We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"customer service was awful"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"customer service was awful"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The majority of our stay went well, but when we went downstairs to have breakfast the issues began. Our waiter (Dannie) was very rude and we could not find him most of the meal. The pool was nice, but the service was also non existant. We would not reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnpaul123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for the genuine but brief feedback. Your review is especially concerning to me. Service is paramount at Delano and Danny has always been very consistent in delivering more than expected to all of our guests. If something more than what you've detailed for us occurred, I would like to know about it. Please feel free to contact me directly at lee.greenspan@mhgc.com. This especially catches my attention because this one experience seems to have tainted your entire experience.
I do not take this lightly and I assure you, Danny doesn't either.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    548
    223
    144
    117
See reviews for
248
970
129
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stay here was an experience for us, not what we expected or are used too, that does not mean it was bad just different. Med size boutique hotel, small room even smaller bath rooms, but the best service I have ever experience. The staff from the valets the front desk, housekeeping, room service could not of been better. I am in the service business and have to take my hat off to who ever is training the staff, well done !
Our problem with the Hotel is more of a personal opinion, It has a vibrerent night life a younger single crowd not excatly what my wife and I were looking for, but for that crowd I could the place being great if the rooms and bathroom were a little larger.For us we stayed in the Four Seasons in Palm Beach for about the same price and that is more along our style. For the younger crowd I think this place would be great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gturco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been going to the Delano for over 10 years, and I always leave more relaxed than when I left.

When you walk in you are greeted by huge roman columns, and white curtains which really adds to the sheekness of this hotel. The enitre lobby is a wood, with white columns decorating your way to the pool area.

The rooms art deco rooms that are decorted almost exclusively white are the perfect retreat. I love the added touch of the iPad in every room, as well as the BOSE speaker system.

My favorite thing about this hotel is lounging by the pool on any sunny day. The pool service is some of the best in South Beach. Healthy food and amazing drinks. The pool is heated so always worth a dip.

In room dining never disappoints, so go ahead an splurge after those late nights out.

Enjoy my home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCSmith1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the perfect place for a couple to spend a weekend. The lobby is very nice and modern. The pool and beach are very alive but not overcrowded. We had a pool side villa which was very nice. I was surprised how private our room was. This hotel has beautiful landscaping, that must have taken manny years to perfect which they did. The food is good although its a bit pricy.

Room Tip: high floor for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1948274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are small. Bathrooms are smaller. Service does match the price tag, but just not worth the premium.

It is quite an atmosphere they have created at the hotel...like a bleached out Cirque du Soleil set. I'm too boring.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so upgrade if it's in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EverettRainier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

if you want to experience Miami at its fullest, and budget is not a constraint, this is the place to stay. The hotel's location is unmatched, you have the beach at the backyard, and you're walking distance to Lincoln Rd, and the South Beach shops, restaurants, and clubs.

My only problem was that the hardwood floors got very cold and they did not have slippers and the bathroom, although chic is not too big. however, it's amazing when you don't even need to leave your hotel for a great meal or night out. This is the place to start every party in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiuska15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The lobby & pool area of this hotel are stunning - worth seeing even if you're not staying there! The room "upgrade" offered with the American Express FHR (well worth the annual fee for a platinum card) was still a VERY small room. There is no way two adults could come close to getting anything out of the bathroom at the same time. Keep in mind, you're paying for the "see & be seen" South Beach feel - the pool is gorgeous, the beach lovely, and the staff extremely pleasant. Brittany at the pool bar was delightful, as were the front desk staff. We weren't able to use the pool deck as it was being stained the day we were there - not a pleasant smell for relaxing by the pool, but the front desk was apologetic. Nothing is complimentary here- even a small bottle of water will not be found in the room. There is a "box" on the small room table to buy gifts from, and full-sizes of the bath products are for sale wrapped on the small amount of shelf space in the bathroom. It felt like a "hotel mall." I'm glad we stayed here - it is truly a beautiful property, however the prices are way over the top. Even with the $100 credit from Amex FHR, a small plastic cup with a lot of ice & very little "margarita" is not worth $17, no matter how lovely the setting. The staff really do try to be extremely kind & gracious, even when your car is brought from the $39 per night valet. Lovely to see, don't believe we'll visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltimoretraveler615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
SLS South Beach
#33 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing