We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and trendy but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #89 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I spend a night in Catalina Hotel.We did have some issues with the overall experience.First of all we were waiting for the shuttle bus to pick us up from the airport but it takes way to long and the bus driver never saw us .The room was clean and the size ok, but during the night it was very noisy from the upstairs room. Try to stay on the second floor .I complained about the noise but nothing happened.On the other hand it's very central and the free drinks for an hour are a great idea.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Good Afternoon Pearlan,

Your feedback on Trip Advisor is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! I am terribly sorry to read about the issue that you experienced with the shuttle! Unfortunately the airport has many strict regulations that we have to abide. One of them being- the shuttles are not allowed to stop anywhere for any period of time if they are not picking up passengers. If you were not at the right gate and door, the shuttle is not able to wait for you. I am glad that you were content with the cleanliness of your room as well as the size. We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. We are working on finding a solution for the noise. We are always trying to make it fair to the party goers and the guests that are here to relax and get a great nights sleep. I see that you were happy with the location of our property as well as the amenities that we have to offer!

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,547 - 2,553 of 4,875 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Avoid this hotel if you have not personally seen it and liked it,looking at pictures online will not give you an accurate picture. We booked it online and checked out 2 hours later after check in. The hotel looks more like a brothell than anything else, the room ( the one we got) had nothing boutique about it, except maybe some bad choice of lamps. The room was freezing cold and even though we called the reception nothing happened ( at least during the 2 hours we stayed at the hotel). Some staff are friendly but nothing compensates the rest that is wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreea198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hello Andreea198,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely sorry to read that you didn't have an amazing time while staying with us!! We are indeed a boutique hotel with a funky kick to it. I would love to look into the issue that you experienced a little more. Can you please provide me with the name that your reservation was placed under? I look forward in hearing from you!

Have a great day!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

So I found a live cockroach in the bathroom. The hotel itself smelt horrible. Like must, mold, and dirt that hasn't been washed in years. For a non-smoking hotel, my room's curtains sure had a ton of cigarette burn holes in them. The staff at the front desk is fine, but other than that, nobody speaks English so there's nobody to ask for something. The building we were in had a restaurant/bar downstairs. I wouldn't recommend being in that building because you can here the music and crowds all night long. Nothing worked in our room. The lights were all burnt out, the floor was dirty, the shower flooded. The managers did a good job trying to help but they could not do much. The location is great, but it's almost not worth the aggravation. It's not a hotel for couples or families. It's a hotel for drunk spring breakers that don't care about quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBnesl3093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Catalina Hotel for three days and had a wonderful girls weekend. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful! The location of the hotel is great! There are many restaurants, café’s, and clubs within walking distance. Please know that most restaurants add gratuity so be sure to examine your bill carefully. This is definitely a fun party hotel for singles, couples and for people that just want to have fun. I would not recommend this hotel for a family with young kids or if you dislike loud music. I hope to return soon!!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the newly renovated rooms. Check your restaurant and bar bill carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJNYClove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Noisy, dated, untidy rooms. Terrible restaurant food. Not worth the A+ location! We paid a premium during Art Basel, but wouldn't stay at regular rates. Lighting broken, shower leaked, closet non-existent.

Room Tip: Request room off Collins Avenue, away from restaurant. upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanCityFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

There is 3 building next to each other, depending on where you stay you can have a good experience or the worst of your life because some rooms are very noisy at night till late loud music no way you'll sleep, the 2 restaurants are good there is Maxine's Bistrot international food and Kung Fu Kitchen&Sushi Japanese, there is 2 swimming pool the rooftop one is better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked our room through booking.com. We were bumped from our outbound Minneapolis flight so we arrived the next morning. I fully understand the booking.com rules but since I paid for my room the night before I expected it to be ready. No such luck. The staff said nothing was available and really did not seem to care or see my point that I paid for my room and should be able to get it. We left our cell phone number and went to eat. Several hours go by no call. So we go back and wait and get our room. Then it rains and we get a roof leak. So we pack up and move OURSELVES to another room. After that things were ok. Beds comfortable, hallways noisy on Saturday night. Water pressure just so-so. With so many places on south beach to stay we will not be back next year (we come this weekend every year) will also look at using other booking services in the future. (How about a novel idea, if we can rent your room and it is not available when you arrive we refund the missed night, or a portion thereof?)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Good Evening Rick B,

Thank you for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! We are glad that you chose to stay with us! Unfortunately when we have a sold out hotel with people extending and checking out late, it makes it hard for us to have rooms ready early. We do have to deep clean every room thoroughly to ensure it's clean and ready to go for the next guest that is checking in. There are no sites that have priority and we do run on a first come first serve. We understand that everyone wants their room, especially when it's paid for. We also don't want to give you a room that hasn't been deep cleaned and inspected. After all we are in South Beach and the guests that come here on the weekends are normally here to party and have a great time. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,412 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hotel Croydon
#45 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Circa 39 Hotel
#29 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,050 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,647 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $146 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing