We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #165 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Thomaston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading the reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect. We went to South beach for a show at the Fillmore which was a 5 minute taxi ride away and the only hotel with a decent price for a Saturday night. We checked in at around 6pm, and were told due to the hotel being sold out, we were upgraded to the best suite in the house, room 301, ocean view (prepaid on hotels.com about 2 months before the trip). I was excited but still wasn't expecting to much. The elevator, or 'lift', is very old and kind of scary. do not go in there if you are claustrophobic LOL. There is the staircase which is much quicker (we only have 1 overnight bag so it was easy to carry) right next to the bar area. The room was huge for south beach standards. It has a living area with a TV, PlayStation 3, mini bar (no liquor) with a fridge, & glasses for all style of drinks. the bed was big, and the closet was so huge you could fit 5 people standing and still have room. The bathroom is the opposite - very tiny and not much standing room. The tub/shower is huge though. The amenities were very nice and everything was clean. there was a large window with blinds with a great view of the strip/beach. I will admit being at the front of the hotel on a Saturday night, very noisy, but we came in around 2am and passed right out. That's what south beach is all about right?! Anyways, the car valet guys were great. When we walked downstairs the next morning planning to check out, the guy was standing there with my car keys & my jeep parked out front waiting for us! we didn't even have to call or say anything! We asked if we could leave it in front for 45 minutes or so while we grabbed some lunch really quick. They let us, which I was not expecting, but was awesome! I would stay here again for sure. The whole place was really clean and nice. A+!

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to the suite Room 301 - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tb8986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review, I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed our Oceanfront Suite, it really is a beautiful room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    243
    232
    133
    162
See reviews for
140
355
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

South Beach is notoriously expensive for hotels, and a lot of these old boutique hotels have a bad reputation for lagging on renovations because they know they will get bookings anyway.

That said, Colony had a lot of positives.
You are in the heart of south beach, so you are a short walk away from everything you could need. As it is on Ocean Drive, I was worried it would be noisy, but you could only notice the noise if you really tried to listen out for it.
The room itself was renovated and had a fan and aircon as well as a safe, cable TV, Hairdryer, iron and a fridge. The bed was really comfortable, and the pillows were the perfect.

The bathroom however is the part that is in dire need of a facelift.
The mirror is on an angle so you can never see what you really look like before you leave. And then there is the shower. So bad. You have to hold the handle the entire time, and there is only one temperature, which does get a bit too hot. It was so hard to wash my hair with that thing.

One annoyance was that everytime the room was cleaned, my card to get back in the room would stop working. One time I went down to the desk to get this sorted and there was no one there for 15 minutes and I had to wait to get in my room.

Service-wise the guys were very polite, but it would help if they had a bit more knowledge that tourists need. One of the guys couldn't even help me work out how to catch the bus or use public transport the get to the mall, which they really should be able to help guests with.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtrain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the honest review - as an experienced traveler you seem to have a very good pulse on the workings of Miami Beach hotels, kudos to you! Ironically I'm surprised to read about the comment regarding the hot shower, since I just replied to another reviewer who said we have no hot water. I will speak with staff in regards to your comments about them not being able to provide basic directions/details about tourist requests, I would assume that maybe this request was made at night since Harold (typically works in the A.M.) and Carlos and Albert (typically work the P.M. hours) are fairly knowledgeable about Miami Beach and what it has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnlough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

First of all the Plus Side of this hotel...... Great location on Ocean Drive and right across the road from the beach, My friends and myself found the hotel to be clean and the rooms nice... Most of the staff friendly (apart from the night guy when we checked in)
 Bit grumpy on it lol The hotel is right where you'd want to be with plenty of people about, all in all I'd stay there again.



Also when your checking out and want a taxi don't get the hotel to order a taxi just walk outside and stick your hand in the air at the 1st taxi you see, as we asked for a taxi and waited 30 minutes only for a guy to turn up with a 7 seater for my group (5 people) and another couple (2 people) ..... plus the driver I counted 8 people???? And with all the luggage 7 large to very large cases, The wee guy kept insisting he would fit us all in!!! ...... Me and my mate just got a taxi to the port ..... Faster and no hassle ...

This review is the 2nd I've wrote on this hotel as I've had to delete the 1st as it was unfair .... I had blamed the hotel for charging me for a room I'd already paid for, but in the end it was the company I'd booked the hotel with Alpharooms.com and there providers, a unless company who do nothing for you when you ask them to help you out !!!! Stay clear there not worth the bother.

In the end it was Eddie Nunez General Manager of the Colony Hotel who sorted the mess out for me and got me a refund (MANY THANKS TO HIM) for that.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you Brendan for the positive review, and for correcting the original negative one that was posted on our property! I'm just happy knowing that we were able to correct the financial mistakes that occurred with your room, as you can attest having too many middle men between a guest and the property can sometimes cause unwanted problems! This is why we urge all clients that if you have an issue with the hotel to please contact management so that we can thoroughly look into and provide assistance, this is especially important to us when it comes to guest funds, we do not want our clients to be falsely charged/overcharged, as I personally deal with that area of the operation should any past guest read this and find themselves in a similar situation I urge you to reach out to me at sales@thekenhotel.com or at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001, I promise to do all I can to correct the problem in a fair way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a girls trip weekend! Needless to say the rooms are extremely small, the bathroom smaller, the beds are hard, with no comforter, only sheets, and there was NO hot water. We had to sleep in one room, and shower down in another room! Super inconvenient and even moreso disgusting, because that water was only room temperature -_-
The only upside is the location! Across the street from the beach, and all restaurants and little fun shops are walking distance. Stay out of your room as much as possible if you plan to stay here, just enjoy the city!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to read about the problems you experienced - I'm surprised that you said you had no "comforters" and only sheets, since that definitely is not the case at the Colony Hotel, each room has 100% cotton "Honeycomb styled" comforters in all their beds..also, it seems like the water heater was not working at the time you went to shower? or the pilot must have turned off mistakenly as we do have hot water on the property. I'm a bit confused about the shower situation, since you mentioned that you had to go to a different room to shower (does that mean that other room had hot water? If it didn't why not just shower in your room?) - if you would like to go over your stay in detail please feel free to contact me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 as I am interested in looking for a solution to the issues you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Harold Rondan the Front Office Manager was great he helped us out with our bags. He was very he was great with all of our needs throughout our stay. I looked online to book a room and decided that i would be in good hands if I booked at the Colony again. I gave him a call this morning and we booked for August. He's def a good dude.

Room Tip: Ask For Harold Rondan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and the praise heaped upon Harold, it is very deserving as he is our brightest star in the Front Desk and has been mentioned numerous times on this forum for his great customer service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only stayed one night during an Orlando holiday. Very pretty hotel, Art Deco fans will love this place. Art Deco lobby, Art Deco banisters going up the stairs, even an Art Deco lift/elevator.

Room was clean, bathroom small, huge TV, 2 double beds. Toiletries and toothpaste provided.

Location is perfect, between 7th and 8th on Ocean Drive.

Restaurant staff outside were a pain in the backside hassling you to eat every time enter or leave the hotel.

I think we were the only people staying there with children, it was extremely noisy at night with people making a racket in the corridors, but this is south beach, don't come expecting silence after 10pm.

Biggest disaster was the neon lights not being switched on at night. Apparently 4 of the letters weren't working so they left them off :-(

For us, great for one night, maybe two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllsBells14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, let me apologize about the neon sign, typically whenever we get a bulb that breaks down it gets replaced within 48 hours, it sounds like you stayed on a night when it had recently broken, since the Colony Hotel sign is universally recognized icon in South Beach we take great pains in keeping it maintained at all times, I assure you if you ever come back it will be working at 100%!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel was okay and the cheapest I could find at the time for a weekend trip. The location is great, staff a helpful and friendly. You could get more for your money at a hotel in another area but this is right in the action on Ocean Drive so it is priced by location. It is across the road from the beach. The rooms are clean. Could do with a full length mirror but otherwise fine. Though right in the action, I didn't hear any noise at night as I had a room at the back which although meant I didn't have a good view (could just see an alley), I really didn't mind as sleep when I wanted it was more important. Just okay really.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raininspain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the honest review - I'm surprised we were the "cheapest" hotel you could find as we tend to have rates in the middle of the pack compared to other hotels in the area, but you are correct in stating the best quality of the hotel is it's location, it does not get better than 7th and Ocean Drive! P.S. Full length mirrors have been added to most rooms already, as of the writing of this review that was not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#163 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#110 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#174 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#134 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing