We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience on the Art Deco strip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #178 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
The Hague
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience on the Art Deco strip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

This visit, we thought we’d “upgrade” a bit from the 2-star Starlite Hotel to the 3-start Colony Hotel almost next door. The Colony has a nicer front desk area and the rooms are a bit nicer than the Starlite (though the lighting in our Colony room was dreadful). However, the Colony service (particularly housekeeping and front desk follow up) was poor on several counts. One bright light in terms of service was the guy on the front desk in the mornings; he was very personable and helpful. Next time, we’ll go back to the Starlite, where the service was better and the prices much lower. Tip: great $1.99 breakfast (including juice or coffee) at Johnny Rockets next door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeLTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Mike, we are distraught that we could not offer you a better experience at our property - I can assure that the small difference in price is well worth the difference in hotels, please contact me (Eddie) at 305-604-5068, ask for extension 3010 the next time you plan to stay in South Beach, I would the opportunity to win your business and your trust back, I want to go out of our way to make sure you have a pleasurable experience the next time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    250
    237
    136
    166
See reviews for
141
362
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

The 700 block of Ocean Drive in South Beach houses houses five hotels (Avalon, Beacon, Colony, Boulevard and Starlite) a Johnny Rockets and Wet Willies bar. The Avalon and beacon are the most expensive and the Boulevard and Starlite the cheapest. The Colony, which bills itself as,
"The most photographed hotel in South Beach" prices it's rooms a little higher than it's cheaper neighbors and is worth the extra few dollars. Across the street from Lummus park and the beach, it has nicely appointed but not luxury rooms (except perhaps the four Ocean front small suites). It is scrupulously clean, has a warm and efficient staff a cute, (particularly Harold the font office Mgr.), and a cute small, quiet lobby bar to decompress in between visits to the myriad clubs within walking distance . It's a perfect location for your beach party.

Room Tip: Except for the suites, all the rooms face an alley. The rear alley gets the noise from the early tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psyduck1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for the positive review, as you pointed out, the hotel is situated between two other buildings like many of the other hotels/buildings in South Beach, so if your room is not one of our 4 oceanfront rooms then your "view" will not be anything to brag about, you will either be facing a wall (buildings next door) or the alley way in the rear of the building..with that said, enjoy your time in South Beach, there are so many things to do, beginning with that beautiful beach across the street, that there should be no reason to be inside your room unless it's for sleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband n I went their for our honeymoon just beautiful n outstanding (ladies u know that the hotel had to be special). The staff was so friendly n helped us with anything. I pray we have the time n money to return. We fell in love with this hotel. Just try it for urself. Thx! ;-)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shortybooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments, we are honored to have served as a positive experience during your honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The staff were friendly and hospitable. The location and view is in the perfect spot for south beach, next trip to miami I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrock143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Awesome! Please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

My stay at The Colony Hotel was wonderful. The staff was great. When we first arrived we were greeted by Harold at the front desk. He let us know of different things to do and places to go while in Miami. He was so nice and provided so much help. We were then in our rooms right away. There was a bar downstairs which was very convenient. Luka and Fabian were the bartenders during our stay. They were very nice as well and made us feel welcome. We were assisted with any question or requests. After staying here, the staff made me want to come back to MIami. I would definitely stay here again, hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
It was our pleasure helping you enjoy your time in South Beach! We hope to have the chance to accommodate you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YONKERS, NEW YORK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at The Colony Hotel Monday jan 16 & 17th for my bday, it was in a prime location close to everything, the room was nice my boyfriend couldnt drag himself from the big screen TV in our room. The room was clean and neat very modern looking. Last but not least Harold Rondan, front office manager made our stay a pleasurable one, he was very gracious and accommodating

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Next time have your boyfriend promise that while in South Beach there will be no TV watching!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed at the Colony Hotel new years eve weekend. I was celebrating my birthday and I couldn't have stayed at a better hotel! The staff was amazing! Everyone was so friendly and made my birthday such a memorable experience! The location was perfect, walking distance to everything that south beach had to offer! I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family because I'm sure that they will also enjoy their stay at the Colony as much as I did.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive feedback, we are honored to have been a part of your birthday experience and memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#157 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#186 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#100 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#131 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#45 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing