We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and perfect for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #88 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami
1 review
“Fun and perfect for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I would like to start off by saying that I currently work in hospitality at a four star hotel and the service here could have been better. I had called down for room service and was told that there wouldn't be any room delivery and I would have to go and get the food myself, so I passed on the food. Then as I was trying to get my car from valet I was given a lot of attitude from the woman at the front desk instead of her trying to accommodate me. When working in hospitality you should not try to argue with your guests you should be more than willing to try to make anything possible. However, Tyrell at concierge was more than helpful and very friendly! Miguel the bell hop was also an amazing help ! Overall the hotel was great. The rooms were perfect and very clean! The hotel is very fun and lively and I like that especially when staying in south beach! Also the Catalina is in the perfect spot, very close to a lot of great restaurants, shopping, and the beach!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbabeinmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Good Day Beachbabeinmiami! We take every comment seriously and want to ensure we are able to address the positives as well as the opportunities gleaned from every stay. Our General Manager is aware of your comments and will raise this issue with our team in our next weekly staff meeting! I see that you were content with the room and the cleanliness. We hope that you would give us another chance in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,721
    1,337
    669
    360
    533
See reviews for
512
1,442
369
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our stay in Catalina was perfect! the hotel is in the center, rooms are very nice and everyone was really really kind with us, they helped us a lot. People at the front desk are very efficient and nice, the best one for me and my friend was Jonathan Solau, very helpful, always smiling and kind!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Great review elisa a! There is nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! We are stoked that you had such a great time! Jonathan is lovely and all of our guests seem to think so as well! I will make sure to share your kind praise with him!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Me and my friend spent at Catalina quite few nights and we had a great experience. The location is in the centre of miami beach, the room was perfect and also the service.
All the people that work there were really really kind with us and helped us a lot. Everyone was lovely besides Juan Arias which was not kind at all and in our last day we had problems because of him, his colleague told me he was having a bad day but I don't really care about you having a bad day when you work with people and moreover with people that are on holiday! Everyone knows that if you work in contact with people you need always to smile and be polite even if you are having a bad day, that's the difficult thing about these kind of jobs so, if you are rude maybe you should choose a different job I think :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
elisa a, this is one of my favorite reviews ever! Thank you so much for the five stars and the fantastic shout outs to out team! I will make sure that Juan and his manager is aware of your kind praise! All of our staff must provide outstanding service to our guests. Please let us know when you will be back and we will be sure to roll out our red carpet once again. See you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I visited the catalina hotel in June for 3 nights with some friends. It was a very nice hotel definitely somewhere to stay if your there to party. Super convenient right across from the beach. I wasn't too happy about the size of the room it was pretty small but it was very clean. I was happy with their happy hour and the free bike rentals I had a blast!. Everyone was friendly and professional I loved the rooftop pool and I had some of the best sushi at the hotel. I ended up leaving my watch behind after check out and I was extremely pleased with how helpful everyone was with helping me receive it back. I would definitely recommend This hotel if you are traveling with friends and want to have a good time. A special thank you to Yulexis, Leo and Sergio Valdez for helping me get my watch back they were so much help.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lexisnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Good Evening Lexisnicole,

We welcome everyone that wants to have a great time, to come and stay with us! We are a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average rooms. We offer larger rooms for those guests who need more space. Our Living Large room is 245 sq ft, and our El Grande room is 280 st ft. Perhaps the next time you come you can reserve one of those rooms. I will make sure to share your feedback with the mentioned staff! We would love to have you stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I had stayed at the redbury next door the previous week - and yes, it's nicer in decoration, but I'm not sure it's worth three times the price of the Catalina! This place is definitely value for money. The halls give you the impression that the rooms are going to be damp and dingy but they're really lovely. Art Deco style - as you'd expect in the Art Deco district. Staff are super helpful and friendly. The complex is huge. It's really close to ocean drive and Lincoln street. Highly recommend! Suggest you save a couple of hundred bucks a night by staying here and use the savings to buy drinks or go shopping!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hongkongfoodie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello Hongkongfoodie2014,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us! Our prices are definitely unbeatable, and we include a great load of amenities! Our team is great and knows what great service is all about. We look forward to a future visit from you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was all over the expetecions, a party hotell fitted for the perfection honeymoon, Thanks to the staff, Tyrell the conciliere, Tomic, and the wonderful bartender Jade, we were there juli 2013. Lov

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Great review Christian K!! Our staff all work hard to make sure that everyone is having a killer time! I will make sure to inform the mentioned staff about your kind praise! Please come back and stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I traveled with 5 of my 30 year old girlfriends for a bachelorette from June 28 - July 2! The number one thing I have to say is location, location, location! The catalina is in the ideal place for restaurants, the beach etc and is a quick cheap cab ride to the bars we went to on Ocean! Honestly, for a group of friends this is a perfect place! Of course there are things that could have been better (some service was questionable, the room keys always lost their mag stripe capabilities, and the torrential downpours lead to some wet floors by the windows in our room) but for the most part, since it is a 3 star hotel, it was great. If you are looking for luxury and 5 star service don't stay here, but all of my expectations were met being a 3 star. Special thanks to Tyrell - the concierge who, truthfully, made our stay absolutely perfect! He was so kind and helpful and answered all of our questions!! Big thank you Tyrell! And not to be forgotten is Eddie the doorman! What a gentleman! Thanks Catalina for making our trip unforgettable!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank missmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Good Evening missmorrow,

We are delighted to read that your time spent with us was a positive one! We are in such a fantastic location, as we are just blocks away from all the hottest spots. We advise our guests not to place their key cards next to their phones, as this is how the key cards are deactivated. Tyrell is absolutely amazing and all of our guests seem to think so as well. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,230 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hotel Croydon
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,382 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#90 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,181 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing