We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, dirty and rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach
Ranked #131 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed May 22, 2014

After a driving trip down the east coast of america this was our final stop for 2 nights before returning home.
When arriving i was told by the man on reception that there was a $28 per day car park charge for an unsecure car park accross the road, anyone could get in and out of this car park and take your car. You are given a security code to get into the car park, however this must be displayed in your windscreen at all times, so anyone can access it. I was also told there was a charge as there was a safe in the room, which i told him we would not be using and didnt wish to pay for. So he told me to sign a piece of paper stating i didnt want the safe and would take responsibility for, which i did. Upon arrival when i was given my final bill the safe charge was on there, when i questioned it i was told by a different member off staff that it is compulsary regardless of me saying i didnt want the safe and that she wouldnt remove it.
When we got to our room we where taken back to the 60's, as soon as you leave the lobby they havent updated anything in years. I have never stayed in such dirty room, there where long black hairs in the bottom of the shower, and up its walls, stains on the toilet, hairs in the sink and on the towels. I dont believe it had been cleaned since the last visitors. The curtains didnt meet, they werent big enough for the windows. Bed sheets where stained with i dont want to know what.
Theres a hairdryer in the bathroom which is so far away from the mirror you cant see when your trying to do your hair. Hairdryer was also broken, after 30seconds the fuse would go and yourpd have to soend 5 minuted playing with the reset button to get it back on. We reported this on our first night and where told it would be seen to straight away. 2 days later it still havent been looked at.
I wouldnt advise people staying here on there own or with children, the hotel allows anyone into the hotel with access to all floors to give out takeout me us and flyers. People where that sick of it they where thrown all over the corridoors out of there rooms. We had 8 in 2 days.
Staff here are so unhelpfull and rude, only person the saved it was the security guard who was always there smiling, holding doors, getting you the lift.

I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank X27boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
There are newer reviews for Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

this is my first visit very well located hotel the front desk people very friendly especially Lysandra who was kind enough to explain all directions and like going to the most interesting places, just say you need a little repair and should not collect safe if you do not use it, I highly recommend the hotel

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Yosmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. The service at the reception was good and halpful.Wifi in the room. In front of the beach.free coffe and chocolate.
The room was old.the restroom's floor was dirty.
I could not open the Window-there is only airconditioner.
Overall-nice but dont worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maayan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed 3 nights split by a week. Lobby lovely, nice pool, good breakfast for 12 dollars. Problems - rooms desperately need updating, very tired. The walk in wardrobe/cupboard was larger than the bathroom, whole bathrooms need updating. Clean but needs complete redecoration including lobbies on each floor. Breakfast excellent value, with good choice of freshly cut fruit, cereals, hot food and omelettes made to order but all meat! No tomatoes/beans/mushrooms. Managed to add breakfast to hotel bill but only on special request. Couldn't put drinks from bar/pool bar onto hotel bill - very strange - all cash. Whole experience felt a bit disjointed with some staff happy to help, others seemed untrained/bit lost/bit unhelpful. This place could be very good. I won't be returning.... the hotel was booked via a travel company and billed as on Miami beach - well it is but at 43rd St its a long long way up....

Room Tip: Ask for those facing the pool but I couldn't see any balconies - we stayed on 5th and 10th floor...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRosado5057, General Manager at Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your review, I was happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay. We will be upgrading our rooms in the future. The pool bar is an outside concession and because of that room charges are not allowed. We are in the middle of Miami Beach and look forward to hopefully seeing you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

the hotel is well located but in bad shape. they charge for the safe box in the room! and the internet in the lobby cost 1 dollar per 3 mins.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ramon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRosado5057, General Manager at Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your review, our hotel has free wi fi in all of the rooms and the public areas. If you chose to use the kiosk in the lobby there is a charge for that. The safe is for your personal property and for your own protection. Thank you again for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Rien vu de pire rapport qualité/prix en quarante ans de voyage et j'ai logé dans bien des « guests house » en Asie. Nous avons hérité d'une chambre (504) dont le « walk in » dégageait une odeur nauséabonde au point ou nous n'avons pu y suspendre nos vêtements. Nous avons dû y pénétrer à plusieurs reprises pour utiliser le coffre-fort fixé au plancher mais en prenant à chaque fois une longue respiration pour éviter d'avoir à respirer dans ce « walk in ». Aspect correct de l'extérieur, cet hôtel est en décrépitude à l'intérieur. L'hôtel étant plein le premier jour nous n'avons pu changer de chambre que le lendemain. Les chambres de bain des deux chambres montrent des signes de grande fatigue : rouille sur les pentures de portes, plafonds « patchés » et de couleur douteuses. La majorité des fenêtres ont fait leur temps. Que dire de la courtoisie du personnel qui semble se foutre de la situation. Le comble c'est que l'on nous a chargé 254$/nuit (faut dire qu'il semblait y avoir un événement majeur pour les jeunes à Miami cette fin de semaine) pour cette chiotte et on a osé nous ajouter 2.26$/jour pour la présence du coffre-fort (utilisé ou non) et taxe non-incluse s.v.p. Si ce n'est pas du vol on ne doit pas en être loin. C'est tout au moins de l'abus éhonté.


Have never seen anything worse quality/price ratio in forty years of traveling and have stayed in many " house guests " in Asia . We ended up in a room (504), in which a huge walk-in smelled so awful that we did not hang any of our clothes in it. We had to go into it several times, however, to use the floor safe that was in it, but took a deep breath every time in order to avoid having to breath in this walk-in. The outside of the hotel looks okay, but it is deteriorating inside. The hotel was full on our first night so we had to wait until the next day to change rooms. The bathrooms also show signs of fatigue: rust on the door hinges, ceilings patched, etc. Most windows have outlived their usefulness. What about the courtesy of the staff that couldn't care less about the situation. The irony is that we were charged $ 254 per night (it must be said that there seemed to be a major youth event in Miami that particular weekend) and they had the audacity to charge an additional $2.26 per day for the “presence” (use it or not) of the floor safe. All these prices are before taxes. If this isn't called stealing, it's not far from it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel1950M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRosado5057, General Manager at Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry you did not have a good experience, yes the rates are always higher during special events such as ultra music festival which was when you were here. The safe in the room is for the safety and security of your personal belongings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#101 of 210 in Miami Beach
969 reviews
2.2 mi away
The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#103 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,020 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#149 of 210 in Miami Beach
400 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach

Address: 4299 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3228
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $90 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an affordable stay in the heart of Miami Beach, look no further than the oceanfront Lexington Hotel Miami Beach. Our hotel is just steps away from the turquoise waters of the Atlantic Ocean, white sand beach, and such exclusive South Beach hot spots as LIV Night Club. Nearby attractions include Jungle Island, Miami Children's Museum, Bass Museum of Art, and Miami Seaquarium. For your dining convenience enjoy a meal at our Sunrise Cafe, poolside with a cocktail at the outdoor Beaches Bar and Grill, or delicious dinner at our Florida Grill Steakhouse. Within walking distance you will find four star dining at Blade, Scarpetta, and the Forge Restaurants. Featured hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, guest laundry facility, ATM, and spacious meeting facility. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our complimentary Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Secure off-site parking, located adjacent to the hotel, is available for a charge. As an added value to our guests, Lexington Hotel Miami Beach does not charge resort fees. The Lexington Hotel Miami Beach offers traditional, superior oceanview, and deluxe oceanfront rooms, all to fit your budget. In the comfort of your room enjoy such amenities as a 36 inch flat panel satellite TV with ESPN and HBO, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Our Miami Beach hotel is convenient to all that the jewel of "The Magic City" has to offer. We offer superb accommodations whether traveling for business, vacation, to attend local festivals, visit local hot spots, or simply passing through on your way to an International destination. A superb location, competitive rates, exceptional customer service, and attention to detail make the Lexington Hotel the perfect choice when visiting the Miami area. Join our family at Lexington Hotel Miami Beach - you deserve it! Our Guests Come First SM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing