We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worst hotel ever. Nasty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #165 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever. Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

To start off I'm here now as I'm writing this. The toilet makes this noise for 2 minutes after you flush. The Chinese lady doesn't clean your room till you leave. The lobby smells like straight dead fish. Every damn time you walk outside they ask if you want to see their menu. There food sucks. The rooms feel like your in prison. No view. The tv takes 5 minutes to boot up. Only thing I like is that the shower pressure is like a fire hose and the air conditioner actually works. Besides that this place sucks. Stay at the fontaineblue or don't stay in miami beach

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    243
    231
    133
    161
See reviews for
140
355
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Colony on our 2nd wedding anniversary for one night. It was right on South Beach in walking distance to everything. The price was a bit high, but appropriate for the area. When we got there the guy at the front desk upgraded us to a beachfront suite for free. It was awesome! The hotel has had a lot of renovations, but you can still see how old it is. There were some things that were broken and such, but no big deal. It is very loud so beware if you plan on going to sleep early it if you're a light sleeper! The noise doesn't end until about 3 am.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karevas87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Right in the middle of everything with walking distance to bars, restaurants, shop and just across the street to the fantastic beach. The room was spacious, clean with comfortable bed, tv, fridge, safe and plenty of space to store things. Will choose the hotel again when back to SoBe.

Room Tip: Room 216 is at far end of the floor so no noise from Ocean Drive or other guests passing by. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerViersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a personal favorite. My Lady and I stayed here last year and decided to come back. Hotel is clean , the staff is nice and courteous. Located on the strip, with Wet Willies , Fat Tuesdays, Mangos and more within walking distance. Saturday night enjoyed the "dinner & show " at Mangos . Found a nice little pizzeria called Mega Pizza around the block. RIGHT across the street from the beach. We stayed 4 dayz and enjoyed ourselves. DO NOT order any food or drinks from the restaurant attached (Columbus restaurant) while we didn't eat there thanks to a review we read, upon coming in late on night my lady wanted a Coke...... $5.81 and it didn't have any fuzz. This is the only complaint we had ..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delta-Imperial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a better than l expected, the hotel is old art deco a classic but pretty well kept don't expect 5 star and you will be ok the rooms are clean the beds are comfy the rooms are serviced we had an issue with wifi but it was fixed, the guys on the front desk are helpful and courteous, we booked all our tours through them and the bus picked us up at the hotel, in the strip along the beach all the favorites are close at hand Mangoes, Fat Tuesdays, The Clevelander etc meals are a little expencive along this strip but hey its all about location very entertaining and the music is awesome from live Spanish to the most fantastic sax player I have ever herd here.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the main strip of popular Miami beach so a little noisey you can hear people talkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank endlessumers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This place is all about location... it's great! Right on the same block as Wet Willies and a block from Mango's, Fat Tuesday's, Ocean's 10, and the Clevelander, and the beach is right across the street. The rooms were actually better than I was expecting... clean, nice size, decent decor, and comfortable beds... what else could you ask for in a crash pad? People who stay at this hotel don't spend much time in their room anyway. Staff was nice and upbeat, and there a cool bar in front where you can do some nice people watching.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Alberto the guy at the front desk was very helpful. He had amazing customer service & the room was pretty nice. I arrived before check in and he kept my bags in a safe place until check in time, I had an issue with my credit card and he was very patient & understanding. I'd stay here again, he was very hospitable!! Two thumbs up

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ShesBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#163 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#111 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#174 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#134 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#30 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#81 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing