We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel... just don't eat at their restaurant!”
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #172 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A well needed beach break after travelling 4 major cities, and the hotel was amazing. The staff were so so lovely, so so helpful and the rooms were great -- they were clean, comfortable, with the sheets changed daily as well as the room and en-suite cleaned daily. It was a great price for the location (right on the beach, countless restaurants, bars and clubs walking distance). The only downside was the restaurant downstairs which was less than average; very disappointing as we decided to eat there on our last night after 5 nights of great meals.

Apart from that, could not recommend the Colony more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Lizzie,

Thank you for the awesome review! It is a shame that you did not enjoy your meal at the restaurant, we will advise them of this review so that they are aware, and we will urge them to be more mindful of our guests and their concerns! Once again thank you for the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
There are newer reviews for The Colony Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Clean hotel, great staff, the beach is right in front of you what more could you ask for. Harold Rondan worked the front desk durring my stay and was very helpful and friendly the entire time.
I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L'Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Tanya,

Thank you for the great review, Harold is constantly being lauded as one of the reasons why our guests enjoyed their time at the property, and I will make sure he sees this review as well. We hope to see you in the near future again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited Miami from Atlanta and really enjoyed the hotel. Great location across from the beach and the room was perfect for our trip. Harold at the front desk was so helpful in letting us get into the room as soon as possible as well as assisting us with our bags. He definitely made us comfortable as soon as we came into the lobby. The rest of the staff was super friendly as well. Overall we had a wonderful time at the colony and would gladly return !

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovestotravel217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review, your words could not have been more complimentary, we thank you and hope that you come see again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location. The Colony Hotel is just what you think South Beach should be like. Very dated building but like a 57 Chevy, it is just right. There are LOTS of places to eat, the beach is just right there. The price is very reasonable. Mostly this place is great because of where it is.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinAggie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for the positive review - we cannot deny that the location is the most intriguing perk about the property, literally right across the street from the beach and in the heart of South Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Based on the reviews & research I had done, I expected a nice, historical hotel in a great location. And, the website is beautiful, glossy, & full of modern images.
Valet parking was efficient. Food haukers at front door were annoying but expected in South Beach. Staff was helpful. Elevator was cute/quaint/historical but dirty. The room reminded me of a door room. Musty smelling, full size bed with creaky springs & without pillow top cushioning, the air conditioning NEVER took a break & there was no way to adjust temp or fan speed. Bathroom was very cute but very slippery, shower rod falls, and door did not close AND for when it was time to take a shower we were told the water in the ENTIRE hotel would be off for about 3 hours. Even though the water was off--the restaurant continued food service--ewww.
I was responsible for booking our girls getaway this year--they probably won't let me live this one down for years to come.
I

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest, I apologize if the rooms were not to your standard - there should not be a "musty" smell in the rooms, nor should you not be able to adjust your A/C, if you would be so kind as to email us at carrie@colonymiami.com and tell us which room you stayed in and on what date we will do a thorough inspection to correct any of the issues you mentioned. Also as a quick note, the restaurant and hotel are two different entities/businesses, one can have running water while the other one does not and vice-versa, they each have separate water accounts, so don't be disturbed that during the water was shut off at the hotel the restaurant continued to operate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice hotel just a short walk from the Airport Flyer bus stop on Washington St, only stayed for one night so can't offer completely thorough review of all services.
Checked in with little problem, reception staff were very friendly. Stayed on the first floor where you have to climb a few stairs (pity there being no lift given I had a lot of luggage).
Room had a comfortable bed and was clean when I got there, bathroom was a bit small but everything was there. Air conditioner is a bit noisy. Room is on the smaller size but given the hotel is right by the beach it isn't too much of a problem at all. Right amongst the thick of it on Ocean Drive, lots of bars and restaurants nearby.
Cost is the main reason I stayed here and I certainly got great value for money.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank ketchupcatsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest, thank for you the positive review, the hotel does have a lift, but not for the first floor, unfortunately there are a few steps that you must take to get to the first floor since it is slightly above the lobby area - please stay a bit longer with us next time, there is so much more to do in South Beach, one night is definitely not enough!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night on route to the airport. Very helpful staff. Rooms a good size although bathroom very tiny, but o.k. For what we needed. We were able to have our room for extra time and when we checked out the staff allowed us to leave our luggage in storage.
Just to let Roger, from Bristol, know that he wasn't ripped off for his beer. We were, at 530, they charged us in excess of $30 for a beer!!!!

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter but no view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear June, thank you for the review - we appreciate the kind words for the hotel, and we agree with you as well, the restaurant at the Colony Hotel (which by the way is not affiliated with the hotel) is not the only place in South Beach with ridiculous prices on their drinks, almost all of the places on Ocean Drive operate in the same manner, it is not worth going out for a drink on Ocean Drive, speak to hotel staff or some locals, they will give you the insight on the best places to go where they will not gouge you on food and drinks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#194 of 210 in Miami Beach
769 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#182 of 210 in Miami Beach
526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#117 of 210 in Miami Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#100 of 210 in Miami Beach
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $98 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing