We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great staff. However rooms.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #89 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Location, location, LOCATION makes it worth staying here. It is nice to have the free happy hour, the bike rental, the airport pick up, beach club. It is also really important to have a restaurant open 24/7 with proper food and not just fast food. I received an upgrade to the hotel penthouse, which was amazing from the staff (they are all very attentive and super friendly). However the hotel does have a sense of decay and old. The room was in poor conditions. There was a funky smeel coming out of the restroom. The painting from the walls were falling, the carpet feels dirty and old. It has a very antique feeling. I believe they should consider on making this a little bit nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hello there Tania O,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are definitely in a lovely location on South Beach! We offer a load of money saving amenities to all of the guests that stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of our staff. We hope that you would stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,194 - 2,200 of 4,840 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Dirty, smelly, staff is non responsive at best. Pretty much the worst hotel I´ve ever stayed. Looks good. Lot´s of good reviews which I just dont understand. We simply got taken for fools. Dont let that happen to you.
Staying in a rented car is heaven compared to that dump. Hotel it does not deserve to be named.

Room Tip: Stay at your own risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notsag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Good Afternoon Notsag,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are extremely sorry to read that you did not have an amazing time here at The Catalina Hotel! I will make sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of our staff.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good location, very friendly staff, room was poorly sound insulated, rooftop bar/pool played loud rap/techno all afternoon. Free airport shuttle and bikes were appreciated. Several excellent places to dine within a few blocks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenTheTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hello there KenTheTraveler2014,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! We are located in a prime spot on South Beach. Our staff is always eager to provide excellent customer service! I see that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer as well. Please come back soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

we booked the catalina last minute. it was the cheapest option in the area on collins ave (288/night). they put us in room 100 right off the lobby. i knew this was going to be terrible, but went with it. friday night was fine. saturday night however, not so much. we were awakened at 1:30am by boisterous laughter and glasses clanking. 20 min later i called the front desk and asked them to ask the people to please keep it down. the noise continued. i called again. same deal. they quieted for maybe 45 min then started back up again. at 3:30am i called again. at that point the clerk told me that the bar closed at 3am but they have a liquor license until 5am! obviously, i flipped out and thankfully the noise ended. the next morning i intended to speak with the manager but he doesn't get in until 11am and we wanted to start our day. they did end up waving the resort fees for us (a whopping 50 bucks). in my opinion, not enough but when the manager doesn't roll in until 11am and is only available during peak sun time, what can you do?

bottom line, if you wanna party, stay here. if you want to relax and be a person, do not stay here.

Room Tip: whatever you do, DO NOT let them put you in room 100!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taracita21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hello there taracita21,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us and all of our future guests! We apologize that the noise continued until the early morning. We cannot control our guests behavior but we do the best that we can do make sure that things don't get out of control. Guests do indeed come to Miami to party and have a great time. I will make sure that the General Manager is aware of this, so that it doesn't happen again. I am glad that we were able to compensate you for the inconveniences that you experienced here.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My stay in Miami was unforgettable the people are awesome not what i expected. our stay at the Rivera Suites was good. We received great help by Tyrell at the Catalina who helped us with all our outings. cant wait to go back

Room Tip: does not matter what room your in. cause your never in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIAMIMARY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Good Day MIAMIMARY2014,

We value all of our guests feedback and we are very delighted to know that you were given great service by Tyrell our Concierge. He is wonderful and knows all about the hottest spots on South Beach! I will make sure to let him know of your lovely praise!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have never left a review before but seeing some of the other reviews really shocked me. My girlfriend and I stayed here during spring break and from the moment we got here till we left we were so impressed. First of all the property is gorgeous. Between their roof top pool, second pool surrounded in towering bamboo, and overall property it was the perfect getaway, we really felt as thought we had spend two or three times what we did and ended up with a little piece of paradise. Jean M at the desk was extremely polite and helpful. We asked him about restaurants in the area and he took his time assisting us, even asking other employees about their favorites. He even told us when to book our rooms to get the best rate, that's something I've never experienced before. We ended up going to Flame, as Tyrell recommended that (along with joes stone crab shack) when my girlfriend asked about the best seafood place, and it was delicious. If like Mr. FrequenTravelere2014 you want a hotel room where you can sit behind you computer all day working, or have who knows how many beauty products I can see how the setup is not ideal but I traveled with my gf who has more product than I knew existed and she had no issue. It is located on Collins street which is very popular and being Miami if people are out partying there is nothing the hotel can do about that. Overall I could not have been happier booking here as I did much research before hand and my girlfriend and I will be staying here every time we come visit Miami. I got my parents to book a night here from all the pictures and stories:-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Good Afternoon Bart H,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful 5 star feedback with us! We are extremely glad that you had a great time here at The Catalina Hotel. Our prices are unbeatable, for a great time, in a great location with money saving amenities to go with- you just can't beat it! :) All of our staff is always hard at work to make sure that everyone is enjoying their time here, and that everything is well maintained! I will definitely make sure to inform the mentioned staff about your kind praise! We can't wait to have your parents stay with us, and we hope to have you back soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The entire staff was great. Tyrell was very helpful in planning our weekend from our dining to partying. Alexander saved the trip when he located a lost cell phone. Jerry provided friendly service at the pool. Tanya made sure we were well fed. The hotel was in an excellent location in walking distance to everything. I did not want to leave as the staff was excellent. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candygirl512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Good Afternoon candygirl512,

We absolutely love to read 5 STAR FEEDBACK!!!!!! Thank you so much for taking your time to share it with us, and all of our future guests! We are extremely glad to know that you had such a great time while staying with us! Our staff is always hard at work to make sure that everyone is enjoying their time here with us! I will make sure that all of the mentioned staff is aware of your kind praise! We hope that you make us your go-to hotel when visiting South Beach again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,386 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,484 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,613 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#33 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $150 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing