We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Party hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clevelander South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Ranked #49 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Party hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Second year partying here.
spent Fourth of July watching fireworks from our private balcony dancing what more can u ask for. Will be back next year!
This is the party that everyone lines up for to get in all day and night but being hotel guests you just walk right in your always treated like VIPs love it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveller00999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    332
    110
    42
    60
See reviews for
61
350
63
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Overall, the hotel was clean and in a great location on Ocean Drive. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. However, the size of the room was the smallest we've ever seen and there were no amenities to speak of. The cost of the room (~$300 for a Wednesday night in June) was definitely because of the location in South Beach, not for anything else. There were no carpets, very little space around the bed itself, no view, no cabinets or drawers to store anything and a bathroom that fit a stand shower, toilet and small sink.
If you are looking for comfort and relaxation, this is not the place. However, if you want convenience, nightlife and a clean place to crash, this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean, be sure to ask. If you want more space, see if they have any rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BVC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a great time here. The employees were helpful and friendly. The manager went out of his way to make my wife and I feel welcome. There is a bar area around the pool and seats along the sidewalk. This is not a hotel I would bring kids to. The room was clean and up to date. This is the 3rd time we stayed here and will stay here again. It is loud here due to everyone partying. They supplied ear plugs for guests that need them. We got in late every night and had no problem. They now own the Essex hotel so if you like it quiet try there you will still be close to the fun at the Clevlander. The Clevlander is walking distance from just about everything in South Beach.We had an ocean view room on the 4th floor If you are lower you might not be able to see the water with the park across the street blocking it. They will still be great rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front are quieter with ocean view or street view. Sun rises on the front rooms.Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Right away taken care of by Valet then the bell man very high energy and happy to help us, he then introduced us to Kara at Check in she went over everything got us all set for our stay. Everyone really made an extra effort to make sure we were taken care of. I never had customer service like this from anywhere I had stayed. Erick was also very attentive at check out. Everything was superb. I was pleased that this hotel was clean I had my fair share of bad experiences. This was a Great one. Thank you !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

I am way beyond 20 years old so that is the only reason I gave this hotel a 1 star. If you are 20 yrs old and want a constant party....this is your place !!!! It was very crowded the whole weekend and very loud. It's a walk to the beach too...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getgogonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was my third time staying at the Clevelander and the service was as good as ever. The rooms are always clean. The staff is prompt and so attentive that you literally can't get out of your car before someone is "at your service". Thumbs up to the valet parking because they will have your car at the front of the hotel in 5 minutes if you need it to go somewhere. They really live up to their new staff t-shirt slogan "On It". An example of their fine service is when Kevin was checking me into my $220 a nite poolside room it wasn't ready, so for the inconvenience and at no additional cost he upgraded me to their top of the line rockstar suite that runs about $500 a nite. I was also handed one of their miami vice drinks as soon as i walked to the desk to check in and a pina colada as I got on the elevator to go up to my room both free. Now this is a party hotel, the best on south beach, and the music is played loudly until around 5am. They don't lie when the say the Clevelander is the center of South Beach, SO THIS HOTEL IS FOR PARTY GOERS ONLY!!! Absolutely love this hotel and my wife and myself would never even consider staying at another hotel on south beach.

Room Tip: Choose a pool side room, so you can see all the action that's going on in the pool/party area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoreyMac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

On first arriving we were allowed to get in our room WAY early! The gentleman that made it happen was actually covering a shift and was still happy to be at work! I wish I knew his name! From that point on everything we could want, within there means, was provided. The room was perfect for my needs, which was strictly a nap a few times a weekend. The room was cold and the water stayed hot and everything was clean, i am VERY particular. the staff that works in this area were on point! There's was a slight drip on our a/c, which worked perfect, so we were upgraded to the Rock Star Suite at no costs. I recommend this room choice for all because you have an overview of the party area and a little more space. There was a nice sitting area in the room also that accommodated friends. The security from V Diddy and Welly made me feel safe at all moments? These gentleman would escort you down the steps and send you on the way and guide you in the right direction. Julie and Kevin at the desk also were eager to please and make you feel important. They treated each guest this way that I saw interaction with. Patient and assisting in all ways. Lee and Sharlene were my favorite at the bar! They will hold your card so you can have free hands. And NO ONE will be allowed to touch it or order from it. They made me feel special when leaving in the mornings saying "Have fun Miss Gamble" it's the little things ;) thanks Kevin! The area is perfectly located 100yrds from the beach. And it sits right on the corner of 10th which all avenues from 1-15 are the best areas to roam in. Collins and Washington run parallel with Ocean putting you basically in the front center of it all. Upon leaving Collin assisted me and made me laugh even when i wanted to cry, i didnt wanna leave. The owner, manager, and staff will be around for a much longer time. I will never stay another place in Miami Beach again! I miss them already!
A special thanks goes out to Lee, V Diddy, Kevin, Julie, Welly, Sharlene, and the gentleman with the nice goatee/mustache! Hope to see y'all soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#46 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#45 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#85 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#39 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelander South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelander South Beach Hotel

Property: Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Address: 1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelander South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clevelander brings an adult playground experience to Miami Beach being the only legendary party hotel. A 70-year tradition of fun is enhanced more than ever thanks to a complete renovation of its boutique hotel featuring 60 cozy rooms, Rock Star Suites, ground floor poolside bars, Game On Sports Bar, C-Level Rooftop Terrace and SPF4 Sundeck. Clevelander is known for being at the center of it all on South Beach in the middle of the famous Ocean Drive. Clevelander is a full service nightlife venue featuring live entertainment 7 days a week. Clevelander is famous for epic bachelor, bachelorette, holiday, and birthday parties.Clevelander is a large and versatile venue hosting groups for corporate meetings up to 1000 guests. Clevelander Hotel accepts Bitcoin currency for all products and services on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Clevelander South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelander Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing