We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Ranked #52 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights, and I have to say I will never go to another hotel when in South Beach. This place was right near everything, and right across the beach. It has a great party atmosphere, and there was always something to see or do at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I lived in South Florida about 20 years ago, and used to hang out in South Beach and the Clevelander Hotel. Since then, I've lived in California and now Pittsburgh PA. For my 50th birthday, my husband asked where I wanted to go - I thought South Florida would be a fun way to celebrate 50 years especially considering it was February! He put together an amazing South Beach party with friends coming from around the country. He decided the Clevelander Hotel would be "party central". It was the best decision ever! The service was absolutely amazing from the basic hotel room service to all the amenities. We hung out at the pool-side bar; the roof top; and had a private area set up in one of the lounges to watch the Super Bowl. No matter where we were in the Clevendar, the hospitality and service was absolutely amazing! I can't say enough about the servers. To my surprise, the food was also excellent! Of course, the drinks were fantastic too! Can't say enough about the experience we had....everyone was always smiling and willing to help and make it fun for their guests! If you're looking for a fun party get away, this is the place!

Room Tip: The Rock Star Suites were great...nice size rooms and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm from Philadelphia came down to watch the Sixers play the Heat. This hotel is located in the perfect spot and is really all you need to have a great time. If you don't wanna pay expensive club entry fees and still wanna have fun this is the place to go. Nice rooms great staff GREAT FOOD STRONG DRINKS and nice prices On bottles.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdot215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A great hotel to stay at if you want to stay on Ocean Drive, South Beach.

It is in the heart of Ocean Drive, right in the middle; the beach is across the road; Lincoln Road is just up the road; the Clevelander has several awesome bars, including outside on the ground floor, which makes it party central and Ocean Drive's other big party place, Mango's, is a few doors down.

The staff are really friendly. You also get a frozen pina colada on arrival.

The rooms were a touch on the small side and suffered from a lack of storage space for your clothes but the beds were really comfy and the shower was excellent.

Given that the hotel is such a party place i wondered whether we'd get any sleep at all because of the noise. All but one of the nights we stayed we were out until the bar closed but on our first night we went to bed early and i didn't hear any noise from the bar at all. The only problem with noise comes from your corridor outside your room. The bedroom wall/door adjacent to the corridor is not soundproofed and you can hear anyone talking outside which ought not to happen.

Anyway, although quite expensive, the Clevelander is THE place to stay on Ocean Drive. We would stay again if we ever return to South Beach (which i'm sure we will!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter-Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

As most reviews say - this is that place (assuming your young and looking to party) that when you get home and talk about your trip - your gonna say I wish we stayed at the Clevelander. Checked in 2/24 and our rock star host Chad had piña colada's waiting for us. One of bigger rooms there with a sitting area and an additional flat screen. The rest of the group stayed in rooms with twin beds and there wasn't much room for four big dudes - let alone luggage. But we only showered and as informed by Chad "only time you can sleep at this hotel is from 7am-11am" . Other than shower, sleep or entertain a "new friend or two" . The place to be is downstairs - all you have to do is look out the window and look at line of people wanting in your hotel and not to mention pay to do so.

First day we got there super early and the nice girls had no problem finding us a rock star suite so we traded bag for drinks with chad and were shown to our room. He took the time to put us by an elevator that is never crowded and goes straight to the indoor sports type bar with direct access to the outside scene. We put shorts on and headed straight to the bar - get the extra shot if you get a frozen drink - it's worth it. Ate lunch - hit beach - than meet the rest of our bachelor party back at hotel - they had a very pleasant checkin experience as well.

Showered put on our attempt at Miami wear and right back down to the pool area which is all bars and no real swimming - you are allowed to go next door to Essex house to use their pool. After dark we ate dinner which we all enjoyed - wonderful waitress split the bill 10 ways perfectly and with a smile. Don't remember much more about that night.

Trust me and the other thousand reviewers - if you want to party till 5am and have new people at your hotel every time you leave for a bit than this is the spot.

Some people complained about drink prices - it's standard south beach pricing. Your on vacation or if like me adult spring break - let go and have fun - worry about money when u get home

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MattmccKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Recently in Miami Beach and stayed two nights at Clevelander. The hotel is right in the heart of South Beach just steps to the beach. The hotel is recently renovated with a modern aesthetic.

Room was minimalist with small but functional washroom.

This is a great place to stay if you want to be in South Beach to have a good time, stay out late, go dancing, and party. If not, probably not the place for you. The hotel can be quite noisy at nighttime, since everyone else is out having a good time.

Service was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want to look out over the outdoor bar/dance area ask for a room across from the elevator, oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian_traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My friends from Missouri and I were helping to celebrate a bachelorette party. The location of the hotel is amazing, right across the street from the beach and in the heart of Ocean Drive. It's also close (walking distance) to amazing shopping. The staff at the hotel were amazing! Extremely accommodating and helped make our Miami experience even better. Great DJs, great drinks, and happy hour specials. The perfect location for a crazy, fun girls weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream South Beach
Dream South Beach
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,381 reviews
0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,418 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelander South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelander South Beach Hotel

Address: 1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $203 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelander South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clevelander brings an adult playground experience to Miami Beach being the only legendary party hotel. A 70-year tradition of fun is enhanced more than ever thanks to a complete renovation of its boutique hotel featuring 60 cozy rooms, Rock Star Suites, ground floor poolside bars, Game On Sports Bar, C-Level Rooftop Terrace and SPF4 Sundeck. Clevelander is known for being at the center of it all on South Beach in the middle of the famous Ocean Drive. Clevelander is a full-service nightlife venue featuring live entertainment 7 days a week. Clevelander is famous for epic bachelor, bachelorette, holiday and birthday parties. Clevelander is a large and versatile venue hosting groups for corporate meetings up to 1000 guests. Clevelander Hotel accepts Bitcoin currency for all products and services on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clevelander South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelander Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing