano is a lovely hotel with nice clean rooms. The price per night is not inexpensive, but my experience with the hotels in South Beach is that you get what you pay for...worth spending a little more money for a clean decent hotel with attentive service. The only problem about checking in on a Sunday afternoon is that the pool and the beach were very crowded...Sundays in the Summer there is an all day pool party that caters to a younger crowd in their 20's and 30's...overall it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironboundgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    588
    245
    155
    123
See reviews for
286
1,050
139
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I normally do not write reviews but I had to write one after my recent stay at the Delano. The room was beautiful and the service was excellent. My girlfriends and I went down to South Beach for my Bachelorette weekend we were supposed to stay at the National Hotel - but when we arrived from the airport to check it we found that it was unexpectedly shut down by the city of Miami, and they provided zero notice to any of their reservations!!! So the 5 of us were completely stranded luggage in hand during a busy summer weekend (Miami Swim Week was happening hotels were booked up). I had 4 friends who have just flown from all over the US and no place to stay, we walked over to the Delano next door and the manager Stacey saved our trip! She was able to secure us an amazing room (bungalow #1) and offered to help with any reservations or anything we needed. Overall our trip ended up being awesome and it was thanks to Stacey and her staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agiamartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Terrible room service! I travel alot and I don't think I have ever received such bad room service. Rooms are much smaller than described. Beds are not standard. They didn't clean our room or refresh towels. We had to call them many times to please bring us fresh towels. They don't clean the bed sheets and only make them look they are. We went to this hotel with high expectations because of the fame and we were truly disappointed. You feel like you are a part of military...They check your room key over 10 times a day. They charge you for 3 persons per room but only give you two bed by the pool because it's their policy however, they charge you over $100 per night for the 3rd person. We got our room over 4 hours later than when we were supposed to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

if in Miami must eat here, absolutey beautiful food, possibly the best food i have ever tasted, i couldnt say much of prices as me & a group of girls were taken here as guest and enjoyed ourselves so much. but do try this hotel restaurant 5*

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livvy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

There is obviously no question that this is a gorgeous hotel. Ian Schrager did a phenomenal job with the decor and ambiance of this place...from the over-sized mirrors and massive billowing white curtains, to the hidden hedge entryway, to the ALL white rooms complete with a green apple. You really get the feel that you stepped into a fairy tale or fell down the rabbit hole, which I'm told was his intent. Superb!

However, for the amount of money you spend at this hotel, I'm not sure it's worth it. The location is great, the outside pool scene is amazing (during the day, and at night when it turns into a sort of lounge-y area)...but it's expensive! The staff is wonderful, IF you're spending a lot of money quickly...then, of course, you get very prompt service. If you're not spending a lot of money quickly, you get less attention.

Because the rooms are all white, you notice every detail that was missed in terms of cleaning. Even the floors are white. So every hair, or speck of dirt, is immediately noticeable. This isn't much of an issue when you know the mess is yours, but it's gross when, upon arrival, you notice stuff like this.

The maids are annoying. They come several times a day...it literally feels like every time you're in the room, they're JUST OPENING THE DOOR. They knock once and then just walk right in.

I've stayed here a handful of times and the concierge is always inundated with tasks...so much so that he hardly ever had time for our requests. If you want to book something you need to call before your arrival.

They are an AMEX hotel however they don't honor a lot of AMEX upgrades for some reason.

I mean, you go to this hotel for the location, the scene and the ambiance; not for anything else, in my opinion. Though I have to say, all of this being said, I honestly could not imagine staying anywhere else when returning to South Beach. It's a dream.

*I had to pick a date I traveled, though the options didn't go back to when I actually did. The actual dates were March 2011 & 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phtreehuggr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Public Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your positive review and also for including some constructive criticism. We're always happy to take improvement opportunity advice in stride and we prioritize looking into all of the information provided by our guests. Thank you for your willingness to take the time to help us to continue to improve.
Our rooms are very white, you're correct. As one would imagine, it takes a lot of work to keep them pristine and our room attendants work tirelessly to do so. You should never feel intruded upon though and our staff will never knock or enter your room if you have the privacy sign on your door. I apologize that you had to deal with that inconvenience. Of course this will appropriately be addressed as well.

We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

the layout of the rooms and the overall hotel design is very nice, the pool is lovely -and the music choice around the pool was very to our gusto, with a great sound system. unfortunately the pool closes well before sunset, and as we arrived at about 4pm, there were no more linens provided.

the minibar is hugely provided, and everything may be acquired in the rooms; so if one forgot something, everything is there: in ear phones, cd, etc ...; at an additional cost, needless to say.

a big negative point for the rooms: they are very poorly noise-isolated, each noise or person passing in the corridors is well heard. don't expect a quiet night here.

after leaving the hotel, we noted that the valet parking ($37/ night) was taxed 2x to us: once in cash by the valet when we left the hotel, then 2 days after via our credit card! after several requests and emails, we didn't even had an answer from the delano! $7 were also charged, we still don't know why (as we had nothing from the minibar). that's ridiculous for a hotel that wants to play worldclass.

the staff in general is not really welcoming -with the notable exception of the desk staff. the discotheque bartenders are the worst. maybe it's a pose that looks cool in such a place?!! aha!

as a conclusion we don't understand why the hotel of this price doesn't even answer a client request -an error may occur, but you have to respond to it aftewards; and because of the bad isolation of the rooms, at that price, we can't give more than 2*

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noemie_jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Public Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for some of the negativity that you experienced...particularly with the double valet charge. It sounds as if you rather enjoyed the hotel and had a very pleasant stay save for some concerning occurrences that you made mention of. Our bar staff is extremely friendly and should portray that with all guests as should pool servers. Regardless of what you order or spend, service should be impeccable all the way around. I apologize that you didn't experience the best of what our staff has to offer and our staff makes a habit of offering the best service that you'll find anywhere.
Regarding valet: I'm not sure who you spoke to but I would love to find out. Please send me a private note and if possible, forward the original email. I will very promptly get this resolved for you. Additionally, I will be happy to discuss the Amex FHR partnership at Delano privately as well. I'm happy to satisfy any inquiries that you may have regarding the amenities that participating hotels offer for guests booking through this program.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I just read someone else's review to think through my title. 'We're glad we didn't stay anywhere else'. I can say the same. Beautiful hotel and super friendly staff made us feel at home and well looked after on my first visit to South Beach (which is pretty crazy).

Cons

1) The air conditioning was fierce. Most of you probably love it but it was too much for us.

Pros

1) Super friendly staff including Bradford (the person, not my home town) and an Italian woman (I think) who kept pulling us to the front of the queue to get back in the hotel (we were there over July 4th).

2) A perfect location for a Perfect Manhattan. Thanks to the pool bar staff.

Mike

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_H2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,980 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,112 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#10 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#63 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,390 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,373 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing