We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$209
$156
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$336
$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$367
$299
loewshotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$299
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$328
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$319
$288
thepalmshotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
SLS South Beach(Miami Beach)
$385
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$342
$275
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,224)
Filter reviews
1,224 results
Traveler rating
284
309
279
159
193
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
309
279
159
193
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth beachwet willieshardwood floorsbars and clubsnews cafeocean drart deco hotel
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 1,224 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

I came for vacation with my friend we choose this hotel because of very good location in Ocean Drive, everything is near, hotel is very nice, especially receptionist Vernon, such a kind and friendly person who gave us all the informations about hotel and Miami ! :)

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank vexsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Hello Sara, thank you for the review and feedback, Vernon is constantly praised by our guests and he is a true hospitality professional, we are very happy to have him on our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

The best thing about this hotel is that it is located directly across the street from the beach. The staff here is really nice as well. Other than that, the room was really small and the elevator didn't work for a day and a half. Also, housekeeping doesn't really do a full-service cleaning when you stay for multiple days. They only make the beds which I found to be odd. They didn't even replenish towels.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Hello Yolanda, thank you for your review and feedback, we apologize if housekeeping didn't finish off the room completely, we expect our staff to give full cleaning services daily unless otherwise requested by our guests - with regards to the elevator it has been down for a few days, this is unfortunately due to a part that needs to be replaced, since the elevator is an older model a special order has to be made for the part needed and it is not something we can simply go out and buy. We apologize for any inconvenience it might has caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

The Colony is not the London Ritz, the rooms are basic with just the right facilities you should require. However, what I will tell you, is this place is in the heart of a bustling environment and a stones throw from the beach. The rooms may be compact, but they are kept clean and the beds .. well, if a good mattress is important - you'll sleep well. The air conditioning behaves according to your command, the fridge keeps your stuff crisp and the TV is something you don't need to squint to see. You can take your own music - but its the old Apple 4/5 connection - the wide one - to save disappointment? The shower is great and the towels fresh daily, plus the complimentary gels and smells are very nice.

This hotel is cool .. not in the hip kind of way, but that you can fit in with the scene. Its renown for its Art Deco background and old style elevator, but what's really important and of immense value, we found, is when you are put in a crisis, this team of staff, led by their Manager Mirta Echazabal are there for you 110%.

We got caught in the chaos of hurricane Irma, and the circumstances we were in at the time prevented us from returning to the hotel to collect our belongings. With everything abandoned, and everyman for themselves - we experienced! Priorities to get out of Florida were everyone's agenda.

On returning to the UK - dishevelled, but in one piece, your thoughts return to those things you have left behind to suffer exposure to the torrents and tyranny that such an event can bring. But alas! The Colony gave complete respect and dignity to our possessions, not just as their guests - they extended their loyalty to us - like we were their family.

Our belongings were packed away, kept secure - awaiting reuniting. The Manager left an open line of communication, so we were never left in doubt, and even sought the best way for our things to be returned (insurance - forget it!!) The decision to return was concluded and The Colony have embraced us - proving again to support our plight and not take advantage.

When everything else around you was exploiting this crisis, The Colony restored some faith in humanity for us. Thank you so very much!

This was a service beyond service ..

Room Tip: Its hot in South Beach - go for the twin double room if you like your sleep
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PansyPotter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for the review and the details of your experience! Reading this review was about the best thing a hotelier can hope for, it shows that the Colony staff led by our GM Mirta are true hospitality professionals, they did all they could with what they had available to help a client as much as possible during a horrible situation! This review will be shared with our staff, thank you for your kind words and thank you for allowing us to host you. We hope you come back in the near future to visit us again, we look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

The location is a 5+ if you want to be where the action is. Across the street is the ocean. Night spots right down the street. Local spots within walking distance. Rooms are a little small but you have what you need.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Jacqui1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you Jacqui for the review and for your feedback, our location as you know cannot be beat! We really do hope you come back and visit us again soon, it was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to doing so again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

This is certainly not a 4-star hotel but the location is excellent. The staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are small but clean. It is an old structure so expect not the best insulation. There is a restaurant on the ground floor and they offer discounts for guests. The wifi is good and free. The resort fee covers wifi, calls, beach towels, etc. It is a great place. The only expensive part is parking ($35/day, valet) but keep in mind this is SOBE. This is a historic place so overall it is worth it. News Cafe only a block away. You may also want to try Pinocchio Italian cafe around the corner, nice place for a quick bite or a great coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Hello Michael, thank you for the review and your honest feedback! Our property falls under the 3 star category, since we are a smaller (and older) building there are amenities we cannot offer but our staff, our location and our history more than make up for it. With regards to parking, as you know this is quite a luxury in South Beach due to the amount of visitors we get on a daily basis and the lack of parking available, at $35 for Valet parking we have one of the more competitive prices on the beach as other hotels can range as high as $50+ per night for Valet service! You also have a municipal parking garage on the corner of 7th and Collins which charges $20 for a 24 hour period, the proximity of the garage is only a short walk away from the hotel so if you want some savings it is very much a feasible option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews