We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hub for a girls trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #166 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect hub for a girls trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel was booked for a Hen party of 5 and I'm delighted to say it 'served us well'. On check-in we got what we asked for - 2 rooms next to each other on 1st floor. The rooms were clean and well maintained, standard room comes with double bed which means 3 persons in one room can work. The Hotel is centrally located on the strip which was ideal! It can get noisy at night but we really took to the vibes of South Beach. The only real downside was the lighting - one dim lamp shade for the entire room - which was a nightmare for a group of girls putting make up on and blow-drying hair! Oh and my friend's bed was very squeaky - with every turn!

Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simtravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for the great review, I have made management aware of the lighting and an additional lamp will be placed in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    242
    230
    132
    157
See reviews for
140
352
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

For a girls trip to South Beach, my friends and I were looking for something affordable and in an excellent location - the Colony absolutely delivered. However, as is typically the case, you do get what pay for - which isn't necessarily a bad thing, depending on what you're seeking.
The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right across from the street from the beach and in the heart of everything - walking distance to a multitude of restaurants, clubs, bars, shopping. And to see it all lit up at night with all the other art deco hotels reminds you of just where you are, and it’s awesome.
But, aside from the location and behind the fancy lights is a small, old hotel. As such, the rooms are teeny tiny and just... aged, somehow despite the modern furnishings. I traveled in a group of 4 girls, and each of us had an average amount of luggage. We got one room with two double beds, as we always do when we travel and is never a problem; however, between us and our bags, we could barely fit in the room. I won’t even say anything about the miniscule bathroom. True, we could have gotten two rooms, but had we done that we would have been better off staying elsewhere – paying more per night but getting a larger room we could all actually fit in.
Aside from the small rooms, we did have a pleasant stay. The staff was friendly, check in & out was smooth, and again the location is simply unbeatable.
As most are completely aware, Miami Beach is an extremely expensive area. Staying at the Colony is a great way to save some money that you can put toward other things while you’re there, while still staying in the ultimate location - as long as you don’t mind the miniature rooms.
In the end, I probably wouldn't stay here again, but it did serve its purpose for this particular trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Diana, thank you for the positive review, the smalll boutique hotels that cover the landscape in Miami Beach were built mostly in the 30's and 40's and tend to have smaller sized rooms as it reflects the age in which they were built
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

While this location is directly across the street from the beach it is probably one place I would never stay again. The rooms are tiny. Just enough space for two full size beds. The bathrooms are tiny and very outdated. The dim lighting throughout the building gives seedy impression. The elevators didn't work half the time leaving me to walk up three flights every day. Also, I didn't enjoy having to walk through an outdoor restaurant to enter the smal lobby.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richrod212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry you feel that way, unfortunately there is not much we can do about the size of our rooms, our bathrooms though have been renovated for quite some time and I'm surprised to read that you found them "outdated" since they are practically new (less than 2 years ago they were fully renovated) - Also I would suggest in your future travels to avoid booking any hotel on Ocean Drive as they all have restaurants outdoors leading to the their lobbies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you're looking for a good hotel deal in the heart of Miami Beach's Art Deco District, The Colony Hotel is a find. Just beware of the lack of any counter space in the bathroom, no towel racks, no shelf in the otherwise wonderful shower for your bar of soap and shampoo, and a questionable restaurant. (Been here for two nights and have yet to see anyone drinking or dining on site.). The rooms are small but livable with clean, simple decor. The TV is almost as big as the room itself! But the front desk is helpful...albeit slow to answer the phone...and the hotel's location for the money is tough to beat. I'd stay here again -- unless I win the lottery and could afford The Ritz Carlton. Pricey valet parking at $24/nt and this is still a good value!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nano56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the honest portrayal of the property, the lack of counter space in the bathroom is something that will be corrected this summer so it will soothe your major concern, once again thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here, and in the blink of an eye a ring was stolen from me. I know not to travel with your most valuable items--it was more sentimental than valuable. The hotel staff was completely unprofessional, and unresponsive to the incident. When I filed a police report, and initiated an investigation--I found out I was not the only victim of this ruthless hotel. STAY AWAY, or stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Erin, I would implore you to contact Carrie Lage, General Manager of the Colony Hotel either at the hotel directly (305-673-0088) and ask for Carrie, or reach out to her via email at carrie@colonymiami.com - the hotel does have in its possession a ring that was found on the property and we would like to speak to you and figure out if the ring which you lost is the same one that is being held, please reach out to us at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

If you want to stay at a great hotel and still have enough money to live the south beach life stay here. Me and my friend went for a girls weekend (May 18-20) and we are already making plans to go back. The hotel itself has that great south beach art deco feel as soon as you walk in, but the real prize you get with this hotel is the overly amazing staff. The guys that worked up from (Rafael, Carlos, etc) are the sweetest guys in the world. They told us where to go and what to do. The room was fun and the beds were amazing (TV's are HUGE!!) but there was a slight fishy smell in the hallway on the first floor but nothing bad enough to take away from the trip. You are in the heart of south beach walking distance from everywhere and RIGHT across the street from the beach. Seriously, best hotel & staff on south beach...period.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view, the presidental suites have windows that face the strip. The first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Wow thank you for the awesome review! I will print this out and give copies to staff, they really appreciate when their hard work is noticed! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Colony is an ICON of South Beach. With it's beach front location and it's cool blue neon you'll feel like you've really arrived. Keep in mind this hotel was built in the 40's. -It has been recently remodeled and is nice, but it still has old bones. The rooms are cute but small and bathrooms smaller. But if you're traveling on a budget, you'll be out all night partying and you just need a really convenient place to sleep a few hours a night, pack your ear plugs and stay here!
We had a great time and couldn't have had a more accommodating group of front desk staff. (fyi. The food here is only ok. Walk down the street and eat at the News Cafe or somewhere else if you can)

Room Tip: Ear plugs. Honestly we got so little sleep while we were here b/c we were out all night, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvitaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review, and the useful tips on dining, most of us locals love the News Cafe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#162 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#115 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#174 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#138 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#48 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing