We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #89 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed March 8, 2009

I found all of the staff to be courteous and helpful, including the front desk. The rooms were not dirty, it is just clearly an old building. I am also not the type to take pictures of the corners of the bathroom. The point of my vacation was the beach, and for that, this hotel was fantastic! It was a very short walk to the beach, in a nice central location for food and shopping. The elevator, while small, was prompt and quick. I also found that I had no problem with noise, despite being in the Catalina and not one of the neighboring buildings (other reviews have noted being unable to sleep). I also enjoyed that, while I didn't have a view, when I opened the shades the windows filled the room with sunlight (not just a tiny little box window). For the price I paid, I was surprised at how little problems I had, frankly. If you are looking for prime luxury, go to the Ritz. If you want a nice place to sleep and hang out, stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,671 - 3,677 of 4,784 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2009

Me and my husband stayed at Catalina just for 2 days and was enough to never came back again.
The hotel is a mix of motel and club. The entire hotel is dark, is impossible not have a headache there. First we got there, they gave us a room at first floor at front pool, but was impossible stay in this room because it was impossible to open the curtains with people looking at us. I have to ask them to move us. They gave us a room at third floor, so we could at least open the curtains and let the sun light came in.
The cleanliness of the room was terrible. Rest of lettuce and hair at the shelf, at the bathroom and for all floor. I hate every minute in this hotel.
Oh! And about that smell? The entire hotel smells a strong product or parfum, probably to hide that poor cleaness.
When we were making our luggage to check out, we found an underpants at floor, between bed and curtain. It was disgusting!
We´ll never came back at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaFernanda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Horrible customer service and the front desk staff do not know how to properly use the system. We were wrongly charged for the hotel room, which was already paid through priceline. We were repeatedly told by the staff that they had resolved the issue with priceline, yet they still charged us for the room without our knowledge...not a fun surprise to discover after returning home from vacation.

Countless hours have been spent on the phone with numerous staff members, yet little progress has been made because no one understands the problem or knows how to resolve it. As a result, we've been the ones working on an issue that should solely be between priceline and the Catalina.

I would not recommend this hotel if you expect quality customer service, or simply staff that have been properly trained for the job.

I will say that the concierge, Charlie, was helpful in addition to one other staff member-- besides those two, major training needs to be done!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UM0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Recently returned from a weekend trip to South Beach. I've stayed in many hotels in South Beach and Coconut Grove and I'd rate this hotel a 6.5 out of ten. For one when booking a room in South Beach, "Art Deco" means old hotel where we throw on some paint and some trendy furniture. The location is ideal. You are within walking distance to everywhere. The rooms are very, very small. The service is "fair" at best. That seems to be standard in South Beach. Overall not an awful stay, and I would recommend if you are looking for something in the $125 a night category.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

I would echo the other reviews. Dark, dark hallways to small room with tile bathroom. Rusted fixtures in bathroom, despite very loud, clanky exhaust fan. Room smelled like Chlorox, but another guest warned me not to complain, or I would be moved to a worse room, as her friend had. Hotel entrance through nightclub/bar in each of the three buildings, and second floor room got the benefit of the bar's music.
Location was near Lincoln shopping, but adjacent to boarded up buildings and homeless rest stop (and urinal).
I, too, had to wait a long time, twice, for check-in. The desk staff rushed through his introductory remarks in a bored mumble, so I never really figured out what was offered when. Check-out was speedy, since I was the only one checking out at 3:30 am. I was charged an extra $10 after I left, probably because I jiggled the honor bar to stop the rattling noise in the middle of the night. There were no drawers, or shelves to put clothes on, because the one available shelf was for the snacks for sale tray.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

I travel often as a corporate pilot, visiting many hotels, so this one was a treat. After staying in many typical hotels, ie. Marriott, Hilton, and Double Tree, I was ready for something different. This place was in a grand location, close to Lincoln Street,Ocean Drive, and of course the beach. The Decor is Art-deco and some what "old" but "new" You will just have to experience it for your self to know what I mean. We got two standard rooms on price-line for $50 per room and it was well worth it. From the mini-bar, and snacks, to the lounge overlooking Collins Ave, which is A1A beachfront, it was Super. I would stay here again if we return in the future. I don't drink alcohol, but they also have a free happy hour, if you desire.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natornator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

This Hotel is great for the money I spent. I called ahead to see if they had availability and got a walk-in rate for 44.00 a night plus an extra 10.00/per day resort fee.
This hotel consists of 3 buildings in a row each having it's own identity with two pools. Each Building has it's own restaurant/bar and front walk patio. The room I had was modern and clean. The only thing I can complain about is the noise. Walls are very thin and you can hear the person next-door. You will definitely hear the sound of doors slamming during the night. The staff at the front desk were amazing and very helpful with any questions I had asked.
You are central to everything South Beach has to offer, with your major hotels right across the street. You are a 3-5 minute walk to the Beach, CVS Pharmacy, Walgreen's and Shopping.
The famous Ocean Drive strip isn't far at all....it's a nice 5-10min walk either on the street or the pathway that runs all along the beach. Bring your camera because there's plenty of things to photograph.
I've been to South Beach many times and would stay here again for the price....Would I stay for 150.00 a night??? I'd shop around if I had the time....

RayRay
Toronto

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rayray999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,347 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,561 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $132 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing