We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bachelorette Party!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clevelander South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Ranked #60 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Bachelorette Party!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My friends from Missouri and I were helping to celebrate a bachelorette party. The location of the hotel is amazing, right across the street from the beach and in the heart of Ocean Drive. It's also close (walking distance) to amazing shopping. The staff at the hotel were amazing! Extremely accommodating and helped make our Miami experience even better. Great DJs, great drinks, and happy hour specials. The perfect location for a crazy, fun girls weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    301
    103
    40
    59
See reviews for
51
322
60
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel itself looks quite modern, staff are eager to tell you how it was recently renovated. Rooms and finishes are very poor quality, looks like an Ikea showroom, you will love the translucent bathroom doors, they leave nothing to imagination. Reality is that this is a party hotel targeting the 21-25 year age group, who are happy to pay a premium to stay here. If you are not in this age bracket and party mode, stay clear, you will only regret it. For some reason none of the hotel keys work correctly, our friends and us had to each have our key cards changed. Also don't plan in checking in early, we got to hotel at 3pm didnt get our room keys until 530. They kept telling us it would be 15 mins. The place is obviously managed by amateurs. Only redeeming factor is location. You will hear music until 5am, the hotel info channel recommends the best sleep between 7am and 11am. Would not come back here if you paid me. Also beware of their excellent reviews, they are clearly staff posting info, i don't think i have seen such blatant lying in a long time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scituate20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Scituate20,

Thank you for your feedback of the Clevelander. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the rooms and bathroom doors and that you had a negative experience. In addition, we apologize for the inconvenience of the hotel keys; we are currently replacing our key card system to solve this issue. On another note, we are glad to hear that you liked our location. On your next stay at South Beach, please consider our sister property, the Essex House, which is a quieter experience. We take guest reviews very seriously, and we assure you that it is our policy that employees do not post reviews. We hope that you will visit us again during you next stay at South Beach.

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed two days at the Clevelander this past week and were very excited when we pulled up to the property. It was a great location and at the front desk we were greeted with pina colada's which was a nice touch. However, when we got to our room, we were disappointed. We were the room next to the elevator shaft and could hear it humming all day and night. The bathroom was a closet and the doors are frosted white and blue. It was just akward when you were using the facilities. We were there for two days and housekeeping never came to tidy things up or replace towells. Luckily, one does not go to Miami for the room. My husband and I loved the pool area with the bar and music at all hours. It was a great location for dancing and people watching.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunee2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Shaunee2323,

Thank you for your feedback of the Clevelander. Your opinion is of great importance to us, since customer service is our top priority. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the location and that our staff was hospitable, while welcoming you with piña coladas. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room and with the housekeeping. I assure you that these issues will be discussed with our associates. Overall, we are glad to hear that you had a positive experience in the pool area and bar. We hope to serve you again during your next visit to South Beach!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'm from Toronto and I went to Miami for the very first time from Jan 25th to 28th with my best friend for her champagne birthday and another girl. We had the time of our lives! We're so happy we decided to stay at Clevelander. From the time we arrived at the hotel we were treaty really well. We were greeted with free pina coladas and got another free drink a couple hours later when we returned to the hotel to officially check in. Our room wasn't ready when we first arrived because we were early, so when the room was ready, we were offered an additional food/beverage credit, which really came in handy. All the staff were extremely friendly and I noticed that all the staff was courteous enough to ALWAYS acknowledge us, even if with just a smile. The energy and atmosphere is like no other. There is a variety of music playing literally all day, which we loved. We loved that the hotel was the hot spot on Ocean Drive, no matter what time of day.
The rooms were a little on the small side, however still comfortable and very clean. We could hear music in our room, but it didn't bother us one bit. The food and drinks are pretty good.
The location is amazing because the hotel is right in the middle of everything - restaurants, shopping, clubs and the beach is literally right across the street.
Overall, we had no complaints, we honestly loved loved loved staying at Clevelander.
The next time I go back to Miami, I will definitely check out Clevelander as an option!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Anita M.,

Thank you for your positive feedback of the Clevelander. We are so glad to hear that your stay at the Clevelander was a positive and memorable experience! We’re thrilled that our staff was so hospitable and that you enjoyed your piña coladas, our location and the music. Customer service is our top priority, so we will let our associates know of your positive feedback! We are so happy that you experienced our fun environment during your stay and we look forward to hosting you during your next stay in Miami!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Rating this strictly as a spot to hang out. I first went here a loongg time ago when I was on Spring Break. it was literally like 2003. It was the perfect spot to start your night. All the good looking people show up here to have drinks and hang in the pool during the day / or to come by at night before going out to hit the clubs on the street. I was here most recently in 2010. Same vibe. Good place to go.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Miami from Texas for the boat show. While there we had a medical emergency and needed a doctor. Chad Moreau provided a couple of names that proved invaluable. A million thanks to Chad and the staff at The Clevelander.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Henry E.,

Thank you for your feedback of the Clevelander. We are glad to hear that you had a positive experience with us, especially with our associates. We always strive for excellent customer service, so we are very happy to hear that Chad was so helpful! We hope that you choose the Clevelander again during your next visit to South Beach!

Best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having been to the Cleve on multiple occasions I knew what to expect as far as atmosphere. Non-stop action, great people watching, awesome music; the perfect scene. However, this was the first time I ever stayed there, and wow was I impressed. My friends and I were treated like kings. The facility itself was very clean, standard room was comfortable with great interior design. The staff was extremely attentive and always promptly available when needed. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Can't wait until next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#115 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#50 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#100 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#54 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelander South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelander South Beach Hotel

Property: Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Address: 1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelander South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clevelander brings an adult playground experience to Miami Beach being the only legendary party hotel. A 70-year tradition of fun is enhanced more than ever thanks to a complete renovation of its boutique hotel featuring 60 cozy rooms, Rock Star Suites, ground floor poolside bars, Game On Sports Bar, C-Level Rooftop Terrace and SPF4 Sundeck. Clevelander is known for being at the center of it all on South Beach in the middle of the famous Ocean Drive. Clevelander is a full service nightlife venue featuring live entertainment 7 days a week. Clevelander is famous for epic bachelor, bachelorette, holiday, and birthday parties.Clevelander is a large and versatile venue hosting groups for corporate meetings up to 1000 guests. Clevelander Hotel accepts Bitcoin currency for all products and services on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Clevelander South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelander Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing