We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“South Beach Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #179 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“South Beach Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My friend and I thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the Colony Hotel. We especially were very pleased with the staff and the service provided! The check in process was smooth and very accomodating.The rooms were clean. The location was amanzing! We especially would like to mention the front office manager Harold Rondan who offered us outstanding service and attention throughout our stay. He was professional and friendly and made the difference. We would stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you Monique for your wonderful review, we are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    250
    237
    135
    166
See reviews for
141
361
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Having been recommended to stay here by a friend we were very disappointed. On arrival we were kept waiting to place the bags in a side room as our room was not ready. We went to get a drink from the bar and the staff would rather talk on their mobiles or to each other than serve us. Eventually we got a beer and decided we may as well get something to eat at the hotel, we went out onto the street terrace. Here although we tried to attract the attention of the waitress for over ten minutes she ignored us and served people who had seated after us. Eventually after about 15 minutes she came over and we placed our order a hamburger(as supposedly America is the place to eat these) and cheese and ham quesadillas (again supposedly the right thing to choose in this area). Well the wait for these was over 40 minutes as yet again we seemed to be being ignored. Eventually the food arrived and to be hones was a great disappointment. The burger was dry and tasteless with hardly any garnish and the quesadillas were made with the worst cheese and the cheapest ham again with no garnish or salsa. And to top it all they would not put it on our hotel bill and made us pay separately. Having eventually checked in we found the room to be very average, rather dirty including sand all over the floor. As we had been no where near the beach we knew it was not from us. The bathroom looked grubby and very dated. The floors were wooden. We could hear noise from other guests in their rooms and in the corridors all day and night. The Hotel is in a good location but very noisy
and the staff were very slack at all times talking amongst themselves or on their phones rather than paying attention to guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sidaneey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest, please accept my apologies for the horrible experience you had - please feel free to reach out to me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 or sales@thekenthotel.com, I will be happy to look into your booking and see if there is anything we can do to make this up to you - In regards to the restaurant, the reason they asked you to pay for the bill separately is because the hotel and the restaurant are two different businesses! I can completely understand how most of the public would assume that the restaurant is part of the hotel, but they are not - the name of the restaurant is Columbus Restaurant, and they have their own page on Tripadvisor should you choose to write a review specifically for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just stayed there this past Labor Day weekend (Aug/Sept 2013) and I must say, this was such an amazing experience! The hotel is right in front of the beach so we had such a beautiful view. The staff was so amazing! Everyone was extremely friendly and I could tell that they loved what they were doing. Although everyone was very friendly, Harold Rondan, was by far, the best! He was extremely helpful with our check in and any little thing we needed he was right there to help. He was always smiling and always greeting us. He was very helpful on different places to go and gave many tips so that we could be careful with where we would go. He genuinely cared for our well-being as well as our hotel stay. I appreciate Harold very much, he did such an amazing job! Once Harold was gone for the day, we had Albert and he was also extremely friendly. He helped with our night time plans as well as our cabs. He was very helpful and was always there when we needed something. They both were absolutely amazing. My hotel stay was phenomenal and I will definitely be staying at the Colony again. It is such a beautiful hotel and everyone is just as amazing! I didn't want to leave but it only makes me want to plan my next vacation! =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Monique, thank you very much for the awesome review! Harold and Albert continue to defy expectations, they are always being mentioned on reviews or by word of mouth from our clients to our ears, and we could not be prouder of them both! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I must admit that I picked this hotel due to two factors - its location and the fact that it seems to feature in almost every movie ever shot in Miami. The good news is that it turned out to be a great choice for our 2 week stay. Step out of the front door onto the bustling Ocean Drive and you are a narrow road away from Lummus Park and the beach. As noisy as the street can be at night we booked a room without a seaview and ended up with a delightfully quiet room on the 3rd floor. The room itself was clean and neat with a big comfortable bed. The desk guys (as mentioned in other reviews) are helpful beyond belief. It was nice to stay at a hotel where the desk staff seemed like they actually wanted to help you rather than treating you as an interruption to their downtime. All said, I hope to get back to Miami Beach someday and this will be where I stay when I do. As a final note I should point out that they offer some really great rates when you book direct through their website (we paid under $100 a night for the weeknights and $120 a night for the weekends). The only downside was that we had to come back to London afterwards...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreatNugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the kind words - we also feel like the Colony Hotel has great value and you can never go wrong with the location, conveniently located across the street from the beach, and in the middle of everything that South Beach has to offer! Staff also goes a long way in making sure our clients are content, it's nice to read that you found that out as well, we are very proud of the service that our employees provide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Yeah, that vivid blue light on every postcard is exactly what you'll find at this beachfront hotel. So appealing, I wish they would morph this exterior with the interior of the Dream South Beach Hotel and keeping the address on Ocean Drive. Now that's a marriage with chemistry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 2scorpios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Colony on 8/19/13 and we were very impressed. The room was very nice and we had a ocean view. The bed was super comfortable and I loved the shower. The hotel is in a prime location, right across the street from the beach. The only thing that I didnt like was the elevator but other than that I give it two thumbs up. I would definitely stay there again when I return to Miami. Thanks Harold, for all of your help you rock!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOrtiz920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review - we always happy to read that our guests enjoyed their stay at the property, its hard not to with such beautiful weather and ocean views! Please do not be scared of the elevator, it is very old but reliable, and its part of the charm and history of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#158 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#188 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#98 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#129 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing