We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colony on Ocean Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #166 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Colony on Ocean Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Colony Hotel on Ocean Drive is a perfect location for visiting Miami Beach. You have access to all the resturants, clothing shoppes, nightlife, and not to mention you are steps away from the beach. The Hotel has its own resturant downstairs, friendly low-key bar as well as an ATM machine in the lobby. The Hotel room is very clean and comfortable. Regarding the customer service they get an A-plus because Carlos (front desk professional) was on top of everything. He checked people in quickly, explained the hotel processes, and shared information about the surrounding area for your convenience as well as the great places to visit while in Miami Beach. The Colony from the outside gives you like old-theater type of look which could use a re-touch up from a visual standpoint and the elevator doesn't hold a lot of people. Other than those two things noted I would most certainly stay at the Colony Hotel again. Overall, I really enjoyed my weekend at this hotel.

Room Tip: please choose a room on the backside of the hotel if you want to be less engaged regarding the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geminifun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the wonderful review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    242
    230
    132
    157
See reviews for
140
352
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It's in the good ART DECO section of South Beach so not like the area where the big modern hotels are. We liked it. Rooms are old fashioned but clean and comfy. A safe is provided but no tea/coffee facilities which is a shame and coffee is not available until breakfast starts at about 9am. Albert, on the front desk is great as are the bar staff. Food is nice,, drinks are good but not cheap. Cleaning of the room was ok, we had to ask for toilet paper and limited towels but ok. we stayed in a room at the back. Oh man, soooo noisy most mornings, not the hotels fault, rubbish removers and noisy neighbors but we were woken very early most days, shame because the location on the beach is lovely. Free wifi but it wouldn't work on the 3rd floor in our room nor outside on the sidewalk but ok, in the bar area. If you stay, ask for a room that isn't at the rear.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOIMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the great review, we do concede that sometimes the trash pickup can be noisy, especially since there are numerous restaurants nearby and tons of bottles are disposed of daily, due to the great nightlife in South Beach we tend to have a good portion of our clientele consist of a younger sometimes noisy crowd which does not put much emphasis on how their actions affect those around them, for that we apologize, but we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and liked at our property, please visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed from the 3rd November to 5th 2012 On arrival i was shocked by the dated interior. Seeing my room for some reason i had too check the bed because something wasn't right. To my disgust i found hair (Pubic) and body hair in the bed.
The last time i came across this was in a hotel in tripoli, Libya some 20 years ago.
This hotel is disgusting and you can hear doors banging at night from other guests. The staff showed concern but were very evasive when I asked who owned the hotel. I dind't even see the manager after my incident, i presume he was adamant on avoiding me.

I cant say i saw anyone eating at the hotel either. It would seem the hotel has one thing going for it and thats its location. Be warned stay away from here.
Truly a nightmare, lucky i was only booked in for 2 nights.

Room Tip: if you really have to stay here, then get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purakushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear about your experience at the property, I'm perplexed about your comment regarding the "dated" interior since most of the decor and furniture in the hotel is less than a few years old - also, I understand you are upset at finding a hair on your bed, and for that we apologize, but it is more likely that the hair could have been from the housekeeper who tended the room than a previous guest since linens are changed out daily. If you would like to speak to management please feel free to call me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001, I assure you no one is avoiding speaking to you, I would be more than happy to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The first thing we noticed as we arrive, was the horrible smell in the room...

The beds are small for two people, so if you are coming as a couple you might have to sleep in different beds, also the matress are uncomfortable and old...if you have back issues you're gonna suffer!!

The curtains didn't work properly so when the sun comes out your sleep is over...

One day we return from our day tour and the room wasn't made at all!! It was exactly as we leave it in the morning...
I try to speak to the manager for two days,when I could, it turns out that it was really rude and disrespectful...and didn't even say sorry about the inconvenience...

SO, IF YOU WANT TO BE AT OCEAN DRIVE FIND ANOTHER OPTION!! THEY ARE PLENTY OF THEM!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diegostern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Diego, let me first apologize about your experience at the property, and I encourage you to contact me at 305-604-5068 Ext. 3001 to speak to you in person and gather the details of your stay, I would like the opportunity to win your business/trust back, I would to mention that our bed setups at the hotel consist of a Queen or King bed in a single bed room, and two Full size beds in our double bed rooms, that is the same setup you have in the majority of hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Looks like this hotel is in the process of being freshened up. A very very clean hotel with decent facilities, the staff are mostly friendly and helpful, especially the house-keeping staff. It's in the middle of the famous South Beach 'Deco Walk' and you can not fault this hotel for it's location being across the road from the beach. Plenty of decent, if somewhat expensive, restaurants right on the door step along with plenty of nightlife and touristy shopping. The bathrooms are a little small but this is how it is with most hotels built in the 20's era and the air-con is very noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor middle to back of hotel to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYD-LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Colony Hotel for a bachlorette party. I absolutely loved it!!! The location is perfect. The night scene is amazing. The food was good. The drinks were better. The sunrises are picturesque and the staff was so helpful and fun. Especially the front desk manager Harold. He made our stay awesome. He always had fun and great recommendations for us for restaurants, bars and clubs. 10/10 each time. #SouthBeach #ColonyHotel #askforHarold
Me and the bridesmaids would so do it again. Maybe a #weekend getaway for the girls :)

Cheers!

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room. The sunrises are amazing and you can watch the day and night life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Lorena thank you for the awesome review! We are very happy to hear you and your party enjoyed your stay at our property! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The loation is wonderful. Direct access to South Beach events, great food, dancing, and drinks!!!!!
The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly with servce requests and providing valuable information about nearby attractions. Thanks Raphael and Harold!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liberiangirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for great review, once again the staff at the hotel seems to make a big difference for the experience that is received, we will pass on our commendations to them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#160 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#114 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#173 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#136 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#50 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, BookIt.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing