We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
DC
1 review
“Rock Stars”
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I just recently stayed at the renovated Clevelander along with 7 friends. It was our yearly trip to South Beach. I’ve been a previous guest of the Clevelander prior to the renovation and highly enjoyed my stay then. Prior to arrival, I was really looking forward to staying at the new and improved Clevelander. As we stepped onto the property, the staff was right there ready to take our bags as we checked – in. Was even given a complimentary frozen drink. The new features are incredible. The rooftop beds and lounge chairs with bar is perfect for relaxing. It also gives you a beautiful view of the surrounding area. The sports bar has a lot of flat screens for viewing. The 1020 Music Boxx is a nice addition to the hotel. The rooms are spectacular. Comfortable, bright and modern. The only thing lacking in the room was a Ipod docking station. That was the only downfall about the room. My group also had the one of the Rock Star suites. This took the experience to another level. The suite came with a host, who made sure our stay at the hotel and entertainment at and away from the Clevelander was met. During the famous Splash party, we were giving a close reserved VIP area during the show. Everyone at poolside knew we were VIP. All of the staff I encountered was great. Everyone made sure you were have a great time. I highly recommend staying at the Clevelander. The Clevelander experience is like no other.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    356
    120
    44
    64
See reviews for
68
388
70
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2009

This hotel is fun to stay at if you want to party all day and night. Great location and it was recently renovated, the rooms are small but nice and there's not much room to sit around with friends. There were some small things that needed fixing because of the renovation, but nothing major. The staff was helpful when anything was needed. The bars and the food (may take a while) at this hotel are great and reasonably priced and the music is good especially at night when it gets really busy. The club inside the hotel wasn't full at times, but is good if you want to get away from the crowd on the outside patio. The swimming pool on the patio was blocked off during the four day stay, but the lounge and terrace pool on the roof was available and nice. The valet parking was around $36/day. Really convenient to everything and great if you only want to party.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Stayed at the new Clevelander with my girlfriend for 3 days and had an amazing time. To me, staying at the new Clevelander is an essential part of the ultimate South Beach experience: located in the middle of Ocean Drive, it offers the coolest "open-air club" at the corner of Ocean and 10th. As a hotel guest, you have access to two roof top "lounging/chill-out areas" (called SPF4 and C-Level), offering an incredible view of the ocean and Ocean Drive to the east and the Miami skyline to the west. On top, drinks are served here 24 hours a day. Not really a bargain ($12), they are excellent when freshly mixed by the bartender (which unfortunately cannot be said about the pre-mixed drinks offered at the main bar downstairs). The interior of the lobby as well as the rooms (which by the way aren't particularly big) is like you would expect from a boutique hotel; one of a kind, with a lot of funky design features. But the best feature of all was with no doubt the incredibly courteous, friendly and helpful staff. From waiter to manager/owner, everybody seems to be on a mission to exceed the customer's expectations. Hope they keep up the excellent start! We will sure come back soon!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingDutchman_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2009

I stayed at the Clevelander in 2006 and it was right across from the beach and it is in the best location in sobe. I stayed at many other hotels in sobe but I liked the cleveander the best because the outside bar makes you feel like your right on the beach and its in the heart of everthing.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2007

This place is a true south beach icon and a must for everyone visiting Miami . Awesome people; crazy pool scene . The best :) happy hour; NO attitude!!!!

Hot dancers !

A real south beach style party!

Helpful?
Thank moscaNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I stayed at the Clevelander last summer in '06 with a group of 7 and we all had a blast! Make sure to stay for the pool party on Saturdays and it's great that the pool is only for hotel guests. Everyone who walks down Ocean Drive always stops at this party location. If you're looking for a luxury romantic getaway, this is NOT the place. This is a non-stop party hotel and the music is loud and happenin' at all hours of the day. If you like to party, this is the place to stay!
p.s don't expect much from the rooms, they are not the best. No room service either. Just a bed and a place to party!

  • Liked — the young party scene
  • Disliked — beds could have been nicer
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank agentdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

My wife and I booked a stay at this wretched "hotel" several years ago. I just stumbled on Trip Advisor recently, and my fingers can't keep up with my brain in terms of the utter contempt I hold for this place. I knew something was wrong when we had to check in AT THE BAR. It just got worse. First, the room. I wasn't expecting posh...after all, this is an old art deco building. BUT the light fixtures and everyting are nailed to the furniture! OK, I'm thinking we won't spend much time in the room anyway. Have to sleep, though, and that's the biggest problem. Our room overlooked the pool. There is a band at the pool. OK, no problem, but the BAND PLAYED UNTIL 7:00 AM. I called the front desk at about 3:00 a.m. to see if there were quieter rooms available. The guy at the front desk, which is the bar, told me we already were on "the quiet side." I asked...."this is the quiet side?" The guy said, and I'm not kidding....."HOW ABOUT I JUST COME UP THERE AND KICK YOUR [--]!!" We checked out as soon as it was daylight. The female clerk (bartender) at the front desk/bar asked why we were leaving early. I just said "Are you kidding?"

I realize South Beach is all about partying and late nights, but this place is disgusting. Most of the rooms are probably rented by the hour. We found a room at the Kent that morning and it was great. You CAN stay at a quiet, well kept, hospitable place within the mayhem that is South Beach. BUT NOT AT THE CLEVELANDER.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — being physically threatened by a clerk
  • Stayed November 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eyewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#50 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tides South Beach
The Tides South Beach
#69 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelander South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelander South Beach Hotel

Property: Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Address: 1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelander South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clevelander brings an adult playground experience to Miami Beach being the only legendary party hotel. A 70-year tradition of fun is enhanced more than ever thanks to a complete renovation of its boutique hotel featuring 60 cozy rooms, Rock Star Suites, ground floor poolside bars, Game On Sports Bar, C-Level Rooftop Terrace and SPF4 Sundeck. Clevelander is known for being at the center of it all on South Beach in the middle of the famous Ocean Drive. Clevelander is a full-service nightlife venue featuring live entertainment 7 days a week. Clevelander is famous for epic bachelor, bachelorette, holiday and birthday parties. Clevelander is a large and versatile venue hosting groups for corporate meetings up to 1000 guests. Clevelander Hotel accepts Bitcoin currency for all products and services on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Clevelander South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelander Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing