We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than the last time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOWEST RATE - Up to 25%
Ranked #42 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Even better than the last time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lee Greenspan and the Delano team made my last trip the best one yet. Upon my arrival Jose helped me with an upgraded room for part of the stay. I had never stayed in an Alcove room in my previous stays (just the standard rooms) so I definitely liked the additional space.

To me the pool area is always the highlight of my stay. Thanks to P.J. (great mojitos and restaurant tips), Julianna, Diego & Marco, I did not want to leave the pool area to go to the beach! And it helps that the lunch served at the pool was delicious, so I didn't have to miss a moment of prime pool time. Of course when I did spend a little time on the beach, the staff had me covered there too. I also went to FDR for the first time and enjoyed the atmosphere.

The stunning hotel, the service from the staff, the relaxed vibe and the location all combine to keep me coming back. I don't know if my next trip to the Delano will top this one, but based on the great people who work there, I certainly wouldn't be surprised if it did. Thanks again Lee!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    520
    207
    138
    109
See reviews for
228
896
124
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was expecting so much... The location is fantastic, the staff is very helpfull, but we had some disappointments. The bathroom is too small. One morning during our breakfast, we were surprised by a man painting the walls; I really don't think this is the best time for doing it....But the worst: After a long day walking with my mother, we decided to buy a pizza and eat in our room, when we were entering the hotel, I was stoped by a "security man", asking if I was a guest.... So be prepared to dress like a star, otherwise you can have a problem.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Delano 24-29 April 2013 (Room 1219), with 4 other couples, celebrating my 40th birthday in Miami Beach. There are no shortages of beaches, luxury, or beautiful people in our hometown of Los Angeles, but let me just say we loved our stay so much, we did not want to leave – South Beach blows Los Angeles away. We had the ultimate vacation and celebration. And as many people have noted, the man who takes this hotel from 5 stars to 5 stars ++++++++++, is the amazing Lee Greenspan, Guest Experience Manager. It's like he has a sixth sense the way he anticipates and sees to your needs. And if you want or need anything else, he will make sure it happens. Here's just one awesome example: After I emailed him and explained we were coming in for my 40th and asked for some dinner recommendations, he immediately upgraded my room! Here are more specifics:

First Impression: We arrived late, 9:30pm (late by normal standards - it is the beginning of dinner time in Miami Beach) and were greeted by the valet guys up front. They were all smiles and helped with our bags even though we were coming out of a cab (the bellman was making his way towards us, but the guys were right there so they helped) - such a greeting was uplifting after a long flight.

Check In: The good feelings continued as we walked in and were overtaken by the beautiful lobby, the spa-like aroma, and made our way to the registration desk. There, Dwight (who I believe is the Asst. front desk Mgr.) continued the warm greetings, wished me a happy birthday, and immediately gave me a card good for a few drinks at the bar.

Rooms: The rooms are all white and beautiful. Clean. Perfect mini-bar and other essentials. This is a boutique hotel so if you are looking for big rooms, you are coming to the wrong place (unless you stay in a poolside bungalow). Honestly, the rooms were perfect for one couple. Each one of our friends loved their rooms. I should mention that we each had different views. My wife and I had a Deluxe Ocean Front View room. The view was amazing. However, we and our friends found the other rooms equally nice - for example, the City View King also had a view of vibrant Collins Ave. A pet peeve of mine at hotels is crappy showers – Delano’s showers rocked!

Pool: The pool is always at the right temperature and there is really no shortage of beds, umbrellas (just ask), or if you want them, cabanas. Those that complain about beds - get real. No hotel has enough beds for everyone. Just go downstairs, find the pool staff (who are impossible to miss), and reserve beds. Then go have breakfast and come back. During our stay, we were out until at least 3am, but most nights 5am. We were fortunate that every morning, someone from our party went down between 8 and 9 and reserved chairs. Then we would wake up at 10am, have breakfast, and hit the pool by 11am. By noon, the pool was full of beautiful people and great music. The staff works their butts off to make sure you have what you need. SPECIAL NOTE: Marco, poolside server, is AMAZING. He remembers your name, your room number, and, most importantly, your drink. He runs around under the sun for hours every day, but always with a smile and excellent attitude. Thank you Marco, and the rest of the pool staff (Sole, Highlie, and others whose names I am sorry I forgot), for making our lazy pool days so enjoyable (as well as the party pool days)! Which brings me to the weekends, when they have a daytime DJ at the pool spinning amazing stuff. And what I like about the Delano daytime pool parties is that, while I would definitely not say they are G rated, they are hot, sexy, yet classy fun. In comparison, we hit XIV at Hyde Pool, at the SLS next door, for a coupe of hours on Sunday. It was great for a couple of hours, but that is not the scene we were looking for on this trip: complete hedonistic madness and mayhem – think daytime nightclub with super loud music and waitresses going around the pool spraying everyone with champagne every 15-20 minutes; the theme was “save water, spray champagne.” The Delano party is fun, great music, beautiful people, but (for the most part) not folks on drugs and completely trashed on alcohol – having said that, I don’t know if I would bring my kids even there. But that is the American in me. Some Europeans had their kids there and they were perfectly happy. Speaking of which, I got the impression that the crowd was at least 50% if not more from the UK or Europe (UK, Italy, Spain, some German), and another 25% or so from Latin America (there were many Brazilians during our stay). That’s my unscientific guess. It made for even more fun, mingling with people from other places.

Beach: Most days we would hit the beach for an hour or two after spending the entire day at the pool. The beaches are beautiful. I will say it here: They are SUPERIOR to most every beach I have been to in Los Angeles and Orange Counties in California. The white sand, water, beds, beautiful (often topless) women . . . The Delano beach was excellent.

Nightlife: The Delano itself is a nighttime destination. Their lobby has a DJ on weekends, as well as an excellent sushi restaurant, pool table, and great vibe. Outside, there is the Bianca restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We enjoyed the food very much. Walk across the pool at night and you get yet another DJ at the pool bar and a classy, wonderful bar scene. If you want a nightclub experience, but don’t want to leave the hotel, there is FDR. Talk to Lee Greenspan . . .

Location: Delano is located at the heart of South Beach. You can just about walk anywhere, but cabs/taxis and the guys in golf carts who work on tips are everywhere too.

As you can see, we loved our stay. I have no complaints about the Delano, but about Miami Beach in general: While the entire Delano staff was amazing, our group found that customer service outside the hotel, in most of Miami Beach, was horrendous. I mean just crap. It might have something to do with the fact that every place, large and small, automatically includes 18% (or more) gratuity in their bills. They say they have to because European travelers tend not to tip. I get that, but it has bred a culture of lazy and lackadaisical service. So expect that once you leave the Delano.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong, but I am partial to the Deluxe Ocean Front View. We had 1219.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Delano for 3 days ... There was 70 of us from th UK
Totally impressed ... A stunning location with the beach right on your doorstep .

This is somewhere I would just LOVE to come back to .. Many times !!

The rooms are beautiful ,staff on hand for everything and SO FRIENDLY , pool bar .. Yummy cocktails who could ask for more !!

The one thing I really loved as well was the ' Delano Aroma " as you walk into the foyer you are wrapped in this beautiful and distinctive aroma .... I had to email them when I to home as I really want to have that " smell " memory!!

DELANO YOU ROCK ... X

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheekychickxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lee, Guest Experience Manager at the Delano South Beach, is by far the most professional, understanding and generous hotel manager that I've experienced in all my years of travel. Not only did his listen, but he understood my needs and created an otherwise standard trip into a fantastic experience for my friends and me. He was not only respectful to me, but more importantly, extremely respectful and kind to those working with him at the Delano.

I have travelled all over the world from the Plaza Athene in Paris to several Singita resorts In Africa, and Lee is one of the top, if not the best, guest services managers I have encountered.

Thank you for a fantastic, memorable stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanitaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Palm Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Delano.
This must be the chicest hotel in Miami....and I looked at a dozen or more. Everything from arcitecture to interior design to employee uniforms, this place says "style". Phillipe Starck is a genius...often copied, never duplicated.
You might think that this hotel would be snobby, but no, genuinely friendly service is the order here. And not just me, others commented on this as well.
As for value, you decide, I paid $330 a night for an ocean view room on the 9th floor. Not a big room, mind you, but big enough. And atractive! My one complaint at the hotel was the price of everything else...$10 for a bottle of water on the beach, $80 for 4 drinks at the pool bar, $37 a night to park your car,,, It adds up.
Sleep quality was fine...amazing linens, super comfy king bed, and soundproof. And clean....as the room is all-white, any speck of dirt would show...and none did.
For a fun filled and glam holiday, I couldn't think you could do any better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcrimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Delano for my bachelorette party a few weeks ago. Everything from the room linens to the staff was amazing. Very, very accommodating. The manager and every member of their staff seemed truly happy to work there and wanted to make our experience as fun as possible. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit the area. I will def. be staying there again. The rooms were great and the bungalow was amazing. They really went above and beyond and I thank everyone there!
Karen Vines

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,310 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,923 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing