We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic place is its best asset”
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #165 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Iconic place is its best asset”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is present of every Ocean Drive photo so I was curious to try it during a weekend in Miami beach.
The rooms are ok, the bathroom is average but the prices are quite good for the location.
It can be quite loud at night on the weekends given all the bars and restaurants nearby.
The staff were nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErwanOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Erwan, thank you for the positive review, I would argue though that our location is an even better asset than the hotel's iconic status!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    271
    251
    145
    176
See reviews for
153
398
65
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It was an awesome experience. Hotel was beautiful right on the strip. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were clean and nice. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melialynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Melia, thank you for the vote of confidence, we look forward to welcoming you back to sunny South Beach!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Noisy hotel with bad service and disorganized.
Expensive restaurant (two cups of water for 12 DOLLARS).
Valet extremely time lingering (at about ONE HOUR to take your car).
Bed extremely bad (like a "canoe").
Air conditioner straight to your head, when slaying.

Room Tip: No chances. Forget this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosana_Bernardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Rosana, I sincerely apologize about issues you might have encountered, since the details in your review are minimal I cannot address the exact problems you might be referring to - I urge you to contact me at sales@thekenthotel.com or via phone at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001, I am interested in hearing the details of you stay to see if there is anything we can do to correct and ear your trust once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Marquette, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We decided to stay here before we left for a cruise, got in late Thursday night and left Friday morning. The night staff was not very friendly when we got there. We then got to our room and it smelled horrible, walls are very thin making it very loud. The decor was really cool and the bed was comfortable, but it was not well lit making it hard to shower and get ready. The location was nice right across from south beach, but I would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielD0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Daniel, thank you for the review, I'm sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your standards, poor lighting is a comment we have heard too much recently and the hotel is addressing it, we will be adding a few more lights to each room to help alleviate that issue, with regards to noise I can only state that the hotel is an older Art Deco building which was constructed in the 1930's, which in turn does not provide the proper noise insulation that most people are accustomed to in newer buildings, when you add the premier location of where we are located and the amount of foot traffic outside it can lead to a tad too much noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have stayed there a couple of times, super friendly staff, always available, free wifi, nice deco, hardwood floor, nice showers and comfy bed.
Right in front on the beach so some noise from the street, but its Ocean drive so not expecting a super quiet place and valet parking available as well.
Really nice and neat place to stay in South Beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolav719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you Paola for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Besides the delay check in.Overall i had a good experience here.Hotel staff was pretty good.Never had an issue to replace a key for when my roommates misplaced their key Lol.Only annoying part was the girl from outside trying to drag us for their"specials" everytime we stepped in and out .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Elizabeth, thank you for the positive review, we apologize for the hostesses in Ocean Drive, unfortunately its something that most have to get used to as it happens at every eatery on the strip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We flew into Miami one day prior to a scheduled cruise departure. Cab fare was about $35 from the airport to the Colony.
Check in was delayed due to some glitch, and we waited for 2 hours in the small, crowded, cramped lobby. Thankfully there was free WiFi in the lobby. It was overflowing with people and their luggage waiting for their rooms. We were there at spring break, so perhaps check in at other times of the year would be better.
Our room had a king size bed. The furnishings were sparse and contemporary with a pergo floor. There was a window, but no view just another building close by.
The a/c worked fine. The safe did not work. The mini fridge was not working, but we didn't need it so don't know if it wasn't plugged in or it was broken. Large flat screen TV worked.
The bathroom was tiny, with a tiled floor and shower, a small pedestal sink, and a toilet that made a crashing sond when sat on (didn't seem well affixed to the floor). 2 bath towels and 1 hand towel, a few small toiletries.
The room was clean. I only saw one small bug. It looked like a roach and I squashed it with my shoe.
The bed was ok for a night. It was too soft for me and it made a crinkling noise with every turn, likely due to a plastic mattress cover of some sort.
The walls were paper thin. We heard people in the hallway as if they were right in our room with us (after midnight).
I would not recommend this hotel for more than a 1 night adventure to South Beach.
It must have been quite the place when it was built in 1934, but it's a very tired art deco today.
I would have awarded this hotel 2 stars except for the location.
It was within a (long) walk of Lincoln Park, a pedestrian park/mall/farmers market that we mulled around, people (and dog) watched, and dined outdoors. Colony is on 7th street, Lincoln is on 17th.
Being in the heart of South Beach was a real trip. It did not seem that English is the first language spoken there. At night you can watch the "parade" of characters. OMG. Note: this is not a place for the feint of heart or shrinking violets.
We paid $220 for the night (including tax). You can get a Coke at the Colony bar (which is part of the tiny lobby) for $5.75.
Overall, we enjoyed it as an adventure for 1 night.
Cab fare to the port of Miami was around $30.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, but the first floor is accessed by a partial staircase. We are able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrailsBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the review, I assure you things are much smoother when not in Spring Break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#190 of 208 in Miami Beach
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#173 of 208 in Miami Beach
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#114 of 208 in Miami Beach
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing