We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a weekend! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #89 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a weekend! :)”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here about a year ago with a few of my girlfriends for my bachelorette party and I only have wonderful things to say about the Catalina hotel and it's staff!

I read the other reviews and can see where they would be upset. I do recommend booking a room NOT in the main center building unless you are in Miami to be loud, rowdy, and awake at odd hours. We stayed in the building to the north and have zero noise/privacy complaints.

The rooftop pool was a hit with us! Perfect Miami weather, the water was the perfect temperature, and he drinks were poured strong. There is always something going on in Miami and this is a nice little escape from the crowds at Nikki Beach or off Ocean Drive.

I cannot speak more highly of the concierge! Tyrell was personable, professional, and offered out the best suggestions as to where we should spend our time that weekend. He made it easy to have fun that weekend with little planning on our part.

Use the complimentary transportation! It's there, it's free, and it beats getting stuck in a cab with smells of last nights passengers lingering in the seats.

I would recommend the Catalina and will definitely consider staying here again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good Morning Nicole G,

We value all of our guests feedback and we would like to thank you for sharing yours with us!! We are delighted to read that you had such a great time here at The Catalina Hotel! The rooftop pool is a fun place to hangout, get sun while sipping on refreshing cocktails. Tyrell is absolutely great and all of our guests love him! He knows all about the hottest spots on South Beach! We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,731
    1,349
    677
    363
    540
See reviews for
521
1,460
370
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Location was great, but the service was horrible and my room was not cleaned specially the tub, my room location was a bad choice by the hotel due to loud noise at night at the lobby. I never slept to my entire stay there. When I asked to change the room, they say they will have charge me $50 more. The room by the lobby should never be rent by the hotel. People need to sleep. By the way, make sure next time they check the room before they rent it. The tub was dirty.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilhudson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello there lilhudson10,

Thank you for taking your time to share your honest feedback with us regarding your recent visit at The Catalina Hotel. We are located just blocks away from all the action. We are terribly sorry to learn that you were not given great service by our team! We are currently in the middle of one of the biggest music conferences- Winter Music Conference. There is typically DJ's spinning in the lobby and there is more noise. It clearly states this on our website. A lot of our guests are here in South Beach to party and do not mind the music from the lobby. If we were aware of this before you checked in, we would have definitely placed you in a room towards the back of the hotel on a higher floor.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently stayed there again. Their sushi is absolutely the best!!! It was raining but the suuuper nice and helpful concierge Tyrel gave us nice indoor activity advice. Gene and Jonathan where very friendly too. Housekeeping staff is clean and we had again a good stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlinemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Good Morning Mlinemd,

There is absolutely nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! Thank you for sharing it with us and all of our future guests! FUNG KU has some delicious so and it's all fresh ingredients! Tyrell our concierge is amazing and all of our guests love him, and the service that he provides! Gene and Jonathan at the front desk are great as well! I will definitely make sure that they are aware of your kind praise! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

hotel looks nice, staff not so much. We found ROACHES in the bathroom!! No one should ever book with them again. They didn't give a refund like we wanted. All they would suggest was a different room although we were already in the "Better" rooms according to the manager.. The managers are horrible, offer no solutions. save your money and don't book with this place! I'm advising you in advance. I wish someone else would have done the same for us.

Room Tip: NONE !! do not stay here. unless you like roaches...then be my guest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello there Erik P,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your feedback with us! We are terribly sorry to read that your stay here was not a 5 star experience! We would like to apologize for the situation you ran into with the critters. We advise all of our guests not to open their windows as this is how they come in. We would love for you to give us another chance in the future. I would like to personally handle your reservation, and make sure your time with us is an all-out success!! Please let me know when you will be back in Miami!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpe, Spain
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

First time @ this hotel very well located, thanks to the staff & in particular, jonathan, front desk, that helped us very professionaly to do what we wanted to do, also @ your bar, we had a great time thanks to a very good bar tender by the name of adrienne, we will be back !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huguetteetleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Huguetteetleon,

We are grateful for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are located just blocks away from all the hottest spots on South Beach. Our team here at Catalina is always hard at work to make sure that you are having a fantastic time! I will make sure to inform the mentioned staff about your kind praise! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at the Catalina for a dual bachelorette party. Tyrell was our personal concierge. Before we even arrived he communicated with us to make sure we had everything we needed for our arrival. He went above and beyond with any request we had. We literally felt like Hollywood stars with VIP treatment the entire stay. Robert, the manager of the Asian fusion restaurant, FKU, spoiled us, making sure we felt special while having a blast.
The hotel has a very sexy South beach vibe to it. We loved the ambiance feel it had. We were close enough to bike or walk to most of our destinations.The ones that were a little further were a cheap cab ride away.
The only real downside we had was the size of our hotel room and bathrooms. Upgrading to a larger suite would be wise if you have a larger group of girls trying to get ready like we did.
The hotel also has 2 pools which are amazing, bikes to rent, beach side chairs, and great happy hour.
The biggest deciding factor on returning again would definitely be due to the VIP service Tyrell gave us. Hands down, he will make sure every aspect of your stay is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmeekiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello there Kimmeekiss,

We appreciate all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! Tyrell the concierge is absolutely wonderful! All of our team is always hard at work to make sure that everyone is enjoying their time spent with us! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the hottest spots. We have 2 pools here at The Catalina Hotel. A bamboo pool that is located on the ground floor and the rooftop pool. We hope that the next time you are in Miami you will come and stay with us again! We would love to have you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a Fun and very Pleasant Hotel. The ambiance was so friendly. Our room was located on the first floor and the room was great. The pool area is so hype and Adrienne the bartender was very kind and helpful. She has the nicest smile. We asked the Staff on the front desk for "What is there to do in Miami" and Jonathan suggested many things and was so helpful. He even translated to my husband in French… Such a nice young man. We definitely will recommend the Catalina as a wonderful hotel to stay in Miami. We will be back….the frenchies

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Good Day Jeanne1958,

There is nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! Thank you so much for sharing it with us, and our future guests! We are delighted to read that you had such a great time here at The Catalina Hotel! Adrienne the bartender at Red Bar is absolutely wonderful and all of our guests seem to think so as well! I will definitely make sure to inform her of your kind praise! Jonathan is in the know of all the hottest places to go and things to do while here. We can't wait to have the frenchies stay with us again! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,275 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,240 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,913 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing