We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #91 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed August 26, 2005

we just came back from our stay at the catalina.

the hotel has some problems, probably due to poor management.

we didnt have enough towels.

the complimentary happy hour drinks it was only for two drinks per person per day from 7 to 8 pm (not beer included and not premium liquour of course). the free hot dogs at the pool were terrible although the cook was very nice (from 12 to 2 pm). the alcohol avaliable at the bar was very poor quality.

one of the bartenders?? (the skinny girl i think she is from italy) was rude and she didnt know how to fix a rum runner (the other bartender told us later that we couldnt get that drink anyways because they didnt have the ingredients).

the complimentary breakfast was limited to some bad coffee, some juices and some type of mini croissants.

they say is free but they put the jar of tips in front of you which means if you dont tip you will get [-] service next time...

the helpers were nice and helpful like one of the ladies at the front desk (renee).

she recommended us a tour of the city which we enjoyed it.

the shuttle works (thanks god).

i didnt hear a lots of noises like i read in some reviews.

the location is very good, very close to the beach.

overall is if you dont wanna spend a lot of money book this hotel but remember you get what you pay for...

i dont know if i wanna come back.

i found the rooms nice but the maids needs to clean more.

at check out they charge 15 dollars in resort fees. the swimming pool is nice but they need to clean a little more the area.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,684)
There are newer reviews for Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,864 - 3,870 of 4,684 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
34
Reviewed August 22, 2005

I stayed for 4 nights at the Catalina with 2 friends in August. Overall, it was perfect for what we needed - a place to sleep & to get ready to go to the beach and go out. We didn't spend much time in the room. We did have a few complaints, our room wasn't cleaned completely before we checked in (things missing from the mini-bar, no towels, etc.) but were immediately fixed once we voiced our concern. We ended up being moved to a new room for the duration of our stay because of so many problems with the first room. Overall, the staff was responsive to our requests and concerns, it was just too bad that there were problems to begin with. Overall though, it was fine. Great location on Collins Ave, close to the beach. If you are planning a trip and don't plan to spend your vacation in your room, this hotel was perfect.

Stayed: August 2005
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

After reading some of the reviews here I was a little skeptical about booking it for our recent trip...I went ahead and took a chance anyway and it was fine! The decor is cool, the rooms were clean, no problem with housekeeping or getting towels. There werent even any parties in the lobby and we were there on the week-end.

The pool area was the best. the bartenders were all very friendly as was the cook. free hamburgers and hot dogs all day. The price of drinks is a little stiff (10.00) but you can always make your own and bring them down.

Would definately stay here again, close to everything and affordable.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trublu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Daytona Beach
1
Reviewed August 15, 2005

My boyfriend and I are in the hospitality industry so we have a tendency to critique all hotels we stay at during our vacations. The Catalina in South Beach is unique in that everything is white with red accents. When you walk in the lobby there are white couches, white chairs, white curtains, and white tile floors, with several red accents. Such as, red shag rug that runs throughout the entire hotel, red lamps, and red art decor.

The room is decorated in the same way. As soon as I stepped into the room I felt like I walked into a New York apartment. It had wood floors (painted white), vanity, radio, small cooler, iron (no ironing board), the bed rested on the floor, and a perculiar bathroom, all this in white with one red accent that was a 4-foot lamp that draped the bed, and had a tendancy to hit us in the head whenever we tried to move around in the bed. The bed was absolutely the best hotel bed we've ever slept in. It had a feather down comforter, several feathered pillows, and sheets. We slept like babies, except for the constant ringing of the phone throughout the night. When you picked up the phone there was no one on the other side but static, which became extremely annoying. I am a light sleeper and the phone ringing, after awhile, started getting on my nerves. The worst experience we have ever had with housekeeping was in this hotel. They continually knocked at our door at 9:30am, 10:30am, and 11:30am (12noon was check out). There was no "No Disturb" sign therefore we continually had to get up and answer the door to tell them we did not need housekeeping. Not only that it was a different maid every time. UGH!!!!

Overall we thought the hotel was well priced, and different. But we will not go back due to the continued annoyance we faced with the phone ringing and the housekeepers knocking at our door all morning. Think twice before making a reservation at this hotel.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa, Ontario
1
Reviewed July 27, 2005

We stayed at the Catalina Hotel July 2-4. At first we were happy with what we saw but then our opinion changed based on the following:

1. There were no bathrobes in our room yet somehow I ended up with a $165 charge that appeared on my credit card 2 days after we'd checked out. This charge was only explained to me on July 28th after 4 phone calls asking about it. Last week I was told they would reverse the charge but when I still hadn't seen it, I called back and was told it was for these non-existent bathrobes. Now I have to call back again to try and convince them we didn't get any bathrobes! Not impressed.

2. The floor is painted hardwood and was never mopped while we were there. It got pretty dirty and we stopped walking in our bare feet.

3. After the room was cleaned, they never left towels. We had to call more than once each day to get them. One time, we actually went to the front desk to get them after waiting for an hour - there were no apologies from them.

4. We stayed in the 2nd building and there were some pretty sad-looking parties going on in the lobby (looked like friends of the DJ). The music was as loud as if you were in a nightclub but there were never more than 10-15 people at this *party*. When leaving the hotel, you had to walk through this *crowd* of people.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My friend and I stayed at the Catalina during the 4th of July weekend. The Catalina is supposed to be a little "boutique hotel." My advice is to stay at one of the chain hotels like the Doubletree which is only a block away from the Catalina. Anyway, Our room at the Catalina was not completed. The light fixture in the bathroom was not secured. The toilet paper holder was not affixed to the wall (we found it under the sink.) There was no hand soap in the bathroom. There were no small wash clothes to take a bath. We had to bathe with medium-sized hand towels. We had an iron but no ironing board. One day the maid service didn't bother to check/clean our room at all. On the second day we requested another room. Of course the manager felt as if we should've been satisfied since most hotel rooms in South Beach are more expensive (during the holiday) than this one. After we were moved to another room we noticed that the air unit was on the outs. So we had to wait for the repairman to come in to take care of it. We also requested to have money deducted from our balance for the inconvenience. This is supposed to be a newly renovated hotel. But, from the looks of it the carpet is in desperate need of replacement. No restaurant either!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed July 20, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,277 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,276 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,933 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#70 of 210 in Miami Beach
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $99 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing