We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous staff, great location, and beautiful, spacious suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #90 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A few girls and I stayed at the Catalina Hotel on Collins Avenue for a Bachelorette Party weekend and it was wonderful! The Bachelorette Party package that Catalina offers was great, including free airport shuttle to/from MIA airport, Happy Hour with free drinks nightly from 7pm-8pm, 2 free beach chairs, bike and towel rental, VIP club access passes and deals to the Opium Group nightclubs, free cart to their sister properties on South Beach, and a bottle of Vodka upon arrival - for such a great price! Their El Grande room is very spacious and definitely accommodated us 5 girls! The room came with a large king bed in 1 bedroom and a queen sofa sleeper in the living room area as well as 2 bathrooms and 2 showers! They even decorated the room with a hot pink boa, a Bachelorette shot glass necklace and the bottle of chilled Vodkal!! When we checked in, Eddie (bellhop) was so helpful with enthusiastically carrying our bags and also mentioned that if there's anything we need, to just let him or the staff know! Sabrina and Jenny (front desk) were also very helpful and fast with check-in and check-out. This hotel really made our weekend so great because of its location, too! It is located walking distance from Lincoln Road Mall (5 mins) as well as a 20-30 min walk to Ocean Drive's main action-packed area (Clevelander, Mango's, etc). Thanks Catalina Hotel for a great stay!!

Room Tip: El Grande for Bachelorette Parties!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoRo520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,381 - 2,387 of 4,718 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everything about this hotel was great it wasn't so clean in the lobby but the rooms were emasculate!! The staff in the hotel were very friendly and the service was great!! It was in a great location the only thing was at night there were a lot of homeless people and beggars gathered outside the hotel it gave a scary feeling but apart from that we had a great stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 880Chloe_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful great location one block from beach and two blocks from outside mall the restaurant there maxines has by far the best food in south beach and the bars at the hotel have free drinks for happy hour from 7-8 every night

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7000TrishaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night - it is essentially 3 hotels in one. Check in and unloading with your own car was tricky- we managed to unload and then I drove to a car park on 17th street ($20 for 24 hours). Check in was OK and we paid $20 for one early check in. Rooms are fine and the whole atmosphere is very nice. Since it is 3 buildings everything is a little disjointed. The location on Collins Ave is great - plenty to see and do without the need for a car.
As an aside, the price of beers was a bit much but overall a really nice experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shytot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Came down for a short stay w my 15 yo son.booked last minute thru booking.com hotel shuttle a plus, location great.liked free beach chairs courtyard pool was quiet and relaxing.staff was very pleasant and seemed to care a lot.
Cons: dark halls, bad drainage in shower, when you reach in to turn on the shower you get soaked.get undressed first the on off was in a wierd spot.carpet really needs replacing.room no cleaned til late afternoon. Duvet had to be replaced nasty.thanks to front desk they took care of it.
Overall it was ok for the price, I get old and how the walls were thin.But I'm happy to have only paid 200. Ttl per night.More than that and I would have been really disappointed.
PS do what you can to hang on to the staff.They deserve a better environment!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idiversue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I only stayed here one night but I'd stay here again based on the location alone. The staff during the day was ok, not the best, but the overnight staff was very helpful. The bar had a free happy hour in the evening which is always great and the room was as expected. Free wifi :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AssiaMoretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staff at Catalina Hotel is what makes the hotel so awesome. They showed me such a warm welcome and guided me through my whole experience in South Beach, from excellent concierge service to new linens in the night. The rooms are great and the red theme of the hotel gives a great positive vibe. The staff was always polite and most important helpful. One staff member that really stood out to me was Juan at front desk. He was so knowledge and always eager to help me with any questions I had. Juan was obliging and helpful with my luggage and car valet, as well as giving tips to the best local places to visit! Juan went above and beyond, he made me feel as a very special and important guest! Also you can’t beat the location! Right by the beach. We stayed for 3 nights and every day was a joy! The restaurants at Catalina are great, with how quick the service was to how good the food tasted. The bar downstairs is very convenient and the outside sitting area has an amazing relaxing view. I really enjoyed my stay. And definitely will stay there again! (Thank you Juan for such a great experience!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofelia702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,289 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,314 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,975 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $87 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing