We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Delano South Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$127
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$354
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $352/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$248
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,896)
Filter reviews
2,896 results
Traveler rating
1,642
642
286
167
159
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,642
642
286
167
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose barblue doorbianca restaurantsouth beachwhite roompool barpool staffwhite decorpool scenebeautiful hotelpool partypool sidehotel guestsrooms are smallpeople watchingbeach servicelincoln road
Filter
Updating list...
1,620 - 1,625 of 2,896 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The minute you walk into the hotel, you feel you have entered somewhere special. A friend resembled it to stepping into an Alice in Wonderland movie set. Beautiful dark wood flooring, with huge white pillars lining the hotel's corrior from the entrance to the Garden, with oversized mirrors, funky chairs, a bar, and a Japanese restaurant, and a billiard table along the way.

The main restaurant overlooks the garden and pool area, and had consistenly good Italian themed food, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The service howvever was somewhat patchy and awkward, especially at dinner. The entire staff need to be re-trained and stiffened up. A word of praise here is due for Monica from Napoli for her excellent service and courtesy during breakfast.

The highlight is the Pool bar, that is buzzing around the clock, chill out music, and serviced by a very friendly and professional staff. Special Thanks to Bernie for his tips on Gin, and Jeremy for lending us his insecticide before we set off to the Everlglades.

We visited The FDR club twice. The first time on a Saturday was great. Good music, packed with beautiful people, and very friendly staff. Monday night was supposed to be THE time to visit with a Live DJ, and it was awful, owing in large part to the thumping Hip Hop that burst our ears and deadened our senses. Pffffff..

We did have a problem upon checking in. We had booked a beach view room, and upon check in we were told that our room was reserved and will only be available 2 days later. We were downgraded to a city view room and were credited for $150. A bit unprofessional as I have never had that experience anywhere else.

Lastly if you need any help at all with bookings in Miami Beach, you need only check with Willie, who is at the Conceirge desk. He is extremely helpful and knowledgable, always with a ready smile on his face. Avoid the other guy (!).

Overall, if you are going to Miami Beach for a bot of pazzazz and fun, I would definitely recommend Delano.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a beach view room
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianThunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

i stayed here with a few friends for a girls weekend. I would never come back! room is small and dirty. everything is white, but they don't clean very well so it just looks dirty. there was hair all over our floor, the bathroom is tiny and don't get me started on the pool. it's a tiny little pool and unless you go down at 6am you won't get a chair. I've stayed at the lowe's, fontain blue and mandarin oriental and would never come back here. the only upside to this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYCTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at the Delano again this year and found it to be good, with some improvements over last year. The room was clean, housekeeping was better, the staff had a friendlier attitude. This hotel is STILL the center of the Miami social scene with a fantastic pool vibe during the day and at night. I had a poolside bungalow, which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow by the pool!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Route66dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just stayed at the Delano for a night and it was disappointing. We reached early in the morning after our cruise, around 10 am. Room was not ready, no problem. We left our luggage and went for a walk along Lincoln Road Mall, had lunch, came back at 2 pm, room was still not ready! Stacey at reception was very nice but kept saying room was guaranteed for 3 pm - I get that, but does that mean no rooms are ready at all by 2 pm?!! When we finally got to the room, it was ok. This stark all white theme is gimmicky and would fly better assuming that all the technological gizmos work, which they do not. The free wi fi is very spotty and kept going off and on, every time I was using my iPad, it would go off. But the worst was the bathroom - they have this wannabe cool shower design where the shower is a walk in. Trouble is, the drainage is not proper and when you take a shower, it floods the bathroom, no kidding! Food is overpriced at Bianca. The only good feature is the location, but this does not overcome the flaws like inefficient housekeeping, faulty wi fi, etc. At this price point, you expect a flawless experience but we got anything but. We are not staying here again and would recommend looking elsewhere. Next time we will stay at the Sagamore or National.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank BabyBearNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that your stay didn't live up to the expectations that you had for Delano. Our rooms are guaranteed for 3pm, when the hotel isn't extremely busy, of course we will accommodate our guest's needs and provide and earlier check in whenever possible. As far as the room, the standard rooms do have standard bathrooms, however, we do have multiple options for larger rooms, many of which have 2 bathrooms. Several are also equipped with a tub. I apologize for the situation with your WiFi. We have upgraded our system appropriately over time and have had minimal issues with this. We will certainly look into the problem that occurred during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share these items with us, we would love to see you again in the future.

Mnay Thanks,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The only really good thing about the Delano is the pool. I wonder if there's a way to just rent on of the cabanase instead of actually staying in the hotel? My opinions:

1) If you decide to paint every single surface in your hotel white, you have an obligation to clean/bleach/paint it enough to ensure that every possible stain doesn't show up. Curtains, rugs, floors, walls all had stains and the like so that the pristine white was really just a beat up, overused off white.

2) The hotel really hasn't been well taken care of - some windows were painted shut, knobs missing, mattress not comfortable, painted cement floors (if you get them wet, you will fall down), the ceiling and windows in the workout room were leaking puddles onto the floor, the air conditioners basically had two settings - freezing and humid. This place is old, as most things are in Southbeach, but maintenance is lacking and it really shows.

3) For what this place costs, they should be falling all over themselves helping you and bringing you anything you want. The pool staff and the bar staff near the pool were friendly. Everyone else was just not terribly interested in helping guests.

4) The food is good, but not excellent.

5) The beach is good, but not great.

6) The thing that really annoyed me was the cheapness of the place - why charge $800 per night and then have uninsulated ice buckets with no tops so the ice melts in 10 minutes and there's a puddle all over your desk? Why even have a workout room if half the equipment is not working and there are puddles all over the floor and you have to walk through the garbage area to get there? The bathrooms are so tiny that put unusually small toilets in them so you'd be able to walk into the shower... again, why?

A cool vibe at the pool can only take you so far. I won't stay at the Delano again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms, but ours faced the side street and was a little noisy. The "partial ocean view" is really no ocean view at all.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. Delano is famous for a number of reasons, not the least of which is our service. Before I touch on service, I want to assure you that the utmost care and diligence goes into the maintenance and upkeep of our property. You made note of a couple items that will certainly be adrressed. The Delano service standard is our top priority. We pride ourselves on delivering world class service at all venues and departments throughout the hotel. I would like to discuss your experience with you further regarding this aspect, please contact me directly, your insight will certainly be taken seriously. Regarding rooms, we have several categories, the options are open to our guests and detailed decriptions of all room types are on our website.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your observations, looking forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews