We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for the Location and not the Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Ranked #52 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have to say it was a pleasure to return back to the new hotel, but my gripe with the place is that the front of house staff tended to be a little rude, maybe they knew they were guarantee the custom being on a prime location.
Another problem you will find staying there is that there’s a constant sound of the pipe works and air conditioning sound in your room, if you are light sleeper this will bother you, and if you are going to chill and watch TV you will need to turn it up to hear it. The rooms are a lot smaller (there was nowhere to open your suitcase), and the lack of a room safe is a massive oversight. If you are a little kinky you might like the transparent bathroom doors which give you clear view of anyone taking a crap.
I like it here for its location, but don’t expect much for you money.

Room Tip: Go to it's Sister Hotel the Essex, which is right behind it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review of The Clevelander South Beach. We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our front of house staff. Friendly customer service is one of our top priorities and we take complaints very seriously. We would very much appreciate it if you would message our account with more details. We would like to discuss your experience and follow up with the appropriate managers.

Thank you,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Bellman Juan uribe was extremely courteous and informative to my friends and I throughout our stay at the clevelander I would definitely stay at the hotel again because of the warm welcome of staff like Juan

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougiefresh1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived on Thursday before Labor day! The staff was awesome and brought us drinks when we arrived!! Domingo was exceptional and the hospitality was just so genuine. The nightlife and opportunity was great with the 2 patios always having something not including the pool party that is always going on. We never had to leave our hotel for anything really! Our spot was prime realestate!! Would definitely go back again. We were initially worried about the no food/drinks rool...but they don't check bags and reallyhave a blind eye to this! We ate in our room all the time because otherwise it would be too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

….which was perfect for a Bachelor / Stag party for 16 guys from the UK. I booked a group booking with Peter (Event Sales Manager) by email and sorted the reservation and deposit with Philomese (Vacation Ambassador) over the phone and everything went very smoothly. It was reasonably priced and definitely value for money compared to other hotels in Miami.

From the moment we arrived the Clevelander Team, Scott (Front Desk) was very attentive, making sure everything was set up and checked us in. We received complimentary iced cocktails on arrival which was a nice touch after almost 18 hours of traveling. Most of the party had Classic rooms which were small but adequate as we only slept in the rooms and all the rooms were very clean. Myself and the Stag booked an Ocean Front room however on checking in we were informed that the Ocean Front room’s only had a double bed so we changed it for a Standard room with 2 singles.

Music plays all the time in the Clevelander bars and the Sports bar shows all international sports (we caught a couple of Premiership football / soccer mates). The food is pretty good and the waiters and barmaids were all good fun and got involved with our friendly banter.

The location is very central right on Ocean Drive backing on to the beach, the main nightlife is a few block away or a short cab.

Lastly brings me on to our “Rock Star Host” Chad, basically the hotel Concierge who is brilliant. Chad helped immensely in organising our agenda for the weekend, booking us table service and on to guest list for clubs Cameo, Mansion and Nikki Beach. We had no problems getting in, which is sometimes a problem with a large group of guys. He also recommended great places to drink, eat and go for entertainment. Make sure you speak to Chad for advice on where to go he made out trip very enjoyable and run like clockwork.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in Miami to Party.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Ny friend and I stayed here for four days. We were looking to relax, enjoy the beach and just have fun. We did all that and more. The hotel was beautiful and clean. The staff were wonderful. The nightlife was the hot spot of ocean drive. You will love it if you like to have fun.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Right position to have fun, choose room with ocean view.
Do not choose if you like a quiet place and no music around you.
Do not care about the noise surronding you, it's Miami. Disco at ground floor and roof top.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcgcgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Hello!

Thank you for reviewing The Clevelander South Beach. We’re glad you enjoyed our prime South Beach location and beautiful ocean views! It’s true that our prime location comes with the best in South Beach nightlife. Though we’re not necessarily the best option for a long night’s sleep in Miami, our sister hotel Essex House has a much more peaceful atmosphere. Essex House might be a good option for your next trip to Miami as it has the same central location as The Clevelander.

We hope that we’ll be able to make your next vacation to Miami a memorable and comfortable one!

Best wishes,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A group of us went down to South Beach for my cousin's bachelorette party. We stayed at the Essex House Hotel (next door away from the noise a bit) but spent a lot of time at the Clevelander. The C level roof top lounge was a great find. The staff was helpful and friendly, bringing us cold water and cold compresses when it got warm and providing towels, magazines, whatever we needed. We spent Friday night at the ground-level bar and it was a blast! I was really surprised at how easy it was to get a drink at the bar considering how packed it was - plus they had great music and fun dancers on stage. It was just what we were looking for to celebrate with the bachelorette. We ate at the Clevelander for lunch one day, and the food was pretty good too. Probably wouldn't stay for a romantic weekend, but for a night out with girlfriends, definitely the place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JonzeeAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream South Beach
Dream South Beach
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,383 reviews
0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,421 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,484 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Croydon
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelander South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelander South Beach Hotel

Address: 1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $203 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelander South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clevelander brings an adult playground experience to Miami Beach being the only legendary party hotel. A 70-year tradition of fun is enhanced more than ever thanks to a complete renovation of its boutique hotel featuring 60 cozy rooms, Rock Star Suites, ground floor poolside bars, Game On Sports Bar, C-Level Rooftop Terrace and SPF4 Sundeck. Clevelander is known for being at the center of it all on South Beach in the middle of the famous Ocean Drive. Clevelander is a full-service nightlife venue featuring live entertainment 7 days a week. Clevelander is famous for epic bachelor, bachelorette, holiday and birthday parties. Clevelander is a large and versatile venue hosting groups for corporate meetings up to 1000 guests. Clevelander Hotel accepts Bitcoin currency for all products and services on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clevelander South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelander Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing